Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.980395
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I have known Jim and Bettye Baker of Oak Hill Animal Rescue about five years. They are both passionately dedicated to saving dogs and cats. They rescue them, get them needed medical care and place them with carefully chosen homes. Their rescue extends to special needs animals providing them with whatever medical equipment, medications, special foods & rehabilitation they need. The housing is clean and spacious and each animal gets individual attention. They keep detailed records on the animals and the expenses involved in running the rescue.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing happily placed dogs in forever homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish that they had room to help more animals!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

We went to the Pet Parade on Oak Lawn on Easter in 2011. Oak Hill Animal Rescue was showing some of their animals that they had for adoption. My husband and my daughter fell in love with this little puppy. I know there were other people wanting to adopt this puppy. We were the first to fill out the application so we were allowed the home visit and were able to adopt the puppy. There was an individual that offered a great deal of money if he would be able to adopt and take the puppy home that day, but the rescue was true to their word that the first application would be served first and then others. I truly respect the way this was handled.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

This organization does a great job with the dogs that they rescue. The dog we adopted, Brady, was brought in as a pretty wild animal with no socialization skills at all. The people at Oak Hill Animal Rescue took care of him medically, gave him lots of the affection that he needed so badly, and even put him through a training class. We picked Brady up after his last training class and he is sooo sweet! I would recommend this organization for any one who is wanting to rescue a dog. They are very thorough and do a home visit before placing their dogs, and they require a recommendation from both your vet and another person who knows how you treat your dogs.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I adopted a dog from this group. The process was easy and fast. I saw him Easter Sunday at Easter in the Park, and I had him a month later. They sent him to school, so I didn't have to give him obedience training. I had him tested for heartworms, and he came back positive. But, they helped me get him treated and assured me he would be okay. Every time I email Bettye she responded in 24 hours. They are deeply committed to rescuing and rehoming all of their animals. I will come to them again for when I adopt again. Billy is the love of my life, and I would never have found him if Oak Hill hadn't rescued him. You will get a great pet from this group!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I received a frantic e-mail from a shelter walker at Irving Animal Services that was looking for someone to rescue a dachshund that was found dragging himself along the highway and could not use his back legs. Bettye and Jim of Oak Hill Animal Rescue came to this baby's rescue and named him Arlo. After having him evaluating and discovering that he had paralysis in his back side, they decided to get him a wheelchair to make his life easier. Our group "Gardere Cares About Animals" took up a collection at our law office and not only raised enough funds to buy Arlo the wheelchair--but also to cover the cost of his heartworm treatment (as he was also found to be heartworm positive). Arlo still lives at Oak Hill and is thriving. Betty and Jim are true angels to the service of animals far and near!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I have been volunteering as a photographer for various animal rescue organizations and have witnessed from the abysmal to well-run groups. The animals at OHAR are clean, socialized, and very well cared for. Because they are in this condition, the photographs are easy to take, therefore (hopefully) boosting the adoption rate. No photographer can make a frightened, filthy dog look good.....only the organization can. OHAR deserves the highest rating possible because they have obviously put in the work to achieve it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The owner informs me if there has been an interest or adoption due, in part, to my photographs

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me feel I could help make a difference in the future of a homeless animal.

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

As a supporter of Oak Hill Animal Rescue I would like express my appreciation to Jim and Bettye Baker for providing an animal rescue of this caliber, supporting the surrounding areas of Sunnyvale, Seagoville, Mesquite, Rockwall, Garland, etc). The hard work and love bestowed on each of these animals is incredible. The average person wouldn’t hold up to one day of their schedule much less 365 days a year. The kennel is well cared for, nutrition and medical needs are always meet along with daily exercise to run off steam and experience the outdoors. These are all important factors in the life of each and every one of these dogs and cats. A weekly adoption program affords each animal the opportunity for a loving family environment that is strictly monitored. Recently Oak Hill Animal Rescue has partnered with Baylor Institute for Rehabilitation to bring disabled dogs to visit rehab patients providing that spark of hope individuals need during challenging times. I would be glad to recommend this rescue to anyone looking to adopt a well cared for pet.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

We looked to adopt a pet for about a year before we found Oak Hill Animal Rescue. They were wonderful to work with and always put the animal's welfare first, as it should be. They are active in the community and take advantage of all programs that will benefit the animals and inform the public of the desperate need for pet adoptions. I would highly recommend Oak Hill Animal Rescue.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a dog to adopt and came across Oak Hill Animal Rescue. This is where we met Jim and Bettye Baker. They are so caring for their animals. My husband and I ended up adopting a little female 6 month old black terrier/lab mix we named Cessna. A few weeks later we went back and adopted her brother whom we named Murphy. Bettye was so helpful through the process and really goes out of her way for her cats and dogs and for the parents looking to adopt. I will ever be so grateful because these two dogs are the best, they were well taken care of and so sweet. Thanks so much Oak Hill!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

The Ohar's run the Oak Hill Animal Rescue Shelter, they are some of the most amazing people we have met. My husband and I walked into an adoption drive they were hosting with no intention of taking a pet home. I however, fell in love with a little grey puppy. We left and said if we came back later and he was still available it was meant to be. We are now the proud owners of a 3 year old, 70lb Doberman/Weimaraner mix named Wilson. Bettye was so amazing during the whole process and really made sure that we were going to be the best home for Wilson. We have kept in touch and take Wilson to visit the Ohar's every couple of months. What they are doing, the amount of time and effort they put in for these animals is truly wonderful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us at our adoption event every Saturday by walking the dogs, keeping them watered and talking to prospective adopters about the great work we do! Volunteer