Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.891895
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I decided to join the board of Oakland Youth Chorus for a number of reasons—let me count the ways! I am a teacher and school administrator professionally, and OYC is serious—and seriously fun—not only about performance excellence; it also provides a hands-on musical and cultural education that students take with them as they grow up. The love for the craft of teaching and engaging kids is truly evident at each rehearsal. My own formative musical experiences—Cleveland Orchestra Children's Chorus, Yale Gospel Choir, my folk-singing uncle—also resonate with how I see OYC impacting its youth. Last but not least, I get to hear the concert chorus voices echo up the church stairway during meetings, and witness the joy in my own daughters' faces as they sing together walking home from school or at bedtime. I'm so glad OYC is here for them—and for all of our young singers—and I'm lucky to also get to play a part!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have had the unique opportunity to experience the Oakland Youth Chorus in three very different ways, as a former funder, a board member and as a parent of two children who are singers. As a funder I was always impressed by the organization's professionalism and positive work in the community. When I began serving on the board my children were not old enough yet to sing in the chorus but I wanted to support an organization that was providing such a valuable service. Now that both my kids are chorus, my ties to the organization have become all the stronger as I see the positive affect the program has on them. I expect to be involved with OYC for many years to come!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I was introduced to OYC by my daughter who sang in the chorus throughout elementary school. She had such an outstanding experience and I was blown away by the quality of the singers at the concerts. I was happy to join the board of this organization that works hard to bring choral music to children throughout Oakland and surrounding communities. The economic downturn has hit arts nonprofits hard and I am so proud to be part of an organization that continues to fulfill its mission despite big funding challenges. Our Executive Director, Keri Lindell Butkevich, joined us in June 2012 and she is outstanding! Come to a concert and see for yourself why Oakland Youth Chorus is so special.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2011

more

April 27, 2011

In spite of the dramatic drop in public funding, this agency forges ahead in its commitment to provide music education and ensemble opportunities to kids who want this option but cannot or choose not to participate in more classically oriented choruses. It boasts a corps of professional, performing artists who teach and mentor participants at school sites. The all-city middle and high-school choruses are vehicles not only for a musical education, but present an opportunity for students from all parts of Oakland to work and learn together. OYC has been around for 35 years and has been credited with providing a life changing experience for thousands of Oakland school children. It could use an infusion of new energy and vision, to bring it current with the needs of children who have limited access to this low-cost program and to cultivate the continuing, active support of chorus parents, chorus alums and the general community. OYC has the potential to make a significant difference - it needs folks to know about it and to care.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

knowing people who have been participants and hearing their stories of how important the experience of singing in the choruses and the friendships that they made have enriched them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus energy on developing a wider base of support. I think this is key to attracting singers to the program and to building consistent sources of support for funding, for strong community relationships and for sustaining and advancing the excellence of the music program.

April 26, 2011

more

April 26, 2011

The Oakland Youth Chorus has been serving the East Bay Area since 1974 providing music education, performances, and tour opportunities for children and youth ages 5 -24. I joined OYC in 1975 and cannot express how profoundly it has affected my life. I gained choral music education, performance confidence, and, most importantly, lifelong friends with whom I still sing as a member of the OYC Alumni and various other groups. I am now a member of the Advisory Board and have served as the Alumni Association President for over a decade.

The Oakland Youth Chorus provides an incredibly educational and nurturing environment with teachers who are, themselves, professional music and dance performers and many are former OYC members. They provide an inclusive experience for elementary school children who are then able to advance through the Middle School and Concert Chorus levels. Many of the OYC choral students have become music professionals and all profess the value of this experience.

I think that an organization that can evolve over 4+ decades deserves recognition for its continuing success.

OYC rocks.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was a young singer with OYC when it first began and have stayed involved through singing and as a guiding force through its growth changes over the years. I have been part of the selection process for three Directors, on the Board, and continue acting as head of the Alumni Association.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make sure it had solid and regular funding. Its programs are excellent!

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help our production staff with our concerts, help to create social media posts, distribute marketing materials to schools and community sites, or support our organization's fundraising campaigns. Volunteer