Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.886365
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

First off I want to say that I loved working with Novo. My co-workers became like family along with the children who we built relationships with. I served at Novo as a Program Assistant for one year (May 2012 to May 2013). During the Summer months we did non-stop Day Camps which included fun, games, Bible teachings, and water! Summer is a very busy time, but very rewarding. You get to teach and mentor boys and girls by teaching them God's Word. Novo helps boys and girls to understand why they are receiving discipline and will talk individually with anyone to help correct wrong behavior by pointing to scripture. The school months are specialized to specific programming sites. It was there that more personal relationships were formed and that you could see more change in the children's lives.
The office atmosphere is very encouraging. Personal growth and development is a major focus for Novo's employees. There are many opportunities to grow with this organization. My teaching skills greatly increased, along with being able to relate to children more. I developed a deeper prayer life and more of a passion for kids.
There will be some days at programming sites that will be hard and discouraging, but it is a fight that is worth fighting for. You will have a work family that will pray for you and help you when you are having trouble teaching, relating to the kids, or anything you struggle with so that you will be better prepared. You can grow in your strengths and weaknesses. Your talents will be used to their fullest potential at Novo; specifically office work. I enjoy being organized and doing human resource type work. Novo realized that talent and I was used to do what I did best.
I highly suggest volunteering or working for Novo Ministries. God will change your life and the lives of others if you invest your time and efforts into this ministry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire more men. Male role models are very important for the older children. Sadly not enough men seek non profit / social work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

NOVO ministries is one of the premiear non-profits in our community making a difference in the lives of thousands of people in our community. NOVO did a segment of our staff training for Shiooh Camp this year and Valerie and her team did a fantastic job. In turn, we were better able to fullfill our mission of Transforming our inner city with the love of Jesus through sports, arts and meaningful relationships. Jay, Valerie and team NOVO are humble servants looking for the greater good of those in need. Keep going! You are doing a great job!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 6, 2012

more

July 6, 2012

Novo is innovative, postively aggressive, purpose driven, and an incredible gift to Oklahoma City.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I've worked with a number of non-profits and ministries in the last 15 years. This ministry goes beyond expectations in assisting it's team of volunteers and staff in accomplishing it's given mission. It provides a number of resources that most non-profits dream of (specified training, strategic planning, hands on resources, consultation, supplies, and more) at no financial cost to the volunteer. The ministry provides the content and resources, while the volunteer provides the time and relationship building abilities. I was initially drawn to it because it doesn't just throw the leaders into the field unprepared. It requires and aids in preparation so the children receive quality interaction rather than just quantity interaction.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

It requires a lot out of it's teammates, but provides the resources and help to make it possible to do what needs to be done. It's very intentional about its purpose and its mission.

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

The work of NOVO Ministries is unparalleled in the Oklahoma City area! They are diligently serving a population of children facing dire situations and giving them hope. I believe young lives will reverse destructive cycles and change families within our community because of their dedicated program.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

Our organization, Girl Scouts of Western Oklahoma, partners with Novo Ministries to serve children, especially girls, who live in public housing apartments in the Oklahoma City area. Like most non profits, we are always in need of more staff and more volunteers. Thankfully, Novo staff members step in to assist in facilitating Girl Scout programming within the sites they already serve. It is a great partnership for us, but most importantly, the girls. It is important for the girls to be familiarized with their leaders so they are open and confident in sharing their thoughts and opinions and participating in activities. The Novo staff are very knowledgeable about the inner city and the statistics children and families face here in Oklahoma City. Each staff member is highly professional and passionate about their job. It is a pleasure working with them!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers