Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.980395
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
March 7, 2013

more

March 7, 2013

Jim and Bettye are the most dedicated people who work tirelessly to care for the animals. Through Bettye, we found Dixie, a female beagle who was seven when we adopted her. She was a wonderful dog, so loving and sweet, and when she passed away, we adopted Odie through OHAR. Odie is two years old, a male beagle, very playful and loves to cuddle. His life was literally saved by Jim and Bettye from another shelter that doesn't follow the "no-kill" principle, so my husband and I are grateful and happy to give him his "forever home." Oak Hill Animal Rescue is professional, all the animals have their shots, are spayed/neutered, and receive lots of TLC from Jim and Bettye as well as the volunteers. I also volunteered two years ago and only stopped due to moving away from the area; working with everyone was a pleasure!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 6, 2014

more

March 6, 2014

My name is Cameron and I did have the pleasure of working with Bettye and Maggie in adopting the greatest pup EVER named buddy. it was very easy to work with Bettye in arranging the at home visit so I could meet my future companion and they made full effort to make it happen. I did live about 45 mins away and they had no problem bringing buddy my way. I met Maggie the day she brought him to home and she was a very kind women that truly cared about what she was doing for these animals. Once she left and it was just me and buddy, he was a little nervous but got very comfortbale very quick. His manners were instilled naturally and he had a loving personaltiy that was not forced it is who he naturally is, which truly showed me how much they do care for these pups. I can really say nothing negative about this organazation. I can only rave about it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Oak Hill Animal Rescue is an amazing organization with even more amazing people! Jim & Bettye have the most kind, loving and generous hearts of anyone we have ever met!

We recently adopted our newest member of the family during an adoption event sponsored by Oak Hill at our local
PetsMart in Rockwall, Tx. It was a great experience from beginning to end and Bettye & volunteer, Maggie were just wonderful to work with. What impressed us the most was how much they care for all their animals. They don't let these four-legged kids go home with just any one. Their adoption process is thorough to ensure these pets go to the right people and right homes!

We encourage you to visit their website, and go to PetsMart on Saturdays and meet these wonderful people and if you are serious about adopting a pet, they have amazing dogs & cats who are waiting for you to take them home!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing...give them as much money as I could to support their cause.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 14, 2013

more

December 14, 2013

They are wonderful to the animals and their new families!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

My daughter and I adopted our cat from Oak Hill Rescue in 2010. Our dog had recently died of old age and we had moved to an apartment. We decided it was time to get another pet. We had only had dogs in the past, but decided a cat would be a good choice since we had no yard.
I had a very
specific request for Jim and Bettye. I wanted a cat with a friendly "dog-like" personality and not reserved as cats can sometimes be. Bettye told me that she would bring the cats that she thought fit what I was looking for.
The next weekend, my daughter and I met Reese, who is now renamed Lucy. Bettye chose perfectly. Lucy greets us at the door when we come home. She generally wants to be in the same room we are in. She "answers" us when we talk to her. We love her more now than we did 3 years ago. I was impressed with the home visit that Bettye made a week after we brought Lucy home. She also called me periodically to make sure that Lucy was adjusting well. She was available by phone or by email to answer questions that I had.
Jim and Bettye are kind and loving. Their hearts are definitely in the work they do. The animals are clean and well taken care of. I appreciate the time they committed to find the perfect pet for us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

We recently found a beautiful terrier/boxer mix from Oak Hill Animal Rescue. We had never heard of the organization before so we did not have any expectations about the organization. Their web site is well laid out and has lots of links to educational information related to adopting/raising dogs and cats. We went to see the dog of interest at the PetSmart in Rockwall and decided to adopt. The volunteers were very helpful and the paper-work was straight forward and not too cumbersome. They did, however, explain that they do not allow same day adoptions so we were slightly disappointed. When Betty Baker came out later with our dog to check out our house and set-up we were impressed with her wonderful way with the dog, enthusiasm for rescue animals, and tremendous knowledge of raising dogs. She had several great suggestions for training and cost effective veterinary services. And she also explained the purpose of waiting at least a day before adopting as some people will change their minds and the wait allows that to happen and avoids having a dog abandoned again. Bettye also told us about her work connecting dogs with at risk youth. Her commitment to community really is second to none.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone Bettye!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2013

more

June 20, 2013

I adopted my baby girl about 5 years ago. She was rescued from the streets of S. Dallas and had puppies. By the time I met her, her puppies were already adopted out. She was shy but sweet. Chula is a healthy girl and very well behaved. She has proven you can teach an old dog new tricks. Her little run is so funny we can't stop laughing. Which...she doesn't seem to mind. The adoption process included a home visit which I really understood. Betty doesn't just go get dogs from the street and show up anywhere charging adoption fees. Chula had been to a vet first to check for worms and get fixed. She was very well cared for and loved immediately. To this day, if I have questions regarding anything animal...Betty is always willing to go out of her way to help me. Ironically no matter how long it's been since she's seen Betty, she always remembers them. I guess she remembers the help and love and care she received from Oak Hill Animal Rescue.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 13, 2013

more

May 13, 2013

Jim and Bettye Baker are the most special of people, to purchase and build this animal rescue, and take on the rehabilitation of some of the toughest of cases. Through them I found Skippy, my rat terrier mix, who was given a poor prognosis after a large dog attack left him with a punctured lung, and a damaged leg. They cared for him, literally nursing him back to life, and health, and then finding his forever home with us. There is a special place in heaven for these folks.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2013

more

February 8, 2013

I have had our dog for a year now and am astounded by the service and professionalism that Oak Hill provided to our family. They came to our house to introduce Bendie to our other dog and gave us great info on how to best integrate her into the family. These people do amazing work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

I wanted a dog for quite some time, but it took a while to convince my husband to get one. We are both particular so we had to compromise on what we were looking for. Anytime I saw an adoption some where I would look for "the one" to bring home. We checked out Petsmart one day and there was Oak Hill Animal Rescue where I met Bettye and her team. Maple was also there - the pup for us, a German Shepherd mix. I didn't fill out the application that day, but did over the weekend and had it on standby. Unfortunately, we were going out of town the following week so we didn't think it was a good time to get a puppy. A month later, after thinking Maple was long gone, I found her online through Petfinder. I immediately called Oak Hill to make sure she was actually still adoptable and Bettye assured me she was. She told me anything they post on Petfinder is always up to date. I met with Bettye that Saturday at Petsmart, turned in my application, and we set a time for our home visit. Prior to our home visit, Maple had some wounds on her back from her litter mates. Bettye took great care of her while she was still at the rescue shelter and was actually going to keep her longer because she didn't want to give a puppy away in the condition she was in. I loved that Bettye cared so much about Maple to want to keep her until she was all better so that we didn't have to worry about her. I also love the fact that they do home visits because they really are concerned about where the animals are going. Working with Bettye and Oak Hill has been a pleasure. They made the process very easy. AND...we just love our Maple! I'm so glad she was still there :-)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us at our adoption event every Saturday by walking the dogs, keeping them watered and talking to prospective adopters about the great work we do! Volunteer