Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.891895
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have continued to be impressed by the work of Oakland Youth Chorus, and its commitment to reaching young people in the local community. I attended last year's holiday concert and was moved to tears by their high quality presentation. The youth seemed to enjoy themselves and were so well-trained. Also, I loved watching the choral teachers encourage the youth backstage. Their interaction seemed warm and genuine. If I was a young person, this is the kind of group that I'd want to be part of.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Oakland Youth Chorus partnered with us at Youth Radio this year on the piloting of our new digital media and technology workforce program by taking on an intern for the summer. OYC's staff and leadership showed, and continue to exhibit, deep commitments to improving the lives of Oakland youth through arts education, personal and professional development. Our sincere thanks go out to the small but mighty team at OYC for genuinely engaging our community on so many levels!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I work with OYC at Think College Now Elementary School. Ms. JJ gets the students excited about music by playing games and teaching them new things. I know the students love the music program because I hear them humming the songs in all their other classes! This program also opens them up to learning about new cultures that they wouldn't otherwise learn about.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

OYC is providing an invaluable resource to the Bay Area with its strong musical programming, leadership opportunities for youth, and overall sense of ethics and social justice. OYC demands dedicated practice and performance from the youth, from tiny preschools on up. I've shot pictures of the singers in rehearsal and was impressed with the musical standards and the personal attention paid to each student. Standards are high; make no mistake, which gives these students a vision of all that they can be. OYC is a GREAT non-profit serving the needs of individuals and the community with high standards and a strong vision.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2011

more

April 27, 2011

Participating as a member of the Oakland Youth Chorus was one of the greatest experiences of my childhood. It gave me the experience and confidence to pursue a career in music. It also provided a great opportunity for developing community, especially among at risk kids. It is a wonderful organization that kids can participate instead of staying at home playing video games or getting into trouble.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was a member of that organization for about 4 years when I was in junior high and high school in Oakland.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. It is a very well run organiation.

April 26, 2011

more

April 26, 2011

Oakland Youth Chorus is amazing! As a lifelong musician and music educator with experience in arts administration, I have seen organizations of this type from many sides, and I've never seen an organization quite like OYC. A top-notch administration inspires well-treated and respected educators to provide a high-quality product to a LOT of happy clients. The students deliver truly fabulous performances in a polished, well-oiled setting, giving them not only a solid musical education, but unforgettable performance opportunities that set the bar high for self respect, responsibility, and professionalism. In a city where schools have lost most if not all funding for the arts, OYC comes to the rescue of vocal music, drumming, and dance and fills in that gap.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I remember my time working for OYC as a highlight of my teaching career. From the communications in planning and the respect afforded to employees all the way to the final product of the performances, OYC does it right.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fund the heck out of it.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help our production staff with our concerts, help to create social media posts, distribute marketing materials to schools and community sites, or support our organization's fundraising campaigns. Volunteer