Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.935485
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

My donations go to organizations who have proven to improve the quality of life of those they serve and lower government spending. This is exactly what Nurse-Family Partnership does in America.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

My nurses were experts at what they did. Any question I had they had the answer or helped me get a solution. They helped me with clothes and diapers for my child and assisted me in finding daycare as a new mother. I really enjoyed having this program while I had it but unfortunately they cancelled the program in Far Rockaway and all of Queens, NY without any warning. This happened before Huricane Sandy so it wasn't due to hurricane damage. I don't think it's fair to Queens residents especially residents in Far Rockaway. We have no help out here. This program really helped me in the beginning. I wish they would restore the Far Rockaway program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring back the Far Rockaway/Queens program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

This is one of the most awsome programs out there. The expertise that these specially trained nurses are given enhance the understanding of themselves and their child and children to come in a very special way. I wish this was available to me when I was pregnant and started to take care of my baby. There is no how to book out there when you have a baby but this is the closest thing you will find.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer it to all mothers regardless of income.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I am a Registered Nurse in Columbia County, Oregon. I was trained in NFP in 2009 and worked in Arizona a few months. What a difference NFP makes in the lives of mommies and babies! There is a big need for the intensive visiting schedule NFP uses here in my county!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it available to the entire United States!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

We were looking for charities to support that had proven success and constantly evaluated their work to ensure effective help for families. NFP was it for us.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have been a nurse for 31 years and working with NFP for one year. The one year I have spent with NFP has been the most meaningful in my career. I can actually apply my knowledge and skills and see the postive impact that I am having on the lives of my clients and the lives of future generations. I have also been exposed to a side of life that I would have never experienced had it not been for this program. Because of this expouser I am more compassionate and more aware of my community. I want to be a part of the solution for those we serve. I feel that I am important and that what I do truely is making a difference in the lives of those we serve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more nurses so we could reach more individuals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I've worked with this program for 2 years. It's awesome and it has made a difference in many lives. It's a life changing program that's needed here in Louisiana. It doesn't replace your regular Doctor's , it contributes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

We are bridging the gap at mile high united way. We help foster youth bridge the gap between foster care and adulthood. NFP Denver has been a great friend to our program. A high percentage of foster care alumni become mothers at a very young age. NFP stepped in to partner with BTG and help the young moms in our program. I can tell you NFP has made all the difference to these ladies. Most of our participants grew up in foster care, parenting can be very scary when you were never parented as a child. NFP helps us bridge that gap too and we appreciate it very much.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

As a concerned citizen, I’ve long been aware of the devastating negative effects of poverty on the psychosocial wellbeing of a person’s life. But also as a psychotherapist in practice for over 30 years, I’ve become particularly aware of the impact of the early environment on a child’s emotional and intellectual development. Recent research has confirmed that the architecture of an infant’s brain begins important formation in the womb and in the early years of a child’s life. (http://developingchild.harvard.edu/). How can every child, even those without resources, reach his or her full potential? What could I do to help?

In 2006, I read an article in The New Yorker called “Swamp Nurse”. It described how Nurse-Family Partnership (NFP) offered to low-income first-time mothers in Louisiana an opportunity to work with a specially trained nurse home visitor from early in her pregnancy until the child’s second birthday. Beginning in the early 1970s, Dr. David Olds initiated the development of a nurse home visitation program for first-time mothers and their children. Over the next three decades, he and his colleagues continued to test the program in three separate, randomized, controlled trials with three different populations in Elmira, New York, Memphis, Tennessee and Denver, Colorado before the program was offered for replication. Dr. Olds and his research team documented evidenced-based outcomes that demonstrated how the relationship between the new mother and her nurse measurably improved long-term the lives of the at-risk moms and children. Today, there are NFP programs in 40 states, and Dr. Olds continues his longitudinal research from the trials, which continue to demonstrate positive impacts decades later.

I was impressed and three years ago, approached Nurse-Family Partnership about setting up a site in Eastern Long Island where I live part-time. The passion, intelligence and efficacy of the staff are extraordinary and some day, a NFP site may exist there. Meanwhile, I have become acquainted with the dedicated work of New York City Nurse-Family Partnership, which is sponsored by the NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, and have been invited to serve on their Community Advisory Board. One of the NYC NFP sites, the Targeted Citywide Initiative, provides a nurse and a mental health clinician for teens in foster care, women living in homeless shelters, and incarcerated women incarcerated women at Riker’s Island Correctional Facility. These young parents have the opportunity to meet monthly as a group with their NFP team.

Nurse-Family Partnership is an intervention that provides a first-time at-risk pregnant woman with the tools to help her build her own life as well as a positive relationship with her child. The changes brought about by the relationship of the new mother with her nurse are intergenerational! I feel passionate about how NFP makes a difference in the lives of our most vulnerable youngsters and has the potential to begin to interrupt the cycle of poverty. It needs our support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I was so impressed by the impact that the Nurse-Family Partnership model has in improving young children's health, early learning, and general well-being, in addition to parents' economic development and sense of self-worth, that I am pursuing nursing school specifically in order to join this movement. // I worked with one of the nurse home visitors on an infant and toddler brief for policymakers in Colorado. She entered the home visiting field with interests in maternal/child health but the NFP model had given her such a holistic way to think about supporting families of young children through policy, and her thoughtfulness massively enriched our work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would encourage the implementing agencies to use the Nurse-Family Partnership careers page as a central clearinghouse for job opportunity information. I think that some of the agencies do recruiting for their positions directly and do not post on the NFP main site, which would be helpful for people seeking to join in their work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I collaborated with a Nurse-Family Partnership nurse home visitor on an infant and toddler policy brief, and also heard about NFP during a presentation on home visiting by a representative from Invest In Kids. I have noticed several mainstream media outlets such as the NY Times extolling the virtues of this program, and looked more into the research via The Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy. In short, I don't know exactly when I first heard about NFP (perhaps when it was first a GiveWell top-rated charity) but the more research I read about it and the more personal stories I hear, I become more dedicated to pursuing a career as a NFP nurse home visitor.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

To become involved with Nurse-Family Partnership and make a difference, we would appreciate your voice, your advocacy and your willingness to lend time raising funds in support of our mission - through Facebook: www.facebook.com/nursefamilypartnership or Twitter: www.twitter.com/nfp_nursefamily. Consider starting a friends of Nurse-Family Partnership group in your city!