Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.982145
Write A Review
January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

This story is written to express our fulfilling experience with Bettye Baker, Executive Director, Oak Hill Animal Rescue, Inc., www.ohar.org, Compassion in Action, A 501(c)3 Non Profit Corporations, Federal ID 26-0453703

I am Carletta Burrows and I lost my Corgi, PJ, his name is short for
"Pure Joy," in early September of this year. I was so lonely and in tears continuously missing my constant companion. I calmed myself by searching the internet for a Corgi that needing a friend and a home. On September 19, I found Oak Hill Animal Rescue, Bettye Baker, and Bunny. Bunny looked almost just like my PJ and needed a home. After talking with Bettye on the phone to get all the details and "how to" steps, I began the process. I filled out the application for adopting Bunny and faxed it to Oak Hill Rescue. I spoke with Bettye Baker several times over the course of the next week to answer questions and make sure all was in order for the adoption to be complete. On September 25, 2012, Bunny was delivered by Bettye Baker and two of her assistants. What a grand day! Bunny immediately began to fill the hole in all of our hearts and continues to do so to this very day. She has the chemistry it takes to be a farm dog and enjoys every opportunity given to her to help out on the farm. She is a fantastic guard dog and will not allow anyone or anything to go unnoticed and unannounced. We have kept in touch with Oak Hill Rescue and their successes, especially with the handicapped dogs that are great motivational tools in working with patients undergoing physical rehabilitation or training. We also recommend Oak Hill Rescue to others who are looking for a pet. We recommend adoption because of what Bettye Baker said to me when we discussed purchasing a puppy vs. adopting a rescued animal; she said, "Then you would be part of the problem rather than the solution. We will be ever grateful to Oak Hill Animal Rescue for taking such good care of the animals they rescue and for helping me find the perfect match for our family. It was a pleasure to work with Bettye Baker and Oak Hill Rescue, Inc. It is a joy for me to be able to share this story with you. Carletta Burrows 6001 Kilgore TX 75662 (903) 643-0530

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Oak Hill Rescue is a wonderful group who we adopted Luke from. We had a great experience adopting from Bettye and the group. They were well organized and thorough with the process. Luke is our pride and joy going on 3 yrs now. When Bettye brought himto us, he was well mannered and well cared for. You could tell there was a bond between them, like a mother leaving one of her own in someone elses care. I still contact Oak Hill and will use them again in the future when we think we are ready for another! p.s. I still mention Bettye's name to Luke and his ears purk up :)

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Jim and Bettye are nothing short of amazing! They give, give...and then give even more. From their hearts and pockets, they make sacrifices that not many people can fathom...including me. I've learned a great deal about pets AND people from Jim and Bettye and hardly a week goes by that I don't continue to benefit from my experiences with OHAR. I don't know how you keep the names of 60+ dogs and 30+ cats with the right animal...but Bettye sure does. My guess is it's the love she has for the unloved, unwanted and forgotten. Being with the OHAR animals and staff on Saturdays at the adoption event brings a smile to my face and warmth to my heart. There's no escaping the aura of love, caring, and urgent need to educate people about pet ownership. Hats off to Jim, Bettye, Daniel, Rita, Maggie and all the other wonderful volunteers at OHAR!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

My friend, Maggie began volunteering with Oak Hill Animal Rescue several years ago. About 2 years ago, we lost one of our beloved dogs and decided to adopt another, Geno, through Oak Hill Animal Rescue. I was very impressed with the way they checked out us, our home and our other animals. For some reason, Geno was having a hard time finding a "forever" home, but he has fit very well within our pack of, now 3, dogs. He is sweet, loving and very trainable within the pack. All the animals at Oak Hill Animal Rescue are spayed/neutered and are up to date on their vaccinations. So when we adopt a pet, we don't have to worry about the routine vet visits for a year. I highly recommend Oak Hill Animal Rescue!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Absolutely the most lovely rescue organization I have had the pleasure with whom to work. They found a beautiful year old poodle, totally neglected and took care of all her medical needed and as she went into heat for her first time, they also had her fixed. In the meantime, my home was inspected to be sure that I would be a good 'mother'. I approve of their methods and would recommend them to anyone.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Oak Hill Animal Rescue Inc. came to my dog's "rescue" when she became very ill and lost the use of her hind legs. She could no longer walk, run or play. The remainder of her life was destined to be very dismal laying around the house all the time. Through Bettye's caring heart, we were soon put in touch with Eddie's Wheels, a manufacturer of wheel chairs for animals. Our sweet Honey had another chance to walk and run during her last days on Earth. When she passed away, we donated the wheelchair to Oak Hill Animal Rescue for the benefit of another dog. Not knowing of our loss, or the coming wheelchair donation, Oak Hill had just taken in another dog from a local shelter that had massive injuries and would be in need of a wheelchair. They named the dog Hunnie and we call it fate that we called within a few days to offer our Honey's wheelchair to them in the event that they could use it for another pet in need... Awesome!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

We adopted a puppy from Oak Hill. He was rescued at about 8 weeks old walking down the sidr of an interstate. Our experience with Oak Hill snd it's owners have been great. They are truly animal lovers at heart. And have always put the animals safety and welfare first, making sure the homes they are placed in are good homes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 29, 2012

more

January 29, 2012

We adopted an adorable 2yr old dashound mix in December 2010. She has been a great joy in our lives. We also contact Oak Hill to help with a stray I found but could not keep. They were able to place the dog in a permanent loving home. I am very grateful for their hard work and hope they are able to continue helping homeless animals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Adopting and surrendering

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow them more funds so they wouldn't worry so much about feeding dogs and vet bills - and more time to rescue more animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

Pet Smart adoption day

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Be more generous

January 28, 2012

more

January 28, 2012

I have known Bettye long before Oak Hill was in existence, 20 years plus. Bettye has always rescued animals taking in as many as she could. When she and Jim married, their rescue efforts expanded to what is now Oak Hill Animal Rescue. My husband and I volunteer for what ever is needed of us and all of our children have become volunteers as well (even our 9 year old whose job is to provide lots of love to the rescued cats while we load up the equipment necessary for Saturday adoption day!) When we wake him up every Saturday morning his first spoken words are "Do I get to go see the kitties?" My nieces, nephews, and friends of our kids actually contact us every week to let us know their schedules for Saturday so they can come and help - that speaks volumes. They do it for the same reason my husband and I do- the feeling we get inside from knowing we are doing something that really matters and makes a difference. Knowing that we are helping the efforts of Bettye and Jim to save lives of the dogs and cats that otherwise would not be here. One of the things I am most impressed with is Oak Hill does not 'sell' their rescues. Each person interested in adopting a precious soul has to fill out an application, be approved, have a home inspection to try to ensure the family is a good match, that they will be able to provide a safe and loving home, and IS followed up on personally by Bettye. Bettye also educates anyone with questions or showing an interest in an adoption and she has a saying that I like alot, "If you are not part of the solution then you are part of the problem."......and she and Jim believe in that. There are so many volunteers that help out and I so enjoy getting to see the volunteers on Saturday's, they are all great individuals and we all work together as a team! I am so proud to be a part of what Bettye and Jim have created and hope the 'family' grows bigger.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Win the lottery and make a ginormous donation to the cause to help Bettye and Jim's efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Maybe a pair of roller skates and a megaphone???

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have met many great people volunteering that have the same love for animals that my family and I share. I have also improved my skills on assigning duties to multiple people for set-up and break-down to be more efficient (that's where the megaphone would come in handy).

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Fulfilled, proud, a little tired and at the end of the day, hungry!

January 27, 2012

more

January 27, 2012

Oak Hill Animal Clinic is a great Animal Rescue organization that puts its animals before just about everything. They have worked hard over the past few years to gain more assets to make their operations more efficient, but this by no means takes away from the love that each of the regular workers has for animals. This is a great place to go volunteer and feel better about yourself and help some great animals out in the meantime.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us at our adoption event every Saturday by walking the dogs, keeping them watered and talking to prospective adopters about the great work we do! Volunteer