Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.891895
Write A Review
November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

My 8 year old started oyc since she was five. So it's been three years . She loves it and I love it too! All the staff and music instructors are beyond awesome. My daughter I don't think will have stage fright. Thanks oyc for making my daughter shine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My six-year-old started with Oakland Youth Chorus when she was just four years old because she was exposed to OYC early and said she wanted to sing with them. Knowing that OYC typically starts at Kindergarten, we told her that she'd have to wait. My wife and I were thrilled that the choral director encouraged (ok, insisted) that we bring her to OYC anyway. She was immediately welcomed with open arms by MIss Rhonda who teaches the All-City Miracle Chorus, and she has learned so much in these past couple of years. We are thrilled with her musical progress (she's now taking piano because OYC instilled a love of music and learning), love hearing her sing songs from different cultures and in different languages around the house every day and we are continually blown away by the talent of all of OYC's singers at their annual concerts. We look forward to many, many more years being a part of the OYC family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I was introduced to OYC by my daughter who sang in the chorus throughout elementary school. She had such an outstanding experience and I was blown away by the quality of the singers at the concerts. I was happy to join the board of this organization that works hard to bring choral music to children throughout Oakland and surrounding communities. The economic downturn has hit arts nonprofits hard and I am so proud to be part of an organization that continues to fulfill its mission despite big funding challenges. Our Executive Director, Keri Lindell Butkevich, joined us in June 2012 and she is outstanding! Come to a concert and see for yourself why Oakland Youth Chorus is so special.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

Oakland Youth Chorus has been a shining star in the City of Oakland. As a grassroots organization this chorus has managed to remain an example of community, talent, and hard work even while the city hit headlines for much less desirable news. The kids are always well-prepared, manerable, and consistentely sound like professionals. It is hard to believe that such a magnitude of musical excellence comes from a community choir. As a long time follower and supporter, I have known youth to continue with their musical paths while in college and beyond. This small organization, led by a phenomenal musical director, makes a lifelong impact on supporters and participants alike.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My daughters are 11 and 14 and love being a part of this organization. The younger one is part of the All-City Miracle Chorus and my older one is part of the Concert Chorus. Both of these groups rehearse at the Oakland Unitarian Universalist Church. I got us involved because of its proximity to our house and convenience, but we will be staying because of the teachers and program. My kids are singing with wonderful teachers leading them. The teachers really care about inspiring kids to have an everlasting love of music and singing. They are learning songs in different languages and from a variety of cultures. The groups are welcoming to kids of all ability levels and ages but push the kids with more experience to be even greater. My 14 year old has sung with many different groups, but she loves this one and is invested in it because she feels respected and appreciated in this group. I can't wait for the Winter Concert on December 15th. It should be amazing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I was in the Oakland Youth Chorus when I was in my second year of college in 1998. It was the most challenging and exciting musical experience I had experienced to date. The music we learned was exceptional, the director was motivating and inspirational, and the group of volunteers were helpful and encouraging. I wish I lived closer so my children could participate!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1998

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Oakland Youth Chorus responded with amazing speed and resources after my school reached out to them about bringing their program to our students. We have been amazed by their ability to provide high quality services and how resourceful they have been about securing funding to make their work possible. The staff, both direct service and administrative, are very responsive and easy to work with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have two daughters who participate in the Oakland All-City Youth Chorus. They've been playing instruments for a couple of years. Adding OYC to their repertoire has added a crucial key to their musical journey. Their teacher gives them not only vocal and theory lessons, but she puts the history behind the songs into perspective, which allows the children to put real emotion and expression in their performance.

For children who haven't sang before, working in unison with other kids is invaluable. The Oakland Youth Chorus builds self-esteem and provide a one-of-a-kind experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing my children flourish and work alongside other children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

create opportunities for the children to get together outside of choir practice.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Referred by a professional musician who spent her high school years singing with OYC

April 28, 2011

more

April 28, 2011

Oakland Youth Chorus provides inner city children from the Bay Area's poorest neighborhoods with the opportunity to learn to sing with a large group of similarly situated children. With budget cuts affecting music programs in all schools, this is one of the last chances for underprivileged kids to experience the beauty of making music. And that they do: they are wonderful to hear and experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the impact which this training has on young people, some of whom have developed enough musical skill to get scholarships to college.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get sufficient funds for an endowment.

April 27, 2011

more

April 27, 2011

OYC is an excellent program for children in the Bay Area. They are trully providing an outlet for children to learn in a safe environment. OYC is at the center of Oaklands heart.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

many ways. I was once a child in OYC. At the time they were taking arts out of the public schools. OYC provided a place that my parents knew that I would be safe. OYC taught students how to respect others and their difference and to trully creat Harmony with the voices and in the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like for them to have more public concerts.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help our production staff with our concerts, help to create social media posts, distribute marketing materials to schools and community sites, or support our organization's fundraising campaigns. Volunteer