Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
181 Reviews
1234.97795
Previous | 1 2 3...16 |
Write A Review
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I have been a member since the Oasis first began in the 1990's and I am both amazed and deeply moved by their love and commitment to the birds there. Some of the birds are well enough to go into their appropriate aviary after a quarantine period. But some of these dear bird souls arrive in an unbelievably painful condition. There seems sadly to be no limit to what some humans are willing to inflict on these intelligent and sensitive souls. There is a Foster mom named Ruth Ann that takes these battered souls and breathes life, love and happiness back into their lives. The Oasis spends a fortune on medical bills. And Ruth Ann spends a fortune from her generous heart to give them 24/7 love and attention. I have been lucky enough to hear some of their stories which have been painful in a way and yet uplifting in another. Through the Oasis I have seen the highest and best that people have to offer. I ask anyone who reads this to please consider giving whatever you are able to help. No donation is too small. They are grateful for everything. Thank you. Barbara Greenman , Chicago, IL.
September 6, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 6, 2013

I have been volunteering at The Oasis for 4 years, and each visit deepens my appreciation and respect for what they do for the parrots in their care. The full-time staff know the name of each of the ... more

September 6, 2014

I have been a volunteer at The Oasis for 4 years and have enjoyed watching them grow and continuously improve the living conditions for their birdie residents. The Oasis is a leader in flight design and has developed multiple solutions to cage-free housing. It is so exciting to see the large macaws hanging from the rafters of their 2-story flight, and to hear the Star Wars beeps of the African greys in their own dedicated building! They are truly a model for the parrot rescue community.
May 6, 2013

I have been volunteering at The Oasis for 4 years, and each visit deepens my appreciation and respect for what they do for the parrots in their care. The full-time staff know the name of each of the 700 (yes, 700!) feathered residents, and they are constantly looking for ways to make their lives happier and more comfortable. I have seen dramatic changes in birds that appeared to be hopelessly damaged, physically and psychologically - birds that stopped self-mutilating, birds that now allow touch. The Oasis is tops!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

After over eleven years of supporting The Oasis, I still am awed each and every time I visit and meet the beautiful birds who call it home. In this sad, disposable world we live in, The Oasis takes th... more

September 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Soon after 9/11 we needed to get away and flew out to check out The Oasis Sanctuary, a Parrot Rescue Sanctuary I had found online. Now, all these years later we are on the Board and most of our excess time, energy and funds go to this organization which is so totally devoted to the care and well being of all of it's over 700 feathered inhabitants. And we know exactly where our donation dollars go - to the birds! Love it!
November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After over eleven years of supporting The Oasis, I still am awed each and every time I visit and meet the beautiful birds who call it home. In this sad, disposable world we live in, The Oasis takes the effort and commitment of the care of these beautiful, sentient beings very seriously, and provides a lifetime home for many who would otherwise face euthanasia at worst, or neglect and/or abuse at best. The birds take precedence in the lives of those involved and it is heartwarming to see the love that goes into running it. We started out as donors looking for a place for our four cockatoos in the sometime in the future, but ended up volunteering so often that we were invited to serve on the Board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

I have been supporting the Oasis for ten years. I have watched it grow (albeit, from afar) as a safe refuge for homeless parrots from its initial 300 birds to the current 750. I visited the Oasis and met Sybil Erden. She is a tireless champion and a voice for those who cannot speak (excuse the unintentional joke). Sybil is truly an extraordinary human being, a phenomenal woman, as I like to call her.
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

I have been a long time lover of birds since my Grandmother was always so fond of them and her home was filled with their cheery songs and colorful beauty. Oasis Sanctuary is a treasure. They take in birds that no one else could handle and give them a life that is extraordinary. The care taken to provide a healthy environment, care for the sick and distressed birds, promote public knowledge of these beautiful creatures and truly be an advocate for the avian species is remarkable! I have the highest respect for the mission of Oasis Sanctuary and commend them for their dedication.
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

I've been a supporter of the Oasis Sanctuary for many years. They do a wonderful job of taking care of the birds and giving them a full life. I have been down to visit several times and see how my donations are being used. If you love birds, you should support them. They deserve it!
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

The Oasis Sanctuary in Benson, Arizona, is a wonderful foundation. It is a true sanctuary, in that it provides lifelong care for these beautiful birds, and does not attempt to adopt any of them out. They don't have regular business/visiting hours because they're not a zoo. Having spent a week there volunteering, I saw firsthand the level of care and devotion the birds get from all of the staff and volunteers. I simply have not seen anything else quite like it. It warms my heart to know that such a place exists.
September 4, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 15, 2012

I am pleased to share my heartfelt gratitude and admiration to the staff of the Oasis Sanctuary for all the hard work, and love provided to the most incredible creatures in the world...the parrots of ... more

September 4, 2014

The Oasis Sanctuary is one of the best run non-profits that I have been involved with. Their facilities, logistics, and volunteer programs are exceptional. I have had parrots for over 25 years, and I have not found a rescue site as unique as the Oasis. On business travel to Tucson, I made it a point to swing by the Oasis in Benson. They were very accommodating, and gave me a personal tour. I was amazed at the amount of birds they were caring for, and it just reinforced my belief that my money is going to the right place. I care very deeply about these wonderful creatures, and it is heartwarming that there is a place that truly cares for these creatures for the remainder of their lives.
October 15, 2012

I am pleased to share my heartfelt gratitude and admiration to the staff of the Oasis Sanctuary for all the hard work, and love provided to the most incredible creatures in the world...the parrots of the Oasis. I have been a strong supporter of the Oasis for years, and recently had the pleasure of a visit. The staff took time out to walk me through every aviary, where I got "up close and personal" with so many wonderful birds, along with the stories of how they came to the Oasis. Some stories were heart wrenching; some amazing, but all the stories painted a picture of how desperately this facility is needed. The Oasis is my only charity, and will continue to be for as long as there are parrots who need love and care.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

My life had a dramatic change and I couldn't give my two parrots the home they needed. After researching options, I found the Oasis Sanctuary. Not only did everyone at the Oasis open their arms and hearts to my parrots, Janet Trumbule, Executive Director of Administration, did the same for me. It's hard to put into words how wonderful this Sanctuary is. Every person who works there is 100% dedicated and filled with kindness, compassion, and love for the birds. I miss my two parrots so much, but I know they are in the best place they could be. Janet always takes time from her unbelievably busy days to answer my "how are my girls?" emails. I haven't always been able to donate money, but I have always been treated like the greatest of donors. I've had an experience with another sanctuary where, unless I was giving money, they would hardly communicate with me. The Oasis helped me through an incredibly difficult time by accepting and loving my birds. They are absolutely the best sanctuary.
September 3, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 7, 2013

Wo many people buy parrots not knowing about their habits or how long they live. When they are noisy or messy, the owners want to get rid of them. They also have them for years and when the people ar... more

September 3, 2014

There are so many parrots that are abandoned or need a home for many other reasons. The Oasis has been there for these birds no matter what their personality or condition. The care for sick birds, handicapped birds and those too noisy for their owners. Rain or shine, they are always there. I admire their efforts to give a good life to these bright animals. They are sorely needed.

If my birds outlive me, I hope they can go there to live out their lives.
May 7, 2013

Wo many people buy parrots not knowing about their habits or how long they live. When they are noisy or messy, the owners want to get rid of them. They also have them for years and when the people are too old or incapacitated to care for them the Oasis is there to help. Some have put them in basements and closets or abused the birds. since the education isn't there at the pet shops etc. what is to happen to these intelligent creatures. I am so proud of the Oasis for continuing to grow and help these birds. I hope to send my birds there when I am too old to care for them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

This sanctuary provides shelter for many unwanted birds. Every day people buy parrots thinking they are beautiful and interesting. Every day people find out that they are noisy, wild, messy and take lots of care. People discard these bright beautiful animals anyway they can. They put them in closets, let them fly, give them to anyone who will take them and just let them die. This is a crime. The Oasis provides love and sanctuary for them. I have three parrots and when I die, I want to know that they will live out their lives in a place like this. They are angels.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...16 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers