Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.982145
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
March 7, 2013

more

March 7, 2013

Jim and Bettye are the most dedicated people who work tirelessly to care for the animals. Through Bettye, we found Dixie, a female beagle who was seven when we adopted her. She was a wonderful dog, so loving and sweet, and when she passed away, we adopted Odie through OHAR. Odie is two years old, a male beagle, very playful and loves to cuddle. His life was literally saved by Jim and Bettye from another shelter that doesn't follow the "no-kill" principle, so my husband and I are grateful and happy to give him his "forever home." Oak Hill Animal Rescue is professional, all the animals have their shots, are spayed/neutered, and receive lots of TLC from Jim and Bettye as well as the volunteers. I also volunteered two years ago and only stopped due to moving away from the area; working with everyone was a pleasure!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2014

more

November 20, 2014

I volunteered with Oak Hill Animal Rescue when I lived in Dallas for a summer and I cannot say enough amazing things about this organization. Jim and Bettye are incredible, passionate people with the sweetest hearts...they made me feel so welcome at the adoption events! Their dedication made me want to give more of my time to the organization because I could see what a true difference their work made, for both the animals and the people who adopted them. I wish I still lived in Texas so I could still see their smiling faces unloading the dogs and puppies every Saturday. If you're looking to adopt or looking for some place to spend a spare Saturday, DEFINITELY check out Oak Hill Animal Rescue.
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

Jim and Bettye...there are not enough amazing compliments to sum them up! What they do for these animals is completely fantastic! We rescued one of our furry kids from them, and could not be any more appreciative that they saved him from the streets and gave him a second chance. I could not imagine my life without him.
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

Oak Hill Animal Rescue and Mr. and Mrs. Baker are top notch when it comes to the care and placement of animals. Their concern is to find the right home for the animals; what I mean by "right" is a good fit for the animal and for the adopting family.

Oak Hill offers trial visits, and in
our case, Mrs. Baker drove the prospective dog to our house and stayed with us for about an hour and a half.

They also offer obedience training for dogs and the program utilizes at-risk youth as trainers, all under the supervision of a certified trainer. So not only are the dogs benefiting, so are the youth of our community as well.

I truly cannot say enough good things about Oak Hill and Mr. and Mrs. Baker, their concern for the animals they care for, their commitment to them and towards saving their lives.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 14, 2014

more

September 14, 2014

Thanks to Oak Hill Animal Rescue. Inc Betty Baker for all the good work your staff is just great all volunteers are great I lost 2 of my dogs with-in 2 months was not going to get any more but I had to feel a hole in my heart. Went to breeders to look but could not find the 1 I want, stop by Pet Smart in Rockwall Tx and saw 1 it was a Shih-tzu at first I said no because it was a boy and brindle and I want black and white and female so I talked to Heidi and Betty and then I left got down the road turned around went back got Vinnie he is our life. I know these people care so much about the Animal's you guys are the best. Thanks so much.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

Our first time with "adoption", Oak Hill ensured that we had a great experience! Very professional, kind and loving with the pets, and concerned about them fitting with the family! A Great Organization and one that my husband and I will recommend over and over! We love our new puppy, Bailey and he is already a beloved member of our family! Julie & Tom Pinnell
March 6, 2014

more

March 6, 2014

My name is Cameron and I did have the pleasure of working with Bettye and Maggie in adopting the greatest pup EVER named buddy. it was very easy to work with Bettye in arranging the at home visit so I could meet my future companion and they made full effort to make it happen. I did live about 45 mins away and they had no problem bringing buddy my way. I met Maggie the day she brought him to home and she was a very kind women that truly cared about what she was doing for these animals. Once she left and it was just me and buddy, he was a little nervous but got very comfortbale very quick. His manners were instilled naturally and he had a loving personaltiy that was not forced it is who he naturally is, which truly showed me how much they do care for these pups. I can really say nothing negative about this organazation. I can only rave about it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Oak Hill Animal Rescue is an amazing organization with even more amazing people! Jim & Bettye have the most kind, loving and generous hearts of anyone we have ever met!

We recently adopted our newest member of the family during an adoption event sponsored by Oak Hill at our local
PetsMart in Rockwall, Tx. It was a great experience from beginning to end and Bettye & volunteer, Maggie were just wonderful to work with. What impressed us the most was how much they care for all their animals. They don't let these four-legged kids go home with just any one. Their adoption process is thorough to ensure these pets go to the right people and right homes!

We encourage you to visit their website, and go to PetsMart on Saturdays and meet these wonderful people and if you are serious about adopting a pet, they have amazing dogs & cats who are waiting for you to take them home!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing...give them as much money as I could to support their cause.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 24, 2014

more

February 24, 2014

I recently found a cute little puppy in our neighborhood who my boyfriend and I almost hit while he was running across the street. After searching the neighborhood and asking all around with no luck, I took him to Banfield Pet Hospital to see if he had a chip. The little guy didn't have a collar either and we found out he had no chip. I just happened to be at PetsMart/Banfield when Oakhill Animal Rescue was having an adoption event so I decided to see what they could do to help me. After speaking with one volunteer she referred me to Bettye. I quickly could tell that Bettye and the volunteers were doing this out of complete love for animals and they would take very good care of this little guy and make sure he went to a very safe and loving home. I wish I could have kept him but I already have two dogs and I travel a lot so a puppy was not in my future at the moment, however, I did want him to be safe and to find a safe and loving home. Bettye agreed to take the lil guy and they sent me an update on his progress the next morning. I will be following him on their Facebook page to see when he is adopted and how he is progressing until he finds his forever home. Whether you are a volunteer looking for a great place to volunteer or a donor looking for a great charity to support, I would HIGHLY recommend this rescue. It is clear that they care very deeply about the dogs they rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I thought the process was thorough and reasonably easy. It seems they run this rescue really well and take great care to protect the animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 14, 2013

more

December 14, 2013

They are wonderful to the animals and their new families!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us at our adoption event every Saturday by walking the dogs, keeping them watered and talking to prospective adopters about the great work we do! Volunteer