Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.891895
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have continued to be impressed by the work of Oakland Youth Chorus, and its commitment to reaching young people in the local community. I attended last year's holiday concert and was moved to tears by their high quality presentation. The youth seemed to enjoy themselves and were so well-trained. Also, I loved watching the choral teachers encourage the youth backstage. Their interaction seemed warm and genuine. If I was a young person, this is the kind of group that I'd want to be part of.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Oakland Youth Chorus partnered with us at Youth Radio this year on the piloting of our new digital media and technology workforce program by taking on an intern for the summer. OYC's staff and leadership showed, and continue to exhibit, deep commitments to improving the lives of Oakland youth through arts education, personal and professional development. Our sincere thanks go out to the small but mighty team at OYC for genuinely engaging our community on so many levels!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 24, 2012

more

November 24, 2012

Former '80-'81 OYC member here, hadn't heard the choir in years and last Christmas 2011, as a birthday treat from my mom, my 2 pre-teen daughters, 75 yr old mom and I secured the last few tickets available to the holiday concert at First Presbytarian Church in Oakland, (where we had practiced way back then). I was first of all overwhelmed by the packed sanctuary that I walked into, secondly entertained by the long and diverse holiday program all these children and directors had prepared, and thirdly, as my repeated appreciation goosebumps and tears came forth through so many of their songs, their young voices and message was very touching. I am thrilled to see this urban city choir still being supported beautifully through all that goes on in life. Family and community support shining Oakland pride for sure!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I decided to join the board of Oakland Youth Chorus for a number of reasons—let me count the ways! I am a teacher and school administrator professionally, and OYC is serious—and seriously fun—not only about performance excellence; it also provides a hands-on musical and cultural education that students take with them as they grow up. The love for the craft of teaching and engaging kids is truly evident at each rehearsal. My own formative musical experiences—Cleveland Orchestra Children's Chorus, Yale Gospel Choir, my folk-singing uncle—also resonate with how I see OYC impacting its youth. Last but not least, I get to hear the concert chorus voices echo up the church stairway during meetings, and witness the joy in my own daughters' faces as they sing together walking home from school or at bedtime. I'm so glad OYC is here for them—and for all of our young singers—and I'm lucky to also get to play a part!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

My son is in his second year at OYC's elementary school-aged Miracle Chorus. He has learned wonderful songs, in language, from all over the world: Ghana, Japan, the Caribbean, Eastern Europe and Israel. The kids are also learning to read music and practicing with rhythm. It's amazing what Rhonda Crane is able to teach such young children in a single semester. OYC is a very happy and fulfilling part of my family's life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I work with OYC at Think College Now Elementary School. Ms. JJ gets the students excited about music by playing games and teaching them new things. I know the students love the music program because I hear them humming the songs in all their other classes! This program also opens them up to learning about new cultures that they wouldn't otherwise learn about.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have had the unique opportunity to experience the Oakland Youth Chorus in three very different ways, as a former funder, a board member and as a parent of two children who are singers. As a funder I was always impressed by the organization's professionalism and positive work in the community. When I began serving on the board my children were not old enough yet to sing in the chorus but I wanted to support an organization that was providing such a valuable service. Now that both my kids are chorus, my ties to the organization have become all the stronger as I see the positive affect the program has on them. I expect to be involved with OYC for many years to come!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

OYC is providing an invaluable resource to the Bay Area with its strong musical programming, leadership opportunities for youth, and overall sense of ethics and social justice. OYC demands dedicated practice and performance from the youth, from tiny preschools on up. I've shot pictures of the singers in rehearsal and was impressed with the musical standards and the personal attention paid to each student. Standards are high; make no mistake, which gives these students a vision of all that they can be. OYC is a GREAT non-profit serving the needs of individuals and the community with high standards and a strong vision.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

OYC is doing an excellent job with the students at St. Martin de Porres School in Oakland. This year they have provided our school with two music teachers who are working weekly with our students. Each Monday, I can hear our students singing and it gives me chills! They sound great, they are really engaged, and they are receiving great music instruction. Thanks to OYC, we are developing the musical talents of our students! Ann Magovern, President of St. Martin de Porres Catholic School.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have many friends who went through this program when they were teens back in the 80's and when my daughter was old enough I was proud to have her join the choir. OYC provides much-need support for Oakland Youth, giving them a place to spend their time and energy, and focusing them on an idea that is bigger than them, at a time when it is easy to forget the needs of the world around you. When my daughter was singing with them, she was exposed to the compassionate outreach to young children in public schools with little to no musical education, she sang at fundraisers and events supporting other non-profits, and committed her time and energy to a goal greater than her own teen mind could have conceived. As an adult, she now speaks passionately and persuasively about the value of musical education for children, understands the connections between the individuals efforts and the group well-being, and really sees the value in investing in a diverse educational experience for children everywhere. OYC takes something fun and lets it teach our children to be compassionate AND passionate about their beliefs. I love OYC. Thank you for all you have done for our family!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help our production staff with our concerts, help to create social media posts, distribute marketing materials to schools and community sites, or support our organization's fundraising campaigns. Volunteer