Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.980395
| 1 ... 3 4 56 |
Write A Review
January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

We adopted our adorable Japanese Chin from Oak Hill Animal Rescue. Betty and her staff had provided excellent care for our Samurai while he was there. They were also wonderful to us in helping us adopt Samurai. And....... we still keep in touch. They are a great group of caring people that love all dogs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

After losing our dog to old age, we went a while without considering adopting a new pet. My husband floated the idea and I reluctently said I would consider it. A dear friend volunteers for Oak HIll so I contacted her and she told me about an adoption event at Petsmart. My husband went and came home asking me to at least go and meet Max. I did and after a few minutes in the meet and greet room, I knew we needed to be doggie parents again. Oak HIll throughly checked us out, which I appreciated, and we were approved! Max went to obedience school before coming home and we got to attend his graduation. He has been a fun, loving, and well- mannered boy. We have taken him on several road trips to our cabin in Colorado and he loves being with us. I strongly encourage anyone who is interested in adopting a pet,-the only way to go-to check out Oak HIll.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Found these folks on-line while searching for a specific type of dog. Met them at pet center for adoption weekend, highly impressed with care of their animals and commitment to no-kill. Could not take dog that day [work travel] so they kept her for three additional weeks until my schedule was clear, then brought her from Seagoville out to Wylie to my house. Nothing but kudos for the way they screen clients and place animals [at least in my case!]. "Lady" is a happy SchnauBrador now almost one year old who fits right into her niche with her two "little brothers." Jack

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

These people have a compassion for animals...large or small...sick or healthy. They house dogs and cats until a "suitable" new owner is found. Many times that process is a long one. They take those dogs labeled early on as "unadoptable" and send them to obedience school to socialize them as well as help the "trainers". You see the trainers are boys in a juvenile justice program. Win one win all. Not only do Jim and Bettye adopt dogs and cats into new homes they have 5 dogs that are wheelchair bound and participate in a hospital therapy program. they take the wheelchair dogs and visit rehab facilities to encourage patients to suceed or at least deal with their injuries just as the dogs have done. The Bakers are all around compassionate and caring canine and feline heros.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

This organization is run by Bettye Baker and her husband Jim. I first met them last fall at the Petsmart store in Rockwall, TX while inquiring about volunteer opportunities for my 14-yr. old son. Having not yet met my son, Bettye explained that they preferred for their teen volunteers to be at least 16 but sometimes they allowed younger individuals to volunteer based on their level of maturity. Upon completing the volunteer forms and other paperwork, the impression I got was that they were very serious about the quality and maturity level of the teens that they permitted to work with their animals. This was my first clue that this organization was very committed to their animals. My son is with his dad every other weekend and can only volunteer on a limited basis, so when the all-day "adoption fair" event came up at Owens Farms (in Richardson, TX), I said I would help out since they would be in great need of volunteers. This was my first opportunity helping out this organization and I could tell that Bettye and Jim pour their hearts into trying to find good homes for their animals. One example of this is rather than giving an animal to the first person who's willing to pay the adoption fee, a prospective owner is required to first fill out an adoption application and Bettye conducts a "home visit" to make sure that the dog will be able to adapt well to their new home and co-exist with any existing pets in the household. This shows me that they care very much that their animals are placed in a good environment. The other thing that I noticed is that they have several "regular" volunteers who are present whenever I have helped out or dropped off my son to volunteer. These ladies know the history and personality of the animals waiting to be adopted and show lots of caring and committment to volunteer their time with such dedication. When I went to pick up my son from volunteering the other day, I stuck around and helped them break down the cages and walk the dogs to their bus for their trip home. Some of these dogs were SO excited and couldn't wait to get back on the bus because they knew they were going home. What this says to me is that they love their caregivers (Bettye & Jim), and that they like their living conditions. The people who volunteer for this organization truly care for the welfare of these animals. Although I am fairly new to this organization, I know that It takes a lot to provide basic care for these animals, from feeding, housing, getting them proper medical attention, laundry and transportation expenses from their location in Seagoville to their adoption location in Rockwall, just to name a few. These people are truly dedicated in their efforts to help these abandoned and abused animals have a better life and they need all the help (monetary and otherwise), that they can get. I hope that your organization can assist with their needs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I can't say that I have personally adopted any animals from this organization (as I already have two dogs at home), however, I was present when a family and another couple expressed geniune interest in adopting a couple of the dogs and I was so excited that these animals would potentially be going to good, loving homes!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Other than wishing they could attract more volunteers, there are no changes that I would recommend making at this time.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I can't think of any changes that would "improve" my experience. I love animals and don't mind volunteering my time to help out this organization. They are good-hearted, caring people that love their animals and I don't mind helping out whenever I can. Even if it's just for a couple of hours, I feel good knowing that I was able to help them in their efforts and show compassion to an animal that's waiting to be adopted.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Volunteering at the adoption fair event opened my eyes to all the various rescue groups and organizations that devote their time, energy and resouces trying to find adoptive homes for their animals rather than the alternative. I felt that I was able to contribute in a small way to helping meet this objective. Even though it involved standing on my feet for quite a number of hours and being out in very windy conditions, it was OK because this organization needed all the volunteers it could get and I was happy to be able to help out.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I felt that if I wasn't able to adopt any of their dogs myself, at least I could volunteer my time to help them walk their dogs and care for their animals while they were at an event waiting to be adopted. The couple who run this program are kind and loving and genuinely care about the animals they shelter (and the homes that they go to) and it makes me feel good that I am able to contribute to their efforts.

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

This story is written to express our fulfilling experience with Bettye Baker, Executive Director, Oak Hill Animal Rescue, Inc., www.ohar.org, Compassion in Action, A 501(c)3 Non Profit Corporations, Federal ID 26-0453703

I am Carletta Burrows and I lost my Corgi, PJ, his name is short for
"Pure Joy," in early September of this year. I was so lonely and in tears continuously missing my constant companion. I calmed myself by searching the internet for a Corgi that needing a friend and a home. On September 19, I found Oak Hill Animal Rescue, Bettye Baker, and Bunny. Bunny looked almost just like my PJ and needed a home. After talking with Bettye on the phone to get all the details and "how to" steps, I began the process. I filled out the application for adopting Bunny and faxed it to Oak Hill Rescue. I spoke with Bettye Baker several times over the course of the next week to answer questions and make sure all was in order for the adoption to be complete. On September 25, 2012, Bunny was delivered by Bettye Baker and two of her assistants. What a grand day! Bunny immediately began to fill the hole in all of our hearts and continues to do so to this very day. She has the chemistry it takes to be a farm dog and enjoys every opportunity given to her to help out on the farm. She is a fantastic guard dog and will not allow anyone or anything to go unnoticed and unannounced. We have kept in touch with Oak Hill Rescue and their successes, especially with the handicapped dogs that are great motivational tools in working with patients undergoing physical rehabilitation or training. We also recommend Oak Hill Rescue to others who are looking for a pet. We recommend adoption because of what Bettye Baker said to me when we discussed purchasing a puppy vs. adopting a rescued animal; she said, "Then you would be part of the problem rather than the solution. We will be ever grateful to Oak Hill Animal Rescue for taking such good care of the animals they rescue and for helping me find the perfect match for our family. It was a pleasure to work with Bettye Baker and Oak Hill Rescue, Inc. It is a joy for me to be able to share this story with you. Carletta Burrows 6001 Kilgore TX 75662 (903) 643-0530

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Oak Hill Rescue is a wonderful group who we adopted Luke from. We had a great experience adopting from Bettye and the group. They were well organized and thorough with the process. Luke is our pride and joy going on 3 yrs now. When Bettye brought himto us, he was well mannered and well cared for. You could tell there was a bond between them, like a mother leaving one of her own in someone elses care. I still contact Oak Hill and will use them again in the future when we think we are ready for another! p.s. I still mention Bettye's name to Luke and his ears purk up :)

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Jim and Bettye are nothing short of amazing! They give, give...and then give even more. From their hearts and pockets, they make sacrifices that not many people can fathom...including me. I've learned a great deal about pets AND people from Jim and Bettye and hardly a week goes by that I don't continue to benefit from my experiences with OHAR. I don't know how you keep the names of 60+ dogs and 30+ cats with the right animal...but Bettye sure does. My guess is it's the love she has for the unloved, unwanted and forgotten. Being with the OHAR animals and staff on Saturdays at the adoption event brings a smile to my face and warmth to my heart. There's no escaping the aura of love, caring, and urgent need to educate people about pet ownership. Hats off to Jim, Bettye, Daniel, Rita, Maggie and all the other wonderful volunteers at OHAR!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

My friend, Maggie began volunteering with Oak Hill Animal Rescue several years ago. About 2 years ago, we lost one of our beloved dogs and decided to adopt another, Geno, through Oak Hill Animal Rescue. I was very impressed with the way they checked out us, our home and our other animals. For some reason, Geno was having a hard time finding a "forever" home, but he has fit very well within our pack of, now 3, dogs. He is sweet, loving and very trainable within the pack. All the animals at Oak Hill Animal Rescue are spayed/neutered and are up to date on their vaccinations. So when we adopt a pet, we don't have to worry about the routine vet visits for a year. I highly recommend Oak Hill Animal Rescue!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Absolutely the most lovely rescue organization I have had the pleasure with whom to work. They found a beautiful year old poodle, totally neglected and took care of all her medical needed and as she went into heat for her first time, they also had her fixed. In the meantime, my home was inspected to be sure that I would be a good 'mother'. I approve of their methods and would recommend them to anyone.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us at our adoption event every Saturday by walking the dogs, keeping them watered and talking to prospective adopters about the great work we do! Volunteer