Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
181 Reviews
1234.97795
Write A Review
November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

The Oasis Sanctuary provides life care for hundreds and hundreds of birds. They feed, water and provide medical care for all birds and have many with "special needs". For example "Doc" was born with scoliosis and is crippled. He receives special and excellent care. The Oasis Sanctuary has gigantic flights so birds can fly free in a safe, outdoor type environment. They are very happy and very well cared for. These folks dedicate their lives to the birds, with many staff living on site. They take in abused birds and work to care for and heal them. They take in birds that will be homeless. They do not make any money from the birds. They are not a zoo, they don't sell feathers. They simply love and care for the birds. In the most extraordinary way. I think every staff member knows the name of every bird! They are amazing people, providing amazing care. I encourage you to support them in every way possible. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

There are not enough superlatives to describe the care and love that Sybil and her staff shower on the birds at The Oasis. They come there, in many instances, damaged in body and soul. Everyone is dedicated to restoring them to a natural state if possible and if not, they are loved and cared for forever. When I became too old to take care of my 2 Amazons, Sybil took them and loved them as though they were her own. They stayed in touch and let me know how they were doing. When one of them passed away, Janet and Charlotte were so caring. Lulu's companion was devastated and they have taken her in to be handled and cared for until she can find another friend or is no longer depressed. With so many birds it would be easy to not know them all, Sybil and her staff know every bird and take care of their every need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

If you are a bird or a person who appreciates the beauty of all nature, this is where you want to be. Both bird and man can be as free as possible at The Oasis. Sybil and the staff will take care of you for as long as they possibly can. Caroll

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I had a double yellow head Amazon parrot for 35 years. When my Asthma got worse the Pulmonologist said I need to find a home for my parrot. I was heartbroken as I had this parrot for such a long time. I searched everywhere and found the OASIS SANCTUARY in Arizona.It's a wonderful place. The birds are well taken care of. They have large flight cages, some the size of my house. They group the species together. My parrot found a girlfriend and is leading a "birdy" life...Sigrit...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I own 5 cockatoos, two of them rescued. My heart breaks when I see unloved, misunderstood birds. They are intelligent creatures and deserve to live a good life with people who understand them. I have not yet visited Oasis, but I know they care about their birds and give them the best care possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I have had the privilege of visiting the Oasis facility. There is a tremendous and probably under-appreciated need for permanent rescue facilities for birds. Sybil knows and has dedicated herself to meeting this need. The many,diverse birds with their different backgrounds and needs are all cared for as individuals . Few shelters of any kind provide such care and offer such a well designed and maintained facility . This is a program worth supporting.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

There is a huge population across the nation of birds that have been neglected and abandoned or were used as breeders and abandoned and in poor shape which no one would want as a pet. Many of these medium and larger birds have many decades left to live. Every town has some place for abandoned cats and dogs. There is almost nothing nationwide done for these birds. The Oasis Sanctuary does it in great fashion. Takes them in, commits to care for their decades to come. Provides huge, barn sized, mesh walled aviaries for them to fly in and socialize. Careful attention to any veterinary needs. Daily hand prepared food. For many of these birds it is like going from hell to heaven.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

Being the "parent" of a parrot, I understand how difficult they can be. The Oasis provides a safe and caring home for birds that are no longer able to continue living with their "parents" for a variety of reasons. It is clear from the newsletter and other information that the staff is very caring.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

A place dedicate to caring for companion birds that cannot be rehomed. The folks there are committed to the cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I believe that birds are generally overlooked. The Oasis has and is giving needy birds as second chance. I have supported Oasis for a few years, learned about them from the show Parrots of Telegraph Hill. I hope to be able to volunteer in the futrure but for now can support them with donations and programs such as this. Linda

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers