Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.982145
Write A Review
September 14, 2014

more

September 14, 2014

Thanks to Oak Hill Animal Rescue. Inc Betty Baker for all the good work your staff is just great all volunteers are great I lost 2 of my dogs with-in 2 months was not going to get any more but I had to feel a hole in my heart. Went to breeders to look but could not find the 1 I want, stop by Pet Smart in Rockwall Tx and saw 1 it was a Shih-tzu at first I said no because it was a boy and brindle and I want black and white and female so I talked to Heidi and Betty and then I left got down the road turned around went back got Vinnie he is our life. I know these people care so much about the Animal's you guys are the best. Thanks so much.
October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

My husband I and I had just lost our Golden Retriever Jake to old age about a month and a half ago and our hearts and our home have just not been the same. Our daughter Ashley had just been at Petsmart where she seen Keisha. She fell in love with Stella and immediately sent me a text with the pups pictures and her bio and said "Momma she would be PERFECT for you and Daddy". So I talked it over with my hubby and we decided that I should go take a look at her since he was committed to plans and I was free and we didn't want someone else to take her before we had a chance to meet her. Needless to say I grab my Momma and headed in to Rockwall. The minute I rounded the corner inside Petsmart and I seen Keisha, it was LOVE at first sight! They took her out of the kennel and gave us her leash and we took her away from the chaos so we could spend some time with her and realized pretty quickly she was for us. I filled out the application for her and I have to say leaving her there was the hardest thing I had to do in a very long time. But I knew I would be seeing her in a week at her graduation from the PREP Dog Trainging Program. Yesterday she graduated and I am happy to say we are very proud parents of our precious new fur baby! Jim and Bettye are amazing people and explained every step of the process to us and knew every detail about Keisha. Any question we had, they had an answer for. And when they came out to our home they made Keisha's transition so easy on her. But I can tell you it is not just with Keisha that they are so compassionate. I watched them interact with all the dogs and they know the smallest details about all the dogs and love them all. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to add a new fur baby to their home or just looking for a charity to help out. This has been a wonderful experience for us and we are so thankful to our daughter for stopping to look at Keisha and for Jim and Bettye for allowing us to be her furever home. She will be loved always.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Oak Hill Rescue is a wonderful group who we adopted Luke from. We had a great experience adopting from Bettye and the group. They were well organized and thorough with the process. Luke is our pride and joy going on 3 yrs now. When Bettye brought himto us, he was well mannered and well cared for. You could tell there was a bond between them, like a mother leaving one of her own in someone elses care. I still contact Oak Hill and will use them again in the future when we think we are ready for another! p.s. I still mention Bettye's name to Luke and his ears purk up :)

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Oak Hill Animal Rescue Inc. came to my dog's "rescue" when she became very ill and lost the use of her hind legs. She could no longer walk, run or play. The remainder of her life was destined to be very dismal laying around the house all the time. Through Bettye's caring heart, we were soon put in touch with Eddie's Wheels, a manufacturer of wheel chairs for animals. Our sweet Honey had another chance to walk and run during her last days on Earth. When she passed away, we donated the wheelchair to Oak Hill Animal Rescue for the benefit of another dog. Not knowing of our loss, or the coming wheelchair donation, Oak Hill had just taken in another dog from a local shelter that had massive injuries and would be in need of a wheelchair. They named the dog Hunnie and we call it fate that we called within a few days to offer our Honey's wheelchair to them in the event that they could use it for another pet in need... Awesome!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

I first learned of Oak Hill Animal Rescue Inc when I saw a news article about three paralyzed dogs they had helped get fitted for, and receive "carts"(doggie wheelchairs) so they could lead happy, productive lives. A short time later I saw another article about OHAR, and their work at Baylor Hospital with their own two therapy dogs. I knew of a paralyzed pitbull dog at Fort Worth Animal Care and Control with two very young pups that per protocal would be immediately EU'd (euthanized) as the mandatory stray hold was up. I emailed Ohar, and Mrs. Baker immediately replied. Even though her rescue was full at the time, she asked a friend if they would foster the dog for her (and they agreed to keep the dog until there was an opening for it as unlike most rescues, all of OHAR's animals are on site. Sadly, it took about a month before the shelter released the dog to the OHAR's foster/rep Daniel Barry, and both of the puppies were sick by then and did not survive. I was very impressed by OHAR's tenacity to stick with it and fight to save this dog from certain death. They named her Hunny-Bunny, and right after OHAR got her a couple who had lost their dog came by to donate their cart to help another dog out. With a few minor adjustments it fit Hunny-Bunny perfectly. Daniel even modified it where she has to use her back legs, and Hunny is beginning to walk now; she can't run or she will fall over, but she's walking. Daniel Barry fell in love with little Hunny-Bunny, and has adopted her for himself. Thanks to the awesome dedication, and perserverance of OHAR a real life Cinderella has been spotted running all over White Rock Dog Park in her little tricked out wheelie. **** By the way, those kind people who donated their dog's wheelie cart to give Hunny-Bunny her new life? Everyone discovered the two dog's had more in common that just their disability... the other dog had been named Honey too ♥ Hunny-Bunny at the shelter https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=185012408237528&set=a.176317392440363.44433.137921312946638&type=1&theater **And this is Hunny-Bunny now https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=2720624376412&set=p.2720624376412&type=1&theater

Videos

Hunny-Bunny at the Fort Worth Animal Care and Control Shelter

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us at our adoption event every Saturday by walking the dogs, keeping them watered and talking to prospective adopters about the great work we do! Volunteer