Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
168 Reviews
1234.976195
| 1 ... 11 12 13...16 |
Write A Review
November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Do you love animals? Imagine that you are older or ill and that your companion animal will live another 20-50 years. What would you do? If no friends or family want to care for the pet, chances are he will end up euthanzied or neglected in a shelter or shuffled from home to home. Sadly, many parrot owners face this fate. That's why it is crucial that we have places like The Oasis. "Orphaned", abused, neglected and abandoned parrots have the chance to feel what it is like to strech their wings and fly, live in a flock, and eat a wide variety of exotic fruits. Elderly parrot owners can rest assured that they have a home for their beloved companion after they pass. This place is tight on funds, with alomst 1,000 exotic birds needing a constant supply of food, toys, and water. Factor in paying employees, fundraising, construction, water, electricity... no wonder they run on a shoestring! Please donate!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

A wonderful organization. It is well run with taking care of abused and abandoned parrots as their main goal.one of the few sanctuaries for parrots in the nation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I became a parrot owner, I learned that many parrots outlive their owners or suffer neglect and begin mutilating themselves out of boredom and depression. The Oasis takes in these birds and gives them someplace to live out their days and heal in the presence of others of their species with the help of their human caretakers. By helping these intelligent birds, the Oasis Sanctuary does a great service that otherwise would not be done on such a scale.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When my Goffins Cockatoo started mutilating himself I was crushed by the emotional stress. The vets from my local avian vet to the AMC (Animal Medial Ctr.) in NYC told me to put him down. He was less than 2 years old! How could anyone say that about a baby bird? I made an emotional plea to every bird group and forum for help as I had spent upwards of $2500 for unsuccessful medical care for the bird. I was emotionally and monetarily drained! One day, out of the blue, I got an email from The Oasis Sanctuary telling me to call the founder Sybil Erden. I called and we discussed my situation. She said she would take him after some necessary blood work to protect her flock and that I bring him there myself. I flew by plane with my Goffins to Tucson, rented a car and drove to Benson Arizona! Another 45 minutes drive through the Arizona desert roads to Cascabel where the Oasis Sanctuary is appropriately located. I spent 3 days there in a small cabin where they gladly put me up. I saw a small group of dedicated avian caretakers that were committed to feeding, watering and loving the birds in residence. I saw amazing human sacrifice just to care for emergency situations where they had to bring an injured bird to their vet in Tucson and sometimes Phoenix! I have just returned from The Oasis Sanctary and my bird, Goofy LaRue, has long lost his Elizabethan tube collar and is now just another feather plucker. He always recognizes me and flies to my shoulder & dances wildly to show his happiness! Talking up a storm and mumbling sweet nothings in my ears! Tears always come to my eyes when I visit. I see some birds that I thought would never get better but one bird in particular, a pink Mulucan Cockatoo wearing a tube collar and sweater, was so improved on this trip that I am convinced that the Oasis is the best Avian Rescue Sanctuary because their wonderful staff has their hearts invested in each and every bird, now 700+! It shows as some birds recover from horrendous abuse and neglect. Of course not every bird makes a full recovery and some remain totally plucked and affected! They appear happy when the staff feeds them and every one has their favorites! I've seen all this with my own eyes and would tell anyone with a problem bird or caretaker situation to give them a call for advice and possibly placement. I am forever grateful to the Oasis Sanctuary for their help in my situation and the fact I can visit Goofy whenever I want usually. Just calling a month or two ahead to make sure they are free to accommodate my birdie visit. I vote them number 1!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

There are many great dog & cat rescue groups. The Oasis is the only sanctuary that exclusively cares for birds. As a bird lover and bird parent the work and care they give to the resident birds is unsurpassed.The Oasis is truly a Great Nonprofit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

Anyone who has birds knows the great things Oasis does and provides for them. They are the best!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

A few years ago I found myself retired after working and devoting 28 years of my life to our local animal shelter. So many dogs and cats without homes . During those years I tried to save all I could and it included 2 parrots. After the first couple months I fell in love with my blue fronted amazon. I never knew how much love they can give back! When I learned parrots have the same unfortunate demise that dogs and cats have. Indiscriminate breeding, parrot mills, and uninformed ownership I knew these unwanted, over bred, and wild caught parrots need a "shelter" to go to. They needed a place where they would receive the love they so deserved. My Internet search brought me to the Oasis. I read everything I could about Sybil and the parrots. She had only 200 parrots back then. Although I have never been there nor have I met Sybil or any of her staff I feel at home. I would want all parrots to go to a place like my shelter was. Somewhere the parrots get the love and hang out with their own kind. And partner up for the many years they will live. I can't imagine anyone knowing how truly you love the animals you are saving unless you've worked at a shelter. The Oasis has grown in the years I have been donating. I wish I was fortunate enough to have lots of money to help them continue their growth but I am on disability and it limits me but every dollar does count! I will never know what it would be like to hang out with 600 parrots but I think about it with a smile on my face. Thank you Oasis for the love you give to the birds. They need a voice too!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I'm 70 years old, and I have 6 parrots, most for more than 20 years. Parrots, unlike dogs and cats, live as long as people. My African Greys and Amazon are sure to outlive me, barring accidents, even if I live into my nineties, like my mom. You can't exactly will your parrots to your younger relatives and best friends -- I am trying to imagine any of them opening a box with a parrot in it and instructions for care! So part of my estate planning is to arrange for the care of these fine, innocent companions. The Oasis Sanctuary cares for birds throughout their lives. Many of them do not come with funds sufficient to support them, but no bird is turned away. The selfless dedication of the staff keeps these birds happy and healthy. I support their efforts, and I hope many others will also. There are hundreds of dog and cat organizations out there, but Oasis Sanctuary is unique.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

Visiting the Oasis is a powerful experience. The parrots are amazing! Many of them are healthy enough to be housed outdoors in huge cages with other parrots where they can be fly and play and be "real birds" in all their beauty. Seeing the flock of macaws flying free in the 40" x 100" aviary brought tears to my eyes (and their website has a webcam so you can see for yourself). There are also flocks of the smaller parrots living joyfully in flight cages (cockatiels, quakers, lovebirds etc). Of course there are also many birds who are not strong enough to be housed outside - these birds live in a huge bird barn where they are usually housed in big cages with another bird of their own species. There are many play areas in the "bird barn" where they can come out for supervised play. THE STAFF IS AMAZING - totally dedicated and highly skilled. They know the names and story of each bird there. As a volunteer there is felt welcome and appreciated, and got lots of good direction as to how to be helpful. THIS PLACE IS A MIRACLE IN ACTION AND DESERVES YOUR SUPPORT!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

When I got my first African grey I began to research sanctuaries that would be suitable for him in the event that I could no longer care for him. I reviewed sanctuaries all over the country and finally decided that the Oasis came closest to my ideal. That was in 1997 and I cannot begin to describe the incredible care and devotion that Sybil and her staff have continued to lavish on the birds. I have visited twice and remain in awe of the outstanding dedication of the staff and their love for these beautiful creatures. When I moved 3 years ago it was not possible to take my entire flock of 7 with me. Four of them now reside at the Oasis and the care and attention they receive is unbelievable. Although they are half way accross the country I feel as if they are still my flock. I receive pictures and emails re them on a regular basis and am always informed if there is any change in their care. I cannot imagine having them anywhere else and I am forever grateful to Sybil and her staff for the wonderful work they are doing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers