Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.980395
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
January 27, 2012

more

January 27, 2012

Oak Hill Animal Clinic is a great Animal Rescue organization that puts its animals before just about everything. They have worked hard over the past few years to gain more assets to make their operations more efficient, but this by no means takes away from the love that each of the regular workers has for animals. This is a great place to go volunteer and feel better about yourself and help some great animals out in the meantime.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

In July of 2009 I found three stray dogs hanging around our business. That's when I found Oak Hill Animal Rescue. I had found one of the dogs a home but still needed to find a home for the other two. The Baker's were very receptive to my situation and that is when I became a volunteer. I really didn't know or even realize how many animals needed a home until I started volunteering. The Bakers' have put their heart and soul in this rescue. They have even taken in paralyzed dogs and trained them as therapy dogs and made them a part of their family and have been recognized by Baylor Animal Assist Program. The Bakers' have found forever homes for several dogs and cats. They work with their local animal shelters and take in the dogs or cats that are ready to be euthanized and give them forever homes. I can't even imagine the energy and time they put into this rescue not to mention they both have full time jobs so they can continue to do what their hearts desire and fund their rescue. Their passion to rescue has saved so many lives and give a stray/abandoned dog/cat a chance for happiness in a new home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

My husband and I adopted our fur-baby, Hans, from Oak Hill Animal Rescue a little over 5 years ago. He has been the absolute love of our life and is totally spoiled rotten. Bettye and Jim were wonderful in letting us look at the dogs they had and we had a fabulous time playing with all of them. Hans is a golden retriever/huskey mix. He has the most wonderful disposition and a fabulous color. About 15 months after we adopted Hans I began volunteering for Oak Hill Animal Rescue. It was a wonderful experience. I helped feed and water all the dogs and cats. Lots of petting and time for exercise were also things that i did. Eventually they were able to hire someone to feed and I turned my focus to adoption events and helping to foster a dog at a time. The first dog I fostered was actually one that I found wandering the streets myself...I named him Wheeler. When I found him I called Bettye and said "I found this really scruffy dog and I mean scruffy running across the street. He just hopped in my van." She immediately said, do you want to bring him down to the kennel? I said yes. After a very short time I decided I had to take care of him and help nurse him to health. He eventually got his hair back and was adopted.....you would have never known it was the same dog. I now spend almost every Saturday at the adoption venue, help get the dogs there and spend the day telling everyone what wonderful fur babies they really are! I could not think of a better place to volunteer. Jim and Bettye care so much for all these guys. I have recently become a 'foster failure' and adopted a little pug mix. He and Hans have bonded and play so well. It was a great thing for all. I cannot say enough good things about Oak Hill Animal Rescue and the great things that they do for dogs/cats. They have 3 dogs that are in wheel chairs and are therapy dogs at Baylor Rehabilitation Hospital. What better ways to help man and dog?!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the dog I adopted in 2006 and then working with all the other wonderful pets and now having a second dog from there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope to have more financial assistance. the economic downturn has made many things difficult. It is hard to say 'no' to taking on anymore dogs but sometimes it has to be

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

be closer to the stated time when arranging some meetings etc

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Definitely.....I have met some wonderful people and it has made my love for dogs in particular but animals in general even stronger

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

a love and deep inside feeling that can not be felt anywhere else. Dogs do that for humans!

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

I started volunteering with Oak Hill Animal Rescue after I moved from Nebraska where I had been home. They are doing a great cause-finding forever homes for great pets. They go out of their way to obedience train them, and do home visits. They also play a big part in society with their wheelchair pups going to hospitals and childrens homes to put a few smiles on some faces. I look forward to working with them in the future and finding great homes for the animals who we have to stick up for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us at our adoption event every Saturday by walking the dogs, keeping them watered and talking to prospective adopters about the great work we do! Volunteer