Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.818185
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 5, 2012

more

January 5, 2012

This non-profit organization is out there doing what is best for the community as well as the environment. I was amazed how organized and quickly the counselors in charge responded to any questions i had. I am extremely pleased to be working for this organization that really is doing a greater good for the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 19, 2011

more

December 19, 2011

OPDC certainly has the ambitious intentions of making Oakland into a much more clean, environmentally sound, and ultimately a more livable community for its inhabitants. The town itself, although being a school community, is very much a continuation of the city of Pittsburgh, and this is made apparent by the architecture, as well as the urban environment in which the students and homeowners dwell. To make the town cleaner and to permanently do so would be to give Oakland less of a "downtown" feeling and to give it more of a college community feeling. The predisposition of the area certainly adds to its litter problem. In fact, being a student, and having stayed a weekend at the Penn State in State College PA, it became quite apparent to me that another (even larger) college campus did not have near the problem that faces Oakland. To me, this indicates that the urban setting is a major problem and to erase this schema about the campus itself would be to ultimately reduce the destruction being done to its environment. That's what OPDC is doing in one way or another: making the town less of a city slum and more of an environmentally conscientious community via projects such as Adopt-A-Block, in which a mass cleanup is conducted via the distribution of groups to different sectors of Oakland, as well as their participation in tree-planting events throughout the community. OPDC is always innovating to improve itself in order to improve the welfare of the people of Oakland. This winter a project called "Snow Angels" will be launched with the intention of clearing snow off of the walkways for the elderly. Projects like these are just another step toward an improved and more livable Oakland. Certainly is effective and will only become more prominent in the cleanup of Oakland with increased recognition.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 19, 2011

more

December 19, 2011

OPDC is a non-profit organization. It allows members of the community to come together to benefit society. It creates a stronger bond between the people in the community. It's a great way to get out and do something for society. In terms of volunteer work the impact one has on the community is not inconsequential, because their are many ones that make up the volunteer workers. Together, these combined efforts create an effect. The effect is somewhat like a ripple effect; the bigger the stone thrown in the pond the larger the effect, and the more people who sign up to volunteer the bigger the stone that causes the ripple.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 19, 2011

more

December 19, 2011

OPDC is a great non-profit organization for anyone who wants to help out. From cleaning out the streets to painting the building of another non-profit, there's work for anyone! My fondest memory would have to be planting trees with another non-profit to make Oakland look nicer. Everyone at OPDC is always warm and welcoming.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Fall 2011

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

less cleaning streets and more helping other non-profits

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It taught me how to plant a tree correctly

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Overall positive and welcomed

December 15, 2010

more

December 15, 2010

OPDC is a great organization, providing top quality service to the many individuals and organizations represented in Oakland. I had an opportunity to participate in a community clean up through their KICO program. The organization was effective at coordinating a large number of volunteers and providing a meaningful experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the positive changes in Oakland.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase funding to support the growth of their housing programs.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers