Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.981135
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
May 13, 2013

more

May 13, 2013

Jim and Bettye Baker are the most special of people, to purchase and build this animal rescue, and take on the rehabilitation of some of the toughest of cases. Through them I found Skippy, my rat terrier mix, who was given a poor prognosis after a large dog attack left him with a punctured lung, and a damaged leg. They cared for him, literally nursing him back to life, and health, and then finding his forever home with us. There is a special place in heaven for these folks.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2013

more

February 8, 2013

I have had our dog for a year now and am astounded by the service and professionalism that Oak Hill provided to our family. They came to our house to introduce Bendie to our other dog and gave us great info on how to best integrate her into the family. These people do amazing work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

I wanted a dog for quite some time, but it took a while to convince my husband to get one. We are both particular so we had to compromise on what we were looking for. Anytime I saw an adoption some where I would look for "the one" to bring home. We checked out Petsmart one day and there was Oak Hill Animal Rescue where I met Bettye and her team. Maple was also there - the pup for us, a German Shepherd mix. I didn't fill out the application that day, but did over the weekend and had it on standby. Unfortunately, we were going out of town the following week so we didn't think it was a good time to get a puppy. A month later, after thinking Maple was long gone, I found her online through Petfinder. I immediately called Oak Hill to make sure she was actually still adoptable and Bettye assured me she was. She told me anything they post on Petfinder is always up to date. I met with Bettye that Saturday at Petsmart, turned in my application, and we set a time for our home visit. Prior to our home visit, Maple had some wounds on her back from her litter mates. Bettye took great care of her while she was still at the rescue shelter and was actually going to keep her longer because she didn't want to give a puppy away in the condition she was in. I loved that Bettye cared so much about Maple to want to keep her until she was all better so that we didn't have to worry about her. I also love the fact that they do home visits because they really are concerned about where the animals are going. Working with Bettye and Oak Hill has been a pleasure. They made the process very easy. AND...we just love our Maple! I'm so glad she was still there :-)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

My husband I and I had just lost our Golden Retriever Jake to old age about a month and a half ago and our hearts and our home have just not been the same. Our daughter Ashley had just been at Petsmart where she seen Keisha. She fell in love with Stella and immediately sent me a text with the pups pictures and her bio and said "Momma she would be PERFECT for you and Daddy". So I talked it over with my hubby and we decided that I should go take a look at her since he was committed to plans and I was free and we didn't want someone else to take her before we had a chance to meet her. Needless to say I grab my Momma and headed in to Rockwall. The minute I rounded the corner inside Petsmart and I seen Keisha, it was LOVE at first sight! They took her out of the kennel and gave us her leash and we took her away from the chaos so we could spend some time with her and realized pretty quickly she was for us. I filled out the application for her and I have to say leaving her there was the hardest thing I had to do in a very long time. But I knew I would be seeing her in a week at her graduation from the PREP Dog Trainging Program. Yesterday she graduated and I am happy to say we are very proud parents of our precious new fur baby! Jim and Bettye are amazing people and explained every step of the process to us and knew every detail about Keisha. Any question we had, they had an answer for. And when they came out to our home they made Keisha's transition so easy on her. But I can tell you it is not just with Keisha that they are so compassionate. I watched them interact with all the dogs and they know the smallest details about all the dogs and love them all. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to add a new fur baby to their home or just looking for a charity to help out. This has been a wonderful experience for us and we are so thankful to our daughter for stopping to look at Keisha and for Jim and Bettye for allowing us to be her furever home. She will be loved always.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

We adopted our new dog Bosley from Oak Hill Animal Rescue. From the first minute I met the representatives from this organization I could tell how much they care about the animals they are adopting out. They knew each animal personally and could tell us so much about their personalities. We looked at several dogs and then my daughter met Bosley and fell in love (and my husband and I fell right behind her). We filled out the application and they came to check out our house before we could adopt him. This really shows that they truly care that their babies are in a safe home where they will be happy. I also love the fact that they give their dogs obedience training while they are at their facility and they use troubled youth to do the obedience training, so it is a benefit to both the children and the dogs. They also make sure each animal has a chip so that if it is ever separated from its new owner it won't become a homeless pet again. I really loved this organization and Bosley has already made a huge impact in our home. We love him and he loves us. I am so happy we get to be his forever home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

Bettye at Oak Hill helped us bring Khloe into our home. Bettye was very helpful and made sure Khloe was going to have a good home. We are so happy with our new family member and would have no problems getting another pet from Oak Hill. Khloe went through their obedience training program and very well behaved....such a great dog!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 24, 2012

more

March 24, 2012

My career calls for me to assist customers with a significant problem - I help them when their payroll software isn't working. To difuse their anxiety, I have a large jar labeled "Profanity for Pups." $1 is due for every cuss word I hear. Three benefit - 1. OHAR.org is supported, 2. my customers enjoy the challenge and 3. I still blush, but I know the animals are cared for. The proceeds are sent monthly - and we always add a little extra.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 2, 2012

more

February 2, 2012

I started doing community service with OHAR and I loved it so much that I continued to work with them for over a year after I had finished up my community service. They are all such nice people and are doing great things to help these animals in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

OHAR is a wonderful organization and Jim and Bettye Baker are wonderful people. We went in to a PetSmart to buy something for our dog. OHAR happened to be there that day and my husband and I decided to just look. We were not really looking to get another dog at the time. Of course Tuffy (now Buster) apparently had other plans. He took one look at me and I was hooked. We ended up taking him home a couple weeks later. Bettye was great to work with in the adoption process. It is very obvious that she and Jim truly care for all the animals they have. Adopting Buster has been one of the best things we have ever done. He has brought so much joy to our lives and we have OHAR to thank for that. We believed in the organization so much, that we volunteered for them for a while untill we moved out of the area. When we are ready to adopt another pet, we may even go back to OHAR, even though we no longer live in the area. We highly recommed OHAR to anyone looking to adopt and dog or cat.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

I moved from Ca. last year. Being involved in animal foster care I was looking for a professionally run organization to join. After looking into other groups and although it is over an hour commute to our Adoption Fairs at PetsMart I selected Oak Hill Animal Rescue. The friendly, knowledgeable, committed, compassionate integrity of Betty and Jim will keep me involved for a very long time. Aside from what was said they step outside of the box and are involved actively with Baylor Hospital with their 2 certified therapy dogs reaching out to critically ill people. Jim and Betty are the total package.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us at our adoption event every Saturday by walking the dogs, keeping them watered and talking to prospective adopters about the great work we do! Volunteer