Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.944445
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

This program is serving first time, low income mothers. It helps to provide education and resources to help establish a positive bond between the infant and the mother along with promoting helathy living. The pair has the undivided attention from a nurse every one to two weeks in their homes. Clients appreciate this 1:1 attention. I wish this program was availbale to me when I was a first time mother!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Insure that the program was more visible to woman and medical providers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

This program is for women who are having their first baby. The program has been around for over thirty years. It's research based and its success is evidenced by improved pregnancy outcomes, child and health development and economic self sufficiency of the family. Families who participate in the program show less incidence of drug and alcohol abuse, better employment for moms, and better performance in school by the kids. The nationwide program has initiated a program in the second largest school district in the nation, at the Los Angeles Unified School District in which school nurses provide services to first time pregnant teen students.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the program available to all school districts in the nation

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Nurse Family Partnership is a program like no other. NFP provides an invaluable service for first time moms and focuses on all areas of health. NFP nurses do more than make visits to families. NFP nurses stand beside their clients during some of the most difficult times in their lives. NFP nurses walk beside the client on their journey. Every first time mom should have an NFP nurse!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand! Expand! Expand! Make NFP a priority in all communities!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

NFP is a great Nurse Home visiting Program that helps first time moms and stays with the family until the baby turns two years old. They do great work in our community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the number of NFP staff for home visiting in our community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Being on the front lines of Nurse-Family Partnership (NFP) has broadened my view of what makes for a healthy Mom, baby, family and community. An effective program is what makes the difference, one vulnerable family at a time. After 25 years as a maternal child and community health nurse, I have found the NFP practice that merges nursing as an art and a science. That is the key ingredient to creating healthier families within the community. NFP utilizes the science behind randomized controlled trials and emerging data with nursings compassion for others, to deliver the most productive results shown for improving outcomes among low-income, first-time families. Building upon a strong nurse-client relationship paves the way for behavioral changes that become a lifelong measure of individual perseverence. NFP creates opportunity for healthier families which contributes to a healthy community, a thriving state and nation that cares about the future. NFP is not only an effective program, it is essential for assuring strong families for tomorrow (Lisa Dillard, RN, MSN, Texas).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enroll first-time clients at any opportunity to enhance the capacity to serve more families, when the issue of time and eligibility slip by just a few weeks.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

My donations go to organizations who have proven to improve the quality of life of those they serve and lower government spending. This is exactly what Nurse-Family Partnership does in America.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

My nurses were experts at what they did. Any question I had they had the answer or helped me get a solution. They helped me with clothes and diapers for my child and assisted me in finding daycare as a new mother. I really enjoyed having this program while I had it but unfortunately they cancelled the program in Far Rockaway and all of Queens, NY without any warning. This happened before Huricane Sandy so it wasn't due to hurricane damage. I don't think it's fair to Queens residents especially residents in Far Rockaway. We have no help out here. This program really helped me in the beginning. I wish they would restore the Far Rockaway program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring back the Far Rockaway/Queens program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

This is one of the most awsome programs out there. The expertise that these specially trained nurses are given enhance the understanding of themselves and their child and children to come in a very special way. I wish this was available to me when I was pregnant and started to take care of my baby. There is no how to book out there when you have a baby but this is the closest thing you will find.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer it to all mothers regardless of income.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I am a Registered Nurse in Columbia County, Oregon. I was trained in NFP in 2009 and worked in Arizona a few months. What a difference NFP makes in the lives of mommies and babies! There is a big need for the intensive visiting schedule NFP uses here in my county!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it available to the entire United States!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

We were looking for charities to support that had proven success and constantly evaluated their work to ensure effective help for families. NFP was it for us.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

To become involved with Nurse-Family Partnership and make a difference, we would appreciate your voice, your advocacy and your willingness to lend time raising funds in support of our mission - through Facebook: www.facebook.com/nursefamilypartnership or Twitter: www.twitter.com/nfp_nursefamily. Consider starting a friends of Nurse-Family Partnership group in your city!