Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.942865
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

The work that the Nurse Family Partnership does has the potential to stop the cycle of poverty.
Nurses help at-risk moms learn how to mother. Rigorous studies have shown that their babies suffer less neglect; they grow up stronger, more prepared for school, more ready to succeed in life. See
what Nicholas Kristof has to say about NFP in this New York Times article called "The Way to Beat Poverty": http://www.nytimes.com/2014/09/14/opinion/sunday/nicholas-kristof-the-way-to-beat-poverty.html?_r=1#story-continues-1
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

This is an organization which truly shapes the future--both for babies and for our country. A simple idea delivered by a well-run organization.
September 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first met the nurses of Nurse-Family Partnership when they volunteered to speak with the parents attending the Family Place program at the Easton Area Public Library in Pennsylvania. I loved that they sat right down on the floor and were willing to chat with the parents of babies and toddlers about any topic that came up. As I learned about their program, I was even more impressed. As a children's librarian, I received training in the stages of infant brain development and came to understand that the very first months and years of a child's life are critical in the connection of neurons for learning and social skills. I believe that the intervention provided by Nurse-Family Partnership has the best chance to break the cycle of failure and poverty of all of the many social and medical programs available. I donate as much as I am able every year. These nurses are my heroes.
September 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Nurse-Family Partnership is an evidence-based program that empowers first-time mothers to succeed. I have had the great privilege of working as a Registered Nurse in this program through the YWCA of Metropolitan Dallas for six years. Being a part of this program and getting to walk through pregnancy and new motherhood with young women in my community is extremely fulfilling. NFP focuses on improving pregnancy outcomes, improving the health and development of the child, and helping families move toward self-sufficiency. Every community needs this program! It truly does change lives and has a long-lasting effect on the overall health and well-being of the community.
October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

Nurse Family Partnership has been a great help to me. They help teen moms get ready and prepare for the new beginning as a first time mom, they talk to you, give you advise on what to exect as a new mommy. Having someone that I can talk to and express I felt during my pregnancy was really awesome! I got to learn many things I did not know about and I really felt the guide. Best of all, they are very supportive nd friendly.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I was one of the original " teen moms " that helped pilot the program. I was seventeen and pregnant with my first child. Because of their support and counciling, I sought prenatal care and learned about breast feeding . I stayed in school and felt so encouraged I waited eight years to have another baby. I waited because I wanted to be just like the great nurses who cared for me and my daughter. They gave me a chance to dream and taught me I didn't have to be a statistic . I graduated from collage in the top ten of my nursing class with my BSN. I am now a labor, delivery, and postpartum nurse getting to teach young mothers the same encouraging messages I was taught and give them the same nonjudgmental support I received. As a result Of nurse family partnership I am the successful married employed mother of five beautiful children I am today.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it nation wide

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

Given the rise in single parenthood and the resulting risk for the family with no support systems, financially or emotionally, the nurse-family partnership is an invaluable asset. The best part too is the consistency of the support and care given to the mother early on in her pregnancy and continuing until the child is 2 years of age. The statistics reflect the better outcomes for the mother and baby and hopefully dad too. The incidence of child abuse is decreased significantly with this program. That alone is worth an excellent rating in my view!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue meeting with the family up to age 5 and help set up more of these programs through-out the country.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Nurse-Family Partnership saves the young mother by teaching her how to mother. It saves the child because now the child can be nurtured and saves the future child of that child because the cycle is broken. Study after study shows that getting in there when the child is young will change the course of that child's life. Essentially giving them a life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I am proud to be a part of Nurse Family Partnership. I have been with the program one year and truly believe in the program's ability to encourage first-time mothers to succeed and better their lives, as well as those of their babies. It is individualized to each client and her unique situation and fosters growth in the areas that are meaningful to each client. I am learning as much from the clients as I believe they are learning from the NFP program!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

This program is serving first time, low income mothers. It helps to provide education and resources to help establish a positive bond between the infant and the mother along with promoting helathy living. The pair has the undivided attention from a nurse every one to two weeks in their homes. Clients appreciate this 1:1 attention. I wish this program was availbale to me when I was a first time mother!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Insure that the program was more visible to woman and medical providers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

To become involved with Nurse-Family Partnership and make a difference, we would appreciate your voice, your advocacy and your willingness to lend time raising funds in support of our mission - through Facebook: www.facebook.com/nursefamilypartnership or Twitter: www.twitter.com/nfp_nursefamily. Consider starting a friends of Nurse-Family Partnership group in your city!