Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.935485
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

Given the rise in single parenthood and the resulting risk for the family with no support systems, financially or emotionally, the nurse-family partnership is an invaluable asset. The best part too is the consistency of the support and care given to the mother early on in her pregnancy and continuing until the child is 2 years of age. The statistics reflect the better outcomes for the mother and baby and hopefully dad too. The incidence of child abuse is decreased significantly with this program. That alone is worth an excellent rating in my view!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue meeting with the family up to age 5 and help set up more of these programs through-out the country.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I am proud to be a part of Nurse Family Partnership. I have been with the program one year and truly believe in the program's ability to encourage first-time mothers to succeed and better their lives, as well as those of their babies. It is individualized to each client and her unique situation and fosters growth in the areas that are meaningful to each client. I am learning as much from the clients as I believe they are learning from the NFP program!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

This program is serving first time, low income mothers. It helps to provide education and resources to help establish a positive bond between the infant and the mother along with promoting helathy living. The pair has the undivided attention from a nurse every one to two weeks in their homes. Clients appreciate this 1:1 attention. I wish this program was availbale to me when I was a first time mother!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Insure that the program was more visible to woman and medical providers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

This program is for women who are having their first baby. The program has been around for over thirty years. It's research based and its success is evidenced by improved pregnancy outcomes, child and health development and economic self sufficiency of the family. Families who participate in the program show less incidence of drug and alcohol abuse, better employment for moms, and better performance in school by the kids. The nationwide program has initiated a program in the second largest school district in the nation, at the Los Angeles Unified School District in which school nurses provide services to first time pregnant teen students.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the program available to all school districts in the nation

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Nurse Family Partnership is a program like no other. NFP provides an invaluable service for first time moms and focuses on all areas of health. NFP nurses do more than make visits to families. NFP nurses stand beside their clients during some of the most difficult times in their lives. NFP nurses walk beside the client on their journey. Every first time mom should have an NFP nurse!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand! Expand! Expand! Make NFP a priority in all communities!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

NFP is a great Nurse Home visiting Program that helps first time moms and stays with the family until the baby turns two years old. They do great work in our community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the number of NFP staff for home visiting in our community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Being on the front lines of Nurse-Family Partnership (NFP) has broadened my view of what makes for a healthy Mom, baby, family and community. An effective program is what makes the difference, one vulnerable family at a time. After 25 years as a maternal child and community health nurse, I have found the NFP practice that merges nursing as an art and a science. That is the key ingredient to creating healthier families within the community. NFP utilizes the science behind randomized controlled trials and emerging data with nursings compassion for others, to deliver the most productive results shown for improving outcomes among low-income, first-time families. Building upon a strong nurse-client relationship paves the way for behavioral changes that become a lifelong measure of individual perseverence. NFP creates opportunity for healthier families which contributes to a healthy community, a thriving state and nation that cares about the future. NFP is not only an effective program, it is essential for assuring strong families for tomorrow (Lisa Dillard, RN, MSN, Texas).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enroll first-time clients at any opportunity to enhance the capacity to serve more families, when the issue of time and eligibility slip by just a few weeks.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I am a Registered Nurse in Columbia County, Oregon. I was trained in NFP in 2009 and worked in Arizona a few months. What a difference NFP makes in the lives of mommies and babies! There is a big need for the intensive visiting schedule NFP uses here in my county!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it available to the entire United States!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have been a nurse for 31 years and working with NFP for one year. The one year I have spent with NFP has been the most meaningful in my career. I can actually apply my knowledge and skills and see the postive impact that I am having on the lives of my clients and the lives of future generations. I have also been exposed to a side of life that I would have never experienced had it not been for this program. Because of this expouser I am more compassionate and more aware of my community. I want to be a part of the solution for those we serve. I feel that I am important and that what I do truely is making a difference in the lives of those we serve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more nurses so we could reach more individuals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

We are bridging the gap at mile high united way. We help foster youth bridge the gap between foster care and adulthood. NFP Denver has been a great friend to our program. A high percentage of foster care alumni become mothers at a very young age. NFP stepped in to partner with BTG and help the young moms in our program. I can tell you NFP has made all the difference to these ladies. Most of our participants grew up in foster care, parenting can be very scary when you were never parented as a child. NFP helps us bridge that gap too and we appreciate it very much.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

To become involved with Nurse-Family Partnership and make a difference, we would appreciate your voice, your advocacy and your willingness to lend time raising funds in support of our mission - through Facebook: www.facebook.com/nursefamilypartnership or Twitter: www.twitter.com/nfp_nursefamily. Consider starting a friends of Nurse-Family Partnership group in your city!