Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.886365
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

I was introduced to Novo thru listening to a simple commercial on a radio station in 2011. I was hesitant to get involved me / kids... no way. I have very little contact with children especially the younger ones. Also you hear stories of some ministries that lack structure or accountability. God worked on my heart, and I made that call to start the process to become a volunteer. At the training day I found out that this is an organization that HAS structure and accountability but still allows the works of God in childrens lives. I now not only volunteer with Novo Ministries but I work with Valerie Sherrer with my churches Mission board.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more volunteers!!!! more clubs!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

They gave me the confidence to work with these precious children! Also as tired as I am sometimes by the end of a club I always have a good feeling.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

AWESOME

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

NOVO is amazing. The preparation and training they do to minister to little kids is unbelievable. The heart of the staff shows through in the quality of the program they conduct. Working with the kids at Tulakes is the hardest thing I've ever done but so worth every minute because I know that NOVO is putting it all on the line and my part is to just show up.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

Our organization, Girl Scouts of Western Oklahoma, partners with Novo Ministries to serve children, especially girls, who live in public housing apartments in the Oklahoma City area. Like most non profits, we are always in need of more staff and more volunteers. Thankfully, Novo staff members step in to assist in facilitating Girl Scout programming within the sites they already serve. It is a great partnership for us, but most importantly, the girls. It is important for the girls to be familiarized with their leaders so they are open and confident in sharing their thoughts and opinions and participating in activities. The Novo staff are very knowledgeable about the inner city and the statistics children and families face here in Oklahoma City. Each staff member is highly professional and passionate about their job. It is a pleasure working with them!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

My wife and I got involved in NOVO as volunteers because we saw the impact they were having on inner city children. We could see their heart and their strategy were working. My wife served as a bible club leader with our children as her assistants. As a Pastor I saw the value of the families of our church also getting involved as volunteers. As a result many of the children that we started teaching through NOVO are now attending our church. I have been able to get to know these children and see first hand the change that is being made in their lives. They come from some of the worst environments but they are finding hope through the love they are receiving and what they are being taught.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

Novo Ministries helps me connect and serve young kids in the inner-city of Oklahoma City. Through their planning, prayer, training, and encouragement, I can serve alongside other volunteers and staff to love on some kids that do not get a lot of attention at home sometimes. I get to teach them about the love, justice, and hope we can all have in Jesus Christ through what He did in giving up His life to take the punishment for our sins and rising again, giving us hope for our eternal communion with Him after this life. The power and work of Jesus Christ is the foundation and empowerment for the mission that they are on to reach kids with the gospel in order to impact the community in an immensely powerful way. The little children that I have been working with, through Novo, for over a year have shown such sweet reception to our presence and continued interest in their lives that it has transformed and softened my heart towards them and other children who have needs, who just want and need attention, and who desperately crave to understand what life is about even in the midst of strife, turmoil, and craziness. Novo is so easy to work with also! They make it so easy to get plugged in to serving that it seems like you do not have to do much work yourself. Their impact on children, families, and the communities is worth recognizing and praising and I hope their work will continue to grow!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

It is a great organization. Great way to minster to kids who do not have a normal home life. Teaching them about God.That God loves them. Presenting the gospel to them so they can a relation with Him. That made them and for a purpose. I want them to know that they can rise above their circumstances. They need to be loved on and show god's love.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 16, 2009

I simply do not have words to illustrate the beauty of watching Novo ministries love and share the Good News with children who badly need such in their lives. more

June 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a board member of Novo Ministry as well as a principal of a public school which hosts this ministry on a weekly basis, it has been a thrill to witness the transformation of lives of children with little hope to lives of great promise. To be succinct, I have seen countless young people evolve right in front of my very own eyes. They have gone from youngsters that consistently make poor choices to being more responsible and Godly. Novo is led by people of great faith and chracter and the ministry is simply an amazing difference maker!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2009

I simply do not have words to illustrate the beauty of watching Novo ministries love and share the Good News with children who badly need such in their lives.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My school and community.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Their genuineness.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Make an amazing difference in our city, state and nation.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

Novo Ministries Incorporated, since its inception, has sought to take Jesus to children who may not otherwise have the opportunity to meet Him. The ministry of the volunteers is invaluable to the children they reach. For a child to know that each week Bible Club is meeting, brings a sense of continuity and security in his or her life. Novo Ministries provides an opportunity to change the lives of children in circumstances that are often dismal and destructive. A weekly meeting with the same volunteers, a foundational lesson of truth, games, and numerous hugs are the integral components of the success of Novo Ministries Incorporated.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My name is JaCobi Winslett, I am 16 years old, and I attended Novo Ministries Bible Clubs as a child. If I am remembering correctly, I attended the program for at least two consecutive years, as well as their summer camp program at that time. Novo really was, and is a life-changing program to the young boys and girls that attend. I was introduced to Christ, in a way that I never had been previously. The things I learned at Bible Club, has stuck with me in my Christian journey as I grow older. I am very grateful for this program, because I realize how impacting it was on my own life. Because of the way Novo helped me, I felt led to go back and volunteer, and give back to the inner-city boys and girls, just as was done for me.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In my very own life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Elementary School

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

Weekly Bible Clubs for inner city children at their location-great ministry to children and their families with emphasis on evangelism and building character and hope in their lives. My wife and I volunteer at an inner city Bible Club and have seen the impact it has on their lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers