Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.981135
| 1 ... 4 5 6 |
Write A Review
January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

My friend, Maggie began volunteering with Oak Hill Animal Rescue several years ago. About 2 years ago, we lost one of our beloved dogs and decided to adopt another, Geno, through Oak Hill Animal Rescue. I was very impressed with the way they checked out us, our home and our other animals. For some reason, Geno was having a hard time finding a "forever" home, but he has fit very well within our pack of, now 3, dogs. He is sweet, loving and very trainable within the pack. All the animals at Oak Hill Animal Rescue are spayed/neutered and are up to date on their vaccinations. So when we adopt a pet, we don't have to worry about the routine vet visits for a year. I highly recommend Oak Hill Animal Rescue!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Absolutely the most lovely rescue organization I have had the pleasure with whom to work. They found a beautiful year old poodle, totally neglected and took care of all her medical needed and as she went into heat for her first time, they also had her fixed. In the meantime, my home was inspected to be sure that I would be a good 'mother'. I approve of their methods and would recommend them to anyone.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Oak Hill Animal Rescue Inc. came to my dog's "rescue" when she became very ill and lost the use of her hind legs. She could no longer walk, run or play. The remainder of her life was destined to be very dismal laying around the house all the time. Through Bettye's caring heart, we were soon put in touch with Eddie's Wheels, a manufacturer of wheel chairs for animals. Our sweet Honey had another chance to walk and run during her last days on Earth. When she passed away, we donated the wheelchair to Oak Hill Animal Rescue for the benefit of another dog. Not knowing of our loss, or the coming wheelchair donation, Oak Hill had just taken in another dog from a local shelter that had massive injuries and would be in need of a wheelchair. They named the dog Hunnie and we call it fate that we called within a few days to offer our Honey's wheelchair to them in the event that they could use it for another pet in need... Awesome!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

We adopted a puppy from Oak Hill. He was rescued at about 8 weeks old walking down the sidr of an interstate. Our experience with Oak Hill snd it's owners have been great. They are truly animal lovers at heart. And have always put the animals safety and welfare first, making sure the homes they are placed in are good homes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 29, 2012

more

January 29, 2012

We adopted an adorable 2yr old dashound mix in December 2010. She has been a great joy in our lives. We also contact Oak Hill to help with a stray I found but could not keep. They were able to place the dog in a permanent loving home. I am very grateful for their hard work and hope they are able to continue helping homeless animals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Adopting and surrendering

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow them more funds so they wouldn't worry so much about feeding dogs and vet bills - and more time to rescue more animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

Pet Smart adoption day

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Be more generous

January 28, 2012

more

January 28, 2012

I have known Bettye long before Oak Hill was in existence, 20 years plus. Bettye has always rescued animals taking in as many as she could. When she and Jim married, their rescue efforts expanded to what is now Oak Hill Animal Rescue. My husband and I volunteer for what ever is needed of us and all of our children have become volunteers as well (even our 9 year old whose job is to provide lots of love to the rescued cats while we load up the equipment necessary for Saturday adoption day!) When we wake him up every Saturday morning his first spoken words are "Do I get to go see the kitties?" My nieces, nephews, and friends of our kids actually contact us every week to let us know their schedules for Saturday so they can come and help - that speaks volumes. They do it for the same reason my husband and I do- the feeling we get inside from knowing we are doing something that really matters and makes a difference. Knowing that we are helping the efforts of Bettye and Jim to save lives of the dogs and cats that otherwise would not be here. One of the things I am most impressed with is Oak Hill does not 'sell' their rescues. Each person interested in adopting a precious soul has to fill out an application, be approved, have a home inspection to try to ensure the family is a good match, that they will be able to provide a safe and loving home, and IS followed up on personally by Bettye. Bettye also educates anyone with questions or showing an interest in an adoption and she has a saying that I like alot, "If you are not part of the solution then you are part of the problem."......and she and Jim believe in that. There are so many volunteers that help out and I so enjoy getting to see the volunteers on Saturday's, they are all great individuals and we all work together as a team! I am so proud to be a part of what Bettye and Jim have created and hope the 'family' grows bigger.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Win the lottery and make a ginormous donation to the cause to help Bettye and Jim's efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Maybe a pair of roller skates and a megaphone???

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have met many great people volunteering that have the same love for animals that my family and I share. I have also improved my skills on assigning duties to multiple people for set-up and break-down to be more efficient (that's where the megaphone would come in handy).

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Fulfilled, proud, a little tired and at the end of the day, hungry!

January 27, 2012

more

January 27, 2012

Oak Hill Animal Clinic is a great Animal Rescue organization that puts its animals before just about everything. They have worked hard over the past few years to gain more assets to make their operations more efficient, but this by no means takes away from the love that each of the regular workers has for animals. This is a great place to go volunteer and feel better about yourself and help some great animals out in the meantime.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

In July of 2009 I found three stray dogs hanging around our business. That's when I found Oak Hill Animal Rescue. I had found one of the dogs a home but still needed to find a home for the other two. The Baker's were very receptive to my situation and that is when I became a volunteer. I really didn't know or even realize how many animals needed a home until I started volunteering. The Bakers' have put their heart and soul in this rescue. They have even taken in paralyzed dogs and trained them as therapy dogs and made them a part of their family and have been recognized by Baylor Animal Assist Program. The Bakers' have found forever homes for several dogs and cats. They work with their local animal shelters and take in the dogs or cats that are ready to be euthanized and give them forever homes. I can't even imagine the energy and time they put into this rescue not to mention they both have full time jobs so they can continue to do what their hearts desire and fund their rescue. Their passion to rescue has saved so many lives and give a stray/abandoned dog/cat a chance for happiness in a new home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

My husband and I adopted our fur-baby, Hans, from Oak Hill Animal Rescue a little over 5 years ago. He has been the absolute love of our life and is totally spoiled rotten. Bettye and Jim were wonderful in letting us look at the dogs they had and we had a fabulous time playing with all of them. Hans is a golden retriever/huskey mix. He has the most wonderful disposition and a fabulous color. About 15 months after we adopted Hans I began volunteering for Oak Hill Animal Rescue. It was a wonderful experience. I helped feed and water all the dogs and cats. Lots of petting and time for exercise were also things that i did. Eventually they were able to hire someone to feed and I turned my focus to adoption events and helping to foster a dog at a time. The first dog I fostered was actually one that I found wandering the streets myself...I named him Wheeler. When I found him I called Bettye and said "I found this really scruffy dog and I mean scruffy running across the street. He just hopped in my van." She immediately said, do you want to bring him down to the kennel? I said yes. After a very short time I decided I had to take care of him and help nurse him to health. He eventually got his hair back and was adopted.....you would have never known it was the same dog. I now spend almost every Saturday at the adoption venue, help get the dogs there and spend the day telling everyone what wonderful fur babies they really are! I could not think of a better place to volunteer. Jim and Bettye care so much for all these guys. I have recently become a 'foster failure' and adopted a little pug mix. He and Hans have bonded and play so well. It was a great thing for all. I cannot say enough good things about Oak Hill Animal Rescue and the great things that they do for dogs/cats. They have 3 dogs that are in wheel chairs and are therapy dogs at Baylor Rehabilitation Hospital. What better ways to help man and dog?!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the dog I adopted in 2006 and then working with all the other wonderful pets and now having a second dog from there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope to have more financial assistance. the economic downturn has made many things difficult. It is hard to say 'no' to taking on anymore dogs but sometimes it has to be

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

be closer to the stated time when arranging some meetings etc

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Definitely.....I have met some wonderful people and it has made my love for dogs in particular but animals in general even stronger

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

a love and deep inside feeling that can not be felt anywhere else. Dogs do that for humans!

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

I am a dog trainer, and I have worked with Oak Hill Animal Rescue on several occasions. They work hard to make an adoption "work", and provide good advice, including recommending experts to help where there is a behavioral issue (with the dog or the people!!). I have visited their facility and attended some of their adoption events - they are committed to trying to provide a better life for the animals in their care.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us at our adoption event every Saturday by walking the dogs, keeping them watered and talking to prospective adopters about the great work we do! Volunteer