Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 15, 2012

I volunteered with NYC medics following the Haiti earhquale of January, 2010. I found them to be an excellent organization, well organized and professional in every way. They made our safety a priorit... more

November 10, 2013

I have done overseas medical missions with several different organizations and my experience with NYC medics immediately following the 2010 Haiti earthquake was by far the best experience I have ever had . The organization gets providers on the ground fast after a disaster strikes when the largest contribution to the health of patients can be made. they are flexible and able to adapt on the fly to new situations as they evolve. I would not hesitate to volunteer with them again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get them more funding to increase their potential impact in disaster zones.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered with NYC medics following the Haiti earhquale of January, 2010. I found them to be an excellent organization, well organized and professional in every way. They made our safety a priority and found clinical roles for us which made a significant impact in the port au prince area. I would not hesitate to join them for another disaster response in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I encountered NYC Medics team in kenya in August this year. They conducted training in Life support courses and fire. They also empowered us to continue impacting knowledge to those who need it. This is exactly what we need , the health care personnel in kenya were equipped with knowledge and skills necessary to save life. This will go along way in reducing death, disability and preserving property.It was the only one of its kind. Dealing with disasters after they happen is good but prevention is best! They met and exceeded our expectations. God bless them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them support, they already know what to do and are willing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have the pleasure of witnessing the formation of NYC Medics -- all built on the genuine desire to help those in need - regardless of who they are, where they are, or what they believe. They are a group of truly selfless individuals, who go above and beyond to make a difference in the lives of those going through disastrous events. When I donate to NYC Medics, I am confident my funding will go to those in need and hopefully make a difference--I only wish I could give more!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization does not need any changes...just more funding.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I met NYCMedics in 2006 not long after their first mission in Pakistan and became more involved with the organization during the 2010 Haiti earthquake. I knew I was in for the long haul the moment I saw them in action.

From the compassionate manner in which the medical volunteers cared
for injured survivors to their willingness and ability to partner with small, local or large international organizations – every aspect of their operations far exceeded any and all expectations.

Since Haiti I have taken on a much larger volunteer role with NYCM and am honored to be among such an elite group of humanitarians. Whether giving my time or financial support this organization is and will always be my go to organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fund it. NYCMedics has an uncanny ability to make a little go a long way - I can only imagine what could be achieved with additional financial support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

During the tragic events in Haiti I joined NYC MEDICs as a paramedic. I had heard of their organization before I had joined from multiple members of the organization that had either been on missions before, or had been part of the start of the organization. Though I had never been part of an international relief group, I had in the past been part of other international medical education teams to various countries. My time with NYC MEDICS more than met my expectations of what a medical relief team should be. From the organization of resources both prior to departing (ie arranging supplies and travel) and once on the ground in Haiti, I was amazed at how well the advance team was able to arrange to be connected to the 81st Airbourne of the US Army for security ,as well as all the contacts that were made to help the locals with medications and surgical procedures that were needed. From contacts with the UN ,US Army and WHO,(world health organization) we were able to provide treatment to patients that may have not received care secondary to logistical and security issues that our administration had been able to overcome. I am still a member of the team and will deploy at the drop of a dime when asked ,as I'm sure it will be another amazing experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I’ve heard from those who have worked with NYCM, in the field, that they are dedicated, thorough and incredibly well organised. From deployment to pull-out they ensure that those in need of relief and aid receive it to the highest degree.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I can say from personal experience that this organization is extra ordinary. I have travelled quite a but to do volunteer work, albeit, it was not for disaster relief, I can see organization and mobility a core standard. This was the most efficient team I have ever worked with. We were mobile when we needed to be, we reached areas most others were unable to, and we were able to transport higher acuity patients directly to those who could continue the care.
I have never worked within disaster areas until this team, but I can say from the bottom of my heart I felt like we really made a difference.
I saw patients with open fractures left for days; the team was able to stabilize, treat, and transport from encapsulated communities that no one else was able to penetrate.
I left wanting to find the positive in all the negative around me. And I found it every day working with these people...my team!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

An organization that takes all of the experience and ingenuity of NYC Medics, the best first responders in the business, and transports them directly to the forefront of communities in the worst of circumstances that desperately need the services and wouldn't have access to such highly trained and skilled rescuers under even the best of circumstances. And they work using their minds and whatever limited resources are available.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Better fund them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

NYCMedics is an amazing organization that provides on the ground emergent care for victims of disasters, globally. The organization's greatest strength comes from its people, who are able to deploy within hours and provide truly humanitarian assistance at the highest levels of care possible. The organization integrates with those organizations and systems on the ground to provide the best possible outcomes for those in need, utilizing the least resources possible, and maximizing effectiveness and efficiency while providing the highest quality of care and compassion.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

NYC Medics is a fantastic organization that is willing and able to penetrate deep into disaster zones by any method abalible to provide high quality emergency care to individuals in need. They wil go where others aren't able to go or don't dare to go. If the roads are wiped out from an earthquake, they will pack supply's and hike over rubble and even mountains to access the inaccessible. If the hospitals are destroyed, they will set up field clinics. If the local community is in ruined, the pitch tents and live among the rubble and work tirelessly alto treat many thousands of patients. This all volunteer group is highly trained, mobile and efficient. It has been a great pleasure to be a asociated with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer remotely in a variety of ways from communications and public relations, to special events and fundraising and many other things in between. Whether you are a medical professional who would like to be in the field or a motivated, compassionate person who wants to help in the office, we are always looking for great volunteers! Volunteer