Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.982145
Write A Review
August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

My daughter and I adopted our cat from Oak Hill Rescue in 2010. Our dog had recently died of old age and we had moved to an apartment. We decided it was time to get another pet. We had only had dogs in the past, but decided a cat would be a good choice since we had no yard.
I had a very
specific request for Jim and Bettye. I wanted a cat with a friendly "dog-like" personality and not reserved as cats can sometimes be. Bettye told me that she would bring the cats that she thought fit what I was looking for.
The next weekend, my daughter and I met Reese, who is now renamed Lucy. Bettye chose perfectly. Lucy greets us at the door when we come home. She generally wants to be in the same room we are in. She "answers" us when we talk to her. We love her more now than we did 3 years ago. I was impressed with the home visit that Bettye made a week after we brought Lucy home. She also called me periodically to make sure that Lucy was adjusting well. She was available by phone or by email to answer questions that I had.
Jim and Bettye are kind and loving. Their hearts are definitely in the work they do. The animals are clean and well taken care of. I appreciate the time they committed to find the perfect pet for us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

We recently found a beautiful terrier/boxer mix from Oak Hill Animal Rescue. We had never heard of the organization before so we did not have any expectations about the organization. Their web site is well laid out and has lots of links to educational information related to adopting/raising dogs and cats. We went to see the dog of interest at the PetSmart in Rockwall and decided to adopt. The volunteers were very helpful and the paper-work was straight forward and not too cumbersome. They did, however, explain that they do not allow same day adoptions so we were slightly disappointed. When Betty Baker came out later with our dog to check out our house and set-up we were impressed with her wonderful way with the dog, enthusiasm for rescue animals, and tremendous knowledge of raising dogs. She had several great suggestions for training and cost effective veterinary services. And she also explained the purpose of waiting at least a day before adopting as some people will change their minds and the wait allows that to happen and avoids having a dog abandoned again. Bettye also told us about her work connecting dogs with at risk youth. Her commitment to community really is second to none.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone Bettye!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2013

more

June 20, 2013

I adopted my baby girl about 5 years ago. She was rescued from the streets of S. Dallas and had puppies. By the time I met her, her puppies were already adopted out. She was shy but sweet. Chula is a healthy girl and very well behaved. She has proven you can teach an old dog new tricks. Her little run is so funny we can't stop laughing. Which...she doesn't seem to mind. The adoption process included a home visit which I really understood. Betty doesn't just go get dogs from the street and show up anywhere charging adoption fees. Chula had been to a vet first to check for worms and get fixed. She was very well cared for and loved immediately. To this day, if I have questions regarding anything animal...Betty is always willing to go out of her way to help me. Ironically no matter how long it's been since she's seen Betty, she always remembers them. I guess she remembers the help and love and care she received from Oak Hill Animal Rescue.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 13, 2013

more

May 13, 2013

Jim and Bettye Baker are the most special of people, to purchase and build this animal rescue, and take on the rehabilitation of some of the toughest of cases. Through them I found Skippy, my rat terrier mix, who was given a poor prognosis after a large dog attack left him with a punctured lung, and a damaged leg. They cared for him, literally nursing him back to life, and health, and then finding his forever home with us. There is a special place in heaven for these folks.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2013

more

February 8, 2013

I have had our dog for a year now and am astounded by the service and professionalism that Oak Hill provided to our family. They came to our house to introduce Bendie to our other dog and gave us great info on how to best integrate her into the family. These people do amazing work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

I wanted a dog for quite some time, but it took a while to convince my husband to get one. We are both particular so we had to compromise on what we were looking for. Anytime I saw an adoption some where I would look for "the one" to bring home. We checked out Petsmart one day and there was Oak Hill Animal Rescue where I met Bettye and her team. Maple was also there - the pup for us, a German Shepherd mix. I didn't fill out the application that day, but did over the weekend and had it on standby. Unfortunately, we were going out of town the following week so we didn't think it was a good time to get a puppy. A month later, after thinking Maple was long gone, I found her online through Petfinder. I immediately called Oak Hill to make sure she was actually still adoptable and Bettye assured me she was. She told me anything they post on Petfinder is always up to date. I met with Bettye that Saturday at Petsmart, turned in my application, and we set a time for our home visit. Prior to our home visit, Maple had some wounds on her back from her litter mates. Bettye took great care of her while she was still at the rescue shelter and was actually going to keep her longer because she didn't want to give a puppy away in the condition she was in. I loved that Bettye cared so much about Maple to want to keep her until she was all better so that we didn't have to worry about her. I also love the fact that they do home visits because they really are concerned about where the animals are going. Working with Bettye and Oak Hill has been a pleasure. They made the process very easy. AND...we just love our Maple! I'm so glad she was still there :-)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

My husband I and I had just lost our Golden Retriever Jake to old age about a month and a half ago and our hearts and our home have just not been the same. Our daughter Ashley had just been at Petsmart where she seen Keisha. She fell in love with Stella and immediately sent me a text with the pups pictures and her bio and said "Momma she would be PERFECT for you and Daddy". So I talked it over with my hubby and we decided that I should go take a look at her since he was committed to plans and I was free and we didn't want someone else to take her before we had a chance to meet her. Needless to say I grab my Momma and headed in to Rockwall. The minute I rounded the corner inside Petsmart and I seen Keisha, it was LOVE at first sight! They took her out of the kennel and gave us her leash and we took her away from the chaos so we could spend some time with her and realized pretty quickly she was for us. I filled out the application for her and I have to say leaving her there was the hardest thing I had to do in a very long time. But I knew I would be seeing her in a week at her graduation from the PREP Dog Trainging Program. Yesterday she graduated and I am happy to say we are very proud parents of our precious new fur baby! Jim and Bettye are amazing people and explained every step of the process to us and knew every detail about Keisha. Any question we had, they had an answer for. And when they came out to our home they made Keisha's transition so easy on her. But I can tell you it is not just with Keisha that they are so compassionate. I watched them interact with all the dogs and they know the smallest details about all the dogs and love them all. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to add a new fur baby to their home or just looking for a charity to help out. This has been a wonderful experience for us and we are so thankful to our daughter for stopping to look at Keisha and for Jim and Bettye for allowing us to be her furever home. She will be loved always.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

We adopted our new dog Bosley from Oak Hill Animal Rescue. From the first minute I met the representatives from this organization I could tell how much they care about the animals they are adopting out. They knew each animal personally and could tell us so much about their personalities. We looked at several dogs and then my daughter met Bosley and fell in love (and my husband and I fell right behind her). We filled out the application and they came to check out our house before we could adopt him. This really shows that they truly care that their babies are in a safe home where they will be happy. I also love the fact that they give their dogs obedience training while they are at their facility and they use troubled youth to do the obedience training, so it is a benefit to both the children and the dogs. They also make sure each animal has a chip so that if it is ever separated from its new owner it won't become a homeless pet again. I really loved this organization and Bosley has already made a huge impact in our home. We love him and he loves us. I am so happy we get to be his forever home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

Bettye at Oak Hill helped us bring Khloe into our home. Bettye was very helpful and made sure Khloe was going to have a good home. We are so happy with our new family member and would have no problems getting another pet from Oak Hill. Khloe went through their obedience training program and very well behaved....such a great dog!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 24, 2012

more

March 24, 2012

My career calls for me to assist customers with a significant problem - I help them when their payroll software isn't working. To difuse their anxiety, I have a large jar labeled "Profanity for Pups." $1 is due for every cuss word I hear. Three benefit - 1. OHAR.org is supported, 2. my customers enjoy the challenge and 3. I still blush, but I know the animals are cared for. The proceeds are sent monthly - and we always add a little extra.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us at our adoption event every Saturday by walking the dogs, keeping them watered and talking to prospective adopters about the great work we do! Volunteer