Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.982145
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 20, 2014

more

November 20, 2014

I volunteered with Oak Hill Animal Rescue when I lived in Dallas for a summer and I cannot say enough amazing things about this organization. Jim and Bettye are incredible, passionate people with the sweetest hearts...they made me feel so welcome at the adoption events! Their dedication made me want to give more of my time to the organization because I could see what a true difference their work made, for both the animals and the people who adopted them. I wish I still lived in Texas so I could still see their smiling faces unloading the dogs and puppies every Saturday. If you're looking to adopt or looking for some place to spend a spare Saturday, DEFINITELY check out Oak Hill Animal Rescue.
February 2, 2012

more

February 2, 2012

I started doing community service with OHAR and I loved it so much that I continued to work with them for over a year after I had finished up my community service. They are all such nice people and are doing great things to help these animals in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

I moved from Ca. last year. Being involved in animal foster care I was looking for a professionally run organization to join. After looking into other groups and although it is over an hour commute to our Adoption Fairs at PetsMart I selected Oak Hill Animal Rescue. The friendly, knowledgeable, committed, compassionate integrity of Betty and Jim will keep me involved for a very long time. Aside from what was said they step outside of the box and are involved actively with Baylor Hospital with their 2 certified therapy dogs reaching out to critically ill people. Jim and Betty are the total package.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

Oak Hill Animal Rescue is exceptional in the fact that they rescue hard to place animals, as well as disabled animals, when they are called upon to do so. They don’t turn away the outcasts. They go the extra mile to reach out to forgotten, sick, injured, neglected and abused animals to give them a second chance. They also are involved in educating people about pet care, the reasons for choosing adoption, and the adoption process in general. OHAR has another special mission of taking dogs that have experienced spinal injuries and are partially paralyzed to act as therapy dogs to Baylor Hospital to comfort patients who have also experienced paralytic injuries. This is truly exceptional work. OHAR is also active in helping youths become compassionate toward animals by developing responsibility toward and interaction with animals through volunteer activities and dog training. I love this group. They go the extra mile. They rock!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I have known Jim and Bettye Baker of Oak Hill Animal Rescue about five years. They are both passionately dedicated to saving dogs and cats. They rescue them, get them needed medical care and place them with carefully chosen homes. Their rescue extends to special needs animals providing them with whatever medical equipment, medications, special foods & rehabilitation they need. The housing is clean and spacious and each animal gets individual attention. They keep detailed records on the animals and the expenses involved in running the rescue.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing happily placed dogs in forever homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish that they had room to help more animals!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I have been volunteering as a photographer for various animal rescue organizations and have witnessed from the abysmal to well-run groups. The animals at OHAR are clean, socialized, and very well cared for. Because they are in this condition, the photographs are easy to take, therefore (hopefully) boosting the adoption rate. No photographer can make a frightened, filthy dog look good.....only the organization can. OHAR deserves the highest rating possible because they have obviously put in the work to achieve it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The owner informs me if there has been an interest or adoption due, in part, to my photographs

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me feel I could help make a difference in the future of a homeless animal.

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

As a supporter of Oak Hill Animal Rescue I would like express my appreciation to Jim and Bettye Baker for providing an animal rescue of this caliber, supporting the surrounding areas of Sunnyvale, Seagoville, Mesquite, Rockwall, Garland, etc). The hard work and love bestowed on each of these animals is incredible. The average person wouldn’t hold up to one day of their schedule much less 365 days a year. The kennel is well cared for, nutrition and medical needs are always meet along with daily exercise to run off steam and experience the outdoors. These are all important factors in the life of each and every one of these dogs and cats. A weekly adoption program affords each animal the opportunity for a loving family environment that is strictly monitored. Recently Oak Hill Animal Rescue has partnered with Baylor Institute for Rehabilitation to bring disabled dogs to visit rehab patients providing that spark of hope individuals need during challenging times. I would be glad to recommend this rescue to anyone looking to adopt a well cared for pet.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

These people have a compassion for animals...large or small...sick or healthy. They house dogs and cats until a "suitable" new owner is found. Many times that process is a long one. They take those dogs labeled early on as "unadoptable" and send them to obedience school to socialize them as well as help the "trainers". You see the trainers are boys in a juvenile justice program. Win one win all. Not only do Jim and Bettye adopt dogs and cats into new homes they have 5 dogs that are wheelchair bound and participate in a hospital therapy program. they take the wheelchair dogs and visit rehab facilities to encourage patients to suceed or at least deal with their injuries just as the dogs have done. The Bakers are all around compassionate and caring canine and feline heros.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

This organization is run by Bettye Baker and her husband Jim. I first met them last fall at the Petsmart store in Rockwall, TX while inquiring about volunteer opportunities for my 14-yr. old son. Having not yet met my son, Bettye explained that they preferred for their teen volunteers to be at least 16 but sometimes they allowed younger individuals to volunteer based on their level of maturity. Upon completing the volunteer forms and other paperwork, the impression I got was that they were very serious about the quality and maturity level of the teens that they permitted to work with their animals. This was my first clue that this organization was very committed to their animals. My son is with his dad every other weekend and can only volunteer on a limited basis, so when the all-day "adoption fair" event came up at Owens Farms (in Richardson, TX), I said I would help out since they would be in great need of volunteers. This was my first opportunity helping out this organization and I could tell that Bettye and Jim pour their hearts into trying to find good homes for their animals. One example of this is rather than giving an animal to the first person who's willing to pay the adoption fee, a prospective owner is required to first fill out an adoption application and Bettye conducts a "home visit" to make sure that the dog will be able to adapt well to their new home and co-exist with any existing pets in the household. This shows me that they care very much that their animals are placed in a good environment. The other thing that I noticed is that they have several "regular" volunteers who are present whenever I have helped out or dropped off my son to volunteer. These ladies know the history and personality of the animals waiting to be adopted and show lots of caring and committment to volunteer their time with such dedication. When I went to pick up my son from volunteering the other day, I stuck around and helped them break down the cages and walk the dogs to their bus for their trip home. Some of these dogs were SO excited and couldn't wait to get back on the bus because they knew they were going home. What this says to me is that they love their caregivers (Bettye & Jim), and that they like their living conditions. The people who volunteer for this organization truly care for the welfare of these animals. Although I am fairly new to this organization, I know that It takes a lot to provide basic care for these animals, from feeding, housing, getting them proper medical attention, laundry and transportation expenses from their location in Seagoville to their adoption location in Rockwall, just to name a few. These people are truly dedicated in their efforts to help these abandoned and abused animals have a better life and they need all the help (monetary and otherwise), that they can get. I hope that your organization can assist with their needs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I can't say that I have personally adopted any animals from this organization (as I already have two dogs at home), however, I was present when a family and another couple expressed geniune interest in adopting a couple of the dogs and I was so excited that these animals would potentially be going to good, loving homes!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Other than wishing they could attract more volunteers, there are no changes that I would recommend making at this time.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I can't think of any changes that would "improve" my experience. I love animals and don't mind volunteering my time to help out this organization. They are good-hearted, caring people that love their animals and I don't mind helping out whenever I can. Even if it's just for a couple of hours, I feel good knowing that I was able to help them in their efforts and show compassion to an animal that's waiting to be adopted.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Volunteering at the adoption fair event opened my eyes to all the various rescue groups and organizations that devote their time, energy and resouces trying to find adoptive homes for their animals rather than the alternative. I felt that I was able to contribute in a small way to helping meet this objective. Even though it involved standing on my feet for quite a number of hours and being out in very windy conditions, it was OK because this organization needed all the volunteers it could get and I was happy to be able to help out.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I felt that if I wasn't able to adopt any of their dogs myself, at least I could volunteer my time to help them walk their dogs and care for their animals while they were at an event waiting to be adopted. The couple who run this program are kind and loving and genuinely care about the animals they shelter (and the homes that they go to) and it makes me feel good that I am able to contribute to their efforts.

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Jim and Bettye are nothing short of amazing! They give, give...and then give even more. From their hearts and pockets, they make sacrifices that not many people can fathom...including me. I've learned a great deal about pets AND people from Jim and Bettye and hardly a week goes by that I don't continue to benefit from my experiences with OHAR. I don't know how you keep the names of 60+ dogs and 30+ cats with the right animal...but Bettye sure does. My guess is it's the love she has for the unloved, unwanted and forgotten. Being with the OHAR animals and staff on Saturdays at the adoption event brings a smile to my face and warmth to my heart. There's no escaping the aura of love, caring, and urgent need to educate people about pet ownership. Hats off to Jim, Bettye, Daniel, Rita, Maggie and all the other wonderful volunteers at OHAR!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us at our adoption event every Saturday by walking the dogs, keeping them watered and talking to prospective adopters about the great work we do! Volunteer