Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
181 Reviews
1234.97795
Write A Review
November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We started supporting this organization after seeing Wild Parrots of Telegraph Hill. We go to the Open House days whenever we can, and sponsor two parrots. The staff and volunteers are totally dedicated to the well-being of the birds and other critters in their care.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a long time animal/bird advocate I believe parrots are often overlooked. Though I support all animal rescues I find the plight of parrots most compelling. Often they are obtained on a whim without doing the necessary research which should be done before any animal is acquired. It is bad enough when a dog or cat is affected but parrots are long lived intelligent creatures who are high maintenance pets. With excessive breeding, thoughtless purchases and an aging generation of owners there are an abundance of parrots needing placement. The Oasis is a much needed facility.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I looked for a place that could take care of my parrots in case something happened to me and my wife. After searching the internet I setteled on three rescues and sanctuarys including The Oasis Sanctuary and decided to to contribute to and visit all three. It took a while but after visiting all three The Oasis Sanctuary came out, in my opinion, heads and shoulders above the other two. While the other two were extremely qualified with great people The Oasis Sanctuary had the people that really cared about the birds enough to live on the grounds and get up in the middle of the night to find out why the dogs are barking or why the birds were screaming. This is just one example of how they care and go above and beyond to care for all of the birds. I have been volunteering there for several years now and am always impressed how everything is planned around the birds in an effert to make their lives more comfortable and pleasant. Over the years some of the people have left and others have stayed but the commitment of everyone has stayed the same which is the total commitment to the birds and other animals at The Oasis Sanctuary.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This foundation helps out where few others have, birds from around the world have had their lives saved because of all the hard work and dedication of the staff.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Oasis has kept focus on it's mission through many difficult years when others not for profits did not survive. Parrots are truly victims of their beauty and incredible intelligence. Most bird rescues are overflowing with unwanted or abused birds. Oasis is one of the few that makes and keeps the promise of caring for the birds for the rest of their lives. They do not adopt them out to start another life of being passed around. They let them be birds in the best settings possible. In speaking to the staff and volunteers you know they do it all for the birds. We need more places like Oasis that are making a difference to so many.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Several years ago we lost our dear parakeet Joey. Searching for a way to remember him, we searched the Internet for a charitable organization to which we could make a donation in his memory. We quickly found the Oasis Sanctuary, and after a few discussions (via e-mail) with the then-director, Sybil, made a contribution. We continued to make contributions to the Oasis over the intervening years, and even introduced our granddaughters to the Oasis. They, with our help, sponsored two birds, and loved hearing about their antics. It also taught them about 'giving.' Frankly, regardless of what type of pet you have, the Oasis is an organization worthy of your support. For us, our relationship is more than that of donor-charity...we feel we are part of their family.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I currently own 5 parrots. I can't remember how I first found out about Oasis but I have been donating for a few years. Their newsletter always contains heartwarming rescue stories and you can feel the dedication and passion in the staff's columns. I hope to one day visit the rescue and volunteer for a week. The videos I have seen show how wonderful the place is and I am glad to know there is a place that will take my parrots, should my death precede theirs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Oasis Sanctuary provides lifetime care for 700 plus parrots that are have lost their owners, been abused, and lost their homes because of this weakened economy. The staff at the Oasis Sanctuary work 365 days a year in the rain, heat, cold and elements. It's their passion and determination that has made them a bright spot in the world of avian rescue. They work around the nation to promote well being, education, and a soft place to land for parrots that have run out of options. If your a parrot, have run out of options, and are in need of compassion and understanding, the Oasis is the place to land, even if your wings no longer work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

There are very few places that rescue these beautiful and highly intelligent birds, providing lifetime care for not only their physical needs but also their emotional needs. Despite the many birds under their care, they know each by name and their personal preferences. When one eventually passes on they grieve not only for the bird but with the bird's mate and friends. (Yes, these intelligent creatures do grieve). I wish there could be more places as well run as the Oasis. They have always been quick to return calls and acknowledge even small contributions. MaryAnn S.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Do you love animals? Imagine that you are older or ill and that your companion animal will live another 20-50 years. What would you do? If no friends or family want to care for the pet, chances are he will end up euthanzied or neglected in a shelter or shuffled from home to home. Sadly, many parrot owners face this fate. That's why it is crucial that we have places like The Oasis. "Orphaned", abused, neglected and abandoned parrots have the chance to feel what it is like to strech their wings and fly, live in a flock, and eat a wide variety of exotic fruits. Elderly parrot owners can rest assured that they have a home for their beloved companion after they pass. This place is tight on funds, with alomst 1,000 exotic birds needing a constant supply of food, toys, and water. Factor in paying employees, fundraising, construction, water, electricity... no wonder they run on a shoestring! Please donate!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers