Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.982145
Write A Review
February 2, 2012

more

February 2, 2012

I started doing community service with OHAR and I loved it so much that I continued to work with them for over a year after I had finished up my community service. They are all such nice people and are doing great things to help these animals in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

OHAR is a wonderful organization and Jim and Bettye Baker are wonderful people. We went in to a PetSmart to buy something for our dog. OHAR happened to be there that day and my husband and I decided to just look. We were not really looking to get another dog at the time. Of course Tuffy (now Buster) apparently had other plans. He took one look at me and I was hooked. We ended up taking him home a couple weeks later. Bettye was great to work with in the adoption process. It is very obvious that she and Jim truly care for all the animals they have. Adopting Buster has been one of the best things we have ever done. He has brought so much joy to our lives and we have OHAR to thank for that. We believed in the organization so much, that we volunteered for them for a while untill we moved out of the area. When we are ready to adopt another pet, we may even go back to OHAR, even though we no longer live in the area. We highly recommed OHAR to anyone looking to adopt and dog or cat.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

I moved from Ca. last year. Being involved in animal foster care I was looking for a professionally run organization to join. After looking into other groups and although it is over an hour commute to our Adoption Fairs at PetsMart I selected Oak Hill Animal Rescue. The friendly, knowledgeable, committed, compassionate integrity of Betty and Jim will keep me involved for a very long time. Aside from what was said they step outside of the box and are involved actively with Baylor Hospital with their 2 certified therapy dogs reaching out to critically ill people. Jim and Betty are the total package.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

Oak Hill Animal Rescue is exceptional in the fact that they rescue hard to place animals, as well as disabled animals, when they are called upon to do so. They don’t turn away the outcasts. They go the extra mile to reach out to forgotten, sick, injured, neglected and abused animals to give them a second chance. They also are involved in educating people about pet care, the reasons for choosing adoption, and the adoption process in general. OHAR has another special mission of taking dogs that have experienced spinal injuries and are partially paralyzed to act as therapy dogs to Baylor Hospital to comfort patients who have also experienced paralytic injuries. This is truly exceptional work. OHAR is also active in helping youths become compassionate toward animals by developing responsibility toward and interaction with animals through volunteer activities and dog training. I love this group. They go the extra mile. They rock!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

We adopted Dusty into our family in the Winter of 2011 after the passing of our beloved Carly, who was also a rescue from the SPCA. We met Dusty at Adoption Day at one of the retail pet supplies stores that Oak Hill Animal Rescue happened to be at. Dusty caught our attention pretty quickly because he was just the right amount of scruff, just the right amount of Terrier, and just the right amount of attitude. What we immediately recognized in this organization is their character - a sincere interest in adopting a pet into the best possible home and doing it with integrity. From providing the appropriate amount of care to animals in their care, providing basic training to the dogs before they go to their next home, to checking in on the adoptive parent(s) to see how the new companion is adjusting. And I would like to also mention the program they utilize for their training, an at risk youth program that helps foster responsibility and nurturing for the young men as well as basic training and bonding for the dogs. This was an incredible testimony to the integrity of Oak Hill Animal Rescue and the commitment of Bettye and Jim Baker. We found the right place to adopt our wonderful, happy, and spirited Dusty!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I have known Jim and Bettye Baker of Oak Hill Animal Rescue about five years. They are both passionately dedicated to saving dogs and cats. They rescue them, get them needed medical care and place them with carefully chosen homes. Their rescue extends to special needs animals providing them with whatever medical equipment, medications, special foods & rehabilitation they need. The housing is clean and spacious and each animal gets individual attention. They keep detailed records on the animals and the expenses involved in running the rescue.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing happily placed dogs in forever homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish that they had room to help more animals!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

We went to the Pet Parade on Oak Lawn on Easter in 2011. Oak Hill Animal Rescue was showing some of their animals that they had for adoption. My husband and my daughter fell in love with this little puppy. I know there were other people wanting to adopt this puppy. We were the first to fill out the application so we were allowed the home visit and were able to adopt the puppy. There was an individual that offered a great deal of money if he would be able to adopt and take the puppy home that day, but the rescue was true to their word that the first application would be served first and then others. I truly respect the way this was handled.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

This organization does a great job with the dogs that they rescue. The dog we adopted, Brady, was brought in as a pretty wild animal with no socialization skills at all. The people at Oak Hill Animal Rescue took care of him medically, gave him lots of the affection that he needed so badly, and even put him through a training class. We picked Brady up after his last training class and he is sooo sweet! I would recommend this organization for any one who is wanting to rescue a dog. They are very thorough and do a home visit before placing their dogs, and they require a recommendation from both your vet and another person who knows how you treat your dogs.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I adopted a dog from this group. The process was easy and fast. I saw him Easter Sunday at Easter in the Park, and I had him a month later. They sent him to school, so I didn't have to give him obedience training. I had him tested for heartworms, and he came back positive. But, they helped me get him treated and assured me he would be okay. Every time I email Bettye she responded in 24 hours. They are deeply committed to rescuing and rehoming all of their animals. I will come to them again for when I adopt again. Billy is the love of my life, and I would never have found him if Oak Hill hadn't rescued him. You will get a great pet from this group!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I received a frantic e-mail from a shelter walker at Irving Animal Services that was looking for someone to rescue a dachshund that was found dragging himself along the highway and could not use his back legs. Bettye and Jim of Oak Hill Animal Rescue came to this baby's rescue and named him Arlo. After having him evaluating and discovering that he had paralysis in his back side, they decided to get him a wheelchair to make his life easier. Our group "Gardere Cares About Animals" took up a collection at our law office and not only raised enough funds to buy Arlo the wheelchair--but also to cover the cost of his heartworm treatment (as he was also found to be heartworm positive). Arlo still lives at Oak Hill and is thriving. Betty and Jim are true angels to the service of animals far and near!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us at our adoption event every Saturday by walking the dogs, keeping them watered and talking to prospective adopters about the great work we do! Volunteer