Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
166 Reviews
1234.97595
Previous | 1 2 3...15 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 6, 2013

The Oasis Sanctuary remains one of the most highly regarded life-care facilities for parrots in the US. With 750 birds in permanent residence, the facility is located in Southern Arizona on 73 acres o... more

April 15, 2014

The Oasis has come so far since its inception in 1997. Today we are permanent home to 750 birds who are provided with life-care, love and all the support needed for a healthy and emotionally contented life. I am proud to be the Founder and a Board member of this standard setting Sanctuary!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

....be able to bring in more infrastructure and operational funds to expand so that we can help the ever increasing number of birds needing our unique care

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Oasis Sanctuary remains one of the most highly regarded life-care facilities for parrots in the US. With 750 birds in permanent residence, the facility is located in Southern Arizona on 73 acres owned by the birds.
When I founded the facility in 1997, there were no other places in this
country anything like The Oasis. I decided that my birds would live at the facility because if it was not good enough for them, why would it be good enough for anyone else's birds?
Today, the sanctuary is in the second generation of administration and will continue into the future, strong and growing, to care for an ever growing number of needy birds.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Oasis Sanctuary started in my backyard in Phoenix and became the first avian life-care sanctuary in the US to obtain an IRS 501c3. In 1999 we became the first avian sanctuary to become accredited by the American Sanctuary Association and in 2002 were accredited by The Association of Sanctuaries (now Global Federation of Animal Sanctuaries.) I created the sanctuary to provide care for parrots who otherwise would have no placement options and have provided homes for over 1000 birds over the past 15 years. My attitude has always been "If this is not good enough for MY birds how can it be suitable for anyone else's birds?" In keeping with this ethical belief, all my personal parrots live with the 750 birds, at the sanctuary. While we are s till a way from where I would like the sanctuary to be...it has consistantly been moving in the directions of ideal growth and stability.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 17, 2013

My tenure of 15 years full time volunteer/foster care stems from the forward thinking of not only the board of directors but the beyond dedicated staff. Having in place a swift removal of birds and th... more

October 10, 2013

Giving loving care to long-lived parrots is the mission of The Oasis Sanctuary.
When our child left home my wife said, "I want to hear 'I love you' everyday from now on." So, I bought her a parrot. That is the joke, but no joke is that we both fell in love with our Amazon Parrot when he came
home to live with us. That was in 1998 and I was well into my fifties with a baby parrot that would live at least 50 years. My wife and I looked around for a place to be our parrot's forever home when we were gone. We explored The Oasis Sanctuary and began to volunteer. That, again, was 1998. And we still volunteer for this wonderful organization. Love abounds in this place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone it and the people who staff it so that more parrots could find a forever home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My tenure of 15 years full time volunteer/foster care stems from the forward thinking of not only the board of directors but the beyond dedicated staff. Having in place a swift removal of birds and the transportation to do so in the event of a fire or other emergency. Staff with the responsibility of "eyes on" every bird in the section where you are assigned that day. After working hours staff puts in time caring for the stimulation of special kneed birds. Planting of trees that will be fruit barring to be utilized in the future. The weekly staff meetings to discuss any and all birds that might be having a problem so everyone can review and make suggestions. The list simply goes on and on. Every aspect of these employees lives are "for the birds"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

I came to volunteer at The Oasis because I love all parrots, and have a cockatoo at home. It was one of the best weeks I've ever spent. Each day, I knew I was doing something helpful. Even when I pulled 50 lbs. of grapes off their stems for the fruit and vegetable mix, I knew it helped. Even when I scraped bird poop off cages and floors, I knew it helped. And I got to meet all the birds, including species I'd never seen before. The staff, in addition to caring for the birds, LOVES them all. They know each bird's personality, what it likes and doesn't, what special things each one wants or needs. The Oasis is an extraordinary place for parrots.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish they were closer to my home, so I could volunteer more often!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

They take great care of the birds. They communicate well with the community

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2012

Oasis Sanctuary was founded to give parrots with no place else to go a permanent sanctuary. Parrots are long lived and most will go through multiple homes in their lifetimes. They have complex needs... more

June 9, 2013

We have a huge problem in the U.S. with companion birds needing homes. The Oasis is the largest bird sanctuary in the country and takes in hundreds of birds that need homes. Every bird is treated with love and respect. They have beautiful free flight aviaries for many of the birds and are working on creating more. Every bird has companions, fresh food, and plenty of toys for intellectual stimulation. The staff is loving and dedicated. The place is clean and well-kept. I've been there in person and witnessed what a wonderful place it is. But they can't do it without help. Costs are astronomical. They need all the help they can get.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing except get them more funds!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

Oasis Sanctuary was founded to give parrots with no place else to go a permanent sanctuary. Parrots are long lived and most will go through multiple homes in their lifetimes. They have complex needs that few people are able to meet in their homes. The Oasis is able to house about 1000 birds that have no place else to go and give them good, happy homes. They are a bright, shining star. The compassion and dedication of the team there is evident in everything they do. I'm proud to be a long-time supporter of this outstanding organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2012

I first learned about the Oasis Sanctuary from my dear friends Lynn and Rick Woerpel. The work the Oasis does is exceptional. Caring for so many displaced parrots, due to their owners death, serious... more

June 9, 2013

Wonderful care for our feathered friends. It's heartwarming to know that there are passionate caregivers for displaced birds. Oasis Sanctuary shows how kindness, compassion, love, and quality care can make a difference for so many precious birds that would otherwise suffer.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 4, 2012

I first learned about the Oasis Sanctuary from my dear friends Lynn and Rick Woerpel. The work the Oasis does is exceptional. Caring for so many displaced parrots, due to their owners death, serious illness, loss of home or livelihood. I've read and heard so many heartwarming stories of how the Oasis has helped another precious parrot in an unfortunate situation. I myself have a wonderful little girl (umbrella cockatoo) that will be 23 years old on the 19th of this month. It's great to know that if something happened to me, she would have a place where she would be cared for and loved by the many wonderful caregivers at the Oasis. Thanks Oasis, for being there for so many in need!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

This is the only one of it's kind in size and scope to give parrots who cannot be rehomed a permanent place to live out their long lives. They have a wonderful aviary environment where the birds are h... more

June 9, 2013

I am a foster parent to an abused 16 year old cockatoo who has been in five previous homes, so I know the issues and time I have struggled with having this bird in our life. I cannot imagine the ongoing support that the Oasis gives to over 700 birds to never have to go through being placed in another home and learn to trust all over again. They are an amazing facility who endeavor to give these parrots an enriched lifestyle including the food, shelter and companionship parrots need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really wish they were not so far away as I would love to be able to visit them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This is the only one of it's kind in size and scope to give parrots who cannot be rehomed a permanent place to live out their long lives. They have a wonderful aviary environment where the birds are housed with like species of the same sex, given enrichment items, medical care, fresh air and room to fly. They also accept birds that are rescued from bad situations and go out of their way to help get them rehoused. They welcome volunteers to their facility and hold an annual open house/education event. They are run by a board and have staff members who live on site. I have been a donor for many years and cannot say enough good things about this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 26, 2013

more

May 26, 2013

I have yet to see this wonderful place, it is so close and yet so far. I know that if my children ever need to go live with someone other than myself ,the oasis sanctuary is where I want them to go.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2012

I had to relinquish my beloved African Grey after 14 years due to health. I had my dear friend since she was 12 weeks old. I spent 9 months doing extensive research to find a "forever" home for my ... more

May 23, 2013

The Oasis represents excellence in the care and love given to displaced birds. The staff is dedicated to giving the birds the best care and diet. I was fortunate that The Oasis agreed to give my beloved gray a forever home when I could no longer care for her. They are so good about providing up-dates on her giving me peace of mind that she is cared for.
Laker

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only that they have the funding necessary for their operations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

I had to relinquish my beloved African Grey after 14 years due to health. I had my dear friend since she was 12 weeks old. I spent 9 months doing extensive research to find a "forever" home for my Angel. I spoke with pet psychologists, vetrinarians, breeders, state governing groups, other sanctuaries and many more. Never did I hear anything but praise for the Oasis. Once they were chosen, we went through their processes. Believe me, the Oasis has standards and they adhere to them. Their love and commitment to birds is exlempary. Diet and care for the birds (and other strays that come along) is excellent. My Angel is well cared for. They are so good about keeping me informed with anecdotes and pictures. I see that her life is good. They need help! Care and dedicated staffing doesn't come without a price tag. Donations are used wisely - for the good of the birds. Donations to The Oasis Sanctuary Foundation are needed and beneficial.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

While travelling around the USA in my motorhome, I came across the Oasis Sanctuary Foundation, and was immediately impressed with the caring attitude of Sybil Erden and the volunteers towards all the... more

May 21, 2013

I am a retired Canadian zookeeper who travelled in a motorhome around the U.S. & Canada for two years in 2006 & 2007, stopping along the way to visit various animal sanctuaries. I was greatly impressed with the care and compassion shown to the birds that I met at The Oasis Sanctuary. Many people do not understand what it takes to care properly for birds that often outlive their owners and Sybil Erden has gone to great measures to make their lives comfortable, especially for the birds that have behavioural problems (feather plucking, etc.).
I have no hesitation in recommending the Oasis Sanctuary as a worthy recipient of donations.

Marilyn Cole

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If funds were available, expand the kitchen and medical area

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

While travelling around the USA in my motorhome, I came across the Oasis Sanctuary Foundation, and was immediately impressed with the caring attitude of Sybil Erden and the volunteers towards all the birds, especially the ones that had suffered in the past . As a former zookeeper I could appreciate the amount of work needed to care for all the various birds, and the attention paid to their individual needs. These abandoned and neglected birds were taken in, with the full knowledge that they have a long lifespan and that there would be many years of dedication ahead to care for them. I have no hesitation in recommending the Oasis Sanctuary Foundation Ltd. as a great non-profit organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...15 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers