Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.886365
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

First off I want to say that I loved working with Novo. My co-workers became like family along with the children who we built relationships with. I served at Novo as a Program Assistant for one year (May 2012 to May 2013). During the Summer months we did non-stop Day Camps which included fun, games, Bible teachings, and water! Summer is a very busy time, but very rewarding. You get to teach and mentor boys and girls by teaching them God's Word. Novo helps boys and girls to understand why they are receiving discipline and will talk individually with anyone to help correct wrong behavior by pointing to scripture. The school months are specialized to specific programming sites. It was there that more personal relationships were formed and that you could see more change in the children's lives.
The office atmosphere is very encouraging. Personal growth and development is a major focus for Novo's employees. There are many opportunities to grow with this organization. My teaching skills greatly increased, along with being able to relate to children more. I developed a deeper prayer life and more of a passion for kids.
There will be some days at programming sites that will be hard and discouraging, but it is a fight that is worth fighting for. You will have a work family that will pray for you and help you when you are having trouble teaching, relating to the kids, or anything you struggle with so that you will be better prepared. You can grow in your strengths and weaknesses. Your talents will be used to their fullest potential at Novo; specifically office work. I enjoy being organized and doing human resource type work. Novo realized that talent and I was used to do what I did best.
I highly suggest volunteering or working for Novo Ministries. God will change your life and the lives of others if you invest your time and efforts into this ministry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire more men. Male role models are very important for the older children. Sadly not enough men seek non profit / social work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Novo Ministries changed my life. I began volunteering in 2010 at a Day Camp. The kiddos just melt your heart. Being able to share Christ and love on children that need it in Oklahoma City's inner city is an awesome experience. I would highly recommend Novo Ministries to anyone that has a passion for sharing Jesus and loving on children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I first volunteered with NOVO in 2011. Since then I have volunteered several other times at day camps and summer programs. My most recent experience was in August of 2013. Every time I volunteer with NOVO I have had opportunities to get close with one or more of the children. Whether the children had questions about the gospel, or they didn't understand some of the rules in place (like remaining seated in large group), there were plenty of opportunities to show them you cared about them. The professional nature of NOVO truly enabled me to care for the children in this way. The lesson plans tackled big issues in a very simple-to-understand way, the props were always clean and in good order, and the staff was knowledgeable and trained to deal with a wide range of issues.
I could not be more impressed with NOVO as an organization, and am truly blessed and excited about NOVO's mission. Bringing the gospel to inner city children while connecting them with Christian churches makes me want to celebrate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I am proud to recommend NOVO Ministries in the OKC area to anyone who is looking to invest in the cause of spreading the gospel of Christ to inner-city children, The workers who go into the apartment houses to tell Bible stories, sing Bible songs and minister to children are some of the best young people. I personally know two of them.
I purchased story books of Bible characters/happenings and send them to NOVO via my son's roommates. I wish I didn't live three hours away , or else I would do more.
I teach school. I hopefully will get to go volunteer some next summer.
Mrs. Jennifer Kilgore
Braggs, OK.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Quadruple its funding

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

As a ministry, they do a great job taking care of their staff's needs, providing space and opportunity to do the behind the scenes work necessary before going out to work with the children. It has been good to see how they use finances and donations to better equip their leadership team in order to lead the volunteer groups successfully.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013


Novo goes where most organizations won't. They go to the rough
neighborhoods and the tough schools and improve the outlook of the children.
They try to instill structure, discipline with a positive purpose. I have
dealt with many of the children in large group, small groups
and
individually. The children react in a positive way to the investment being
made in their lives. I wish other large cities had a group like Novo with a
city that partners with them. Greg Hallett

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Strategically I wouldn't make any changes. More technology could be used tactically.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I started helping with NOVO about 5 years ago. It is such a great way to help our children in the community to feel loved and special and to learn about how much God loves them. I love working with the children and seeing how they grow and how they want to be a NOVO volunteer when they are old enough to help. Their smiles and hugs are such a blessing to me. It is a great mission field here in our state!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

Novo has given these kids something to look forward to each week. It is so wonderful to see how these kids just light up and get so excited when we arrive on Thursdays for bible club. I went through training just to see what it was like, both my daughter and son were volunteering. After going through the training I volunteered at the Forrest Creek location only because they were short handed, I believed it would just be temporary, until other volunteers were available. This was going on 3 years ago. My group is 9-12 year old boys and there are a few of them that have been with me the entire time. I'm amazed at the impact these kids have had on my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Novo Ministries is a wonderful non-profit ministry which helps kids to learn about the bible, and have a great time in a good, safe environment. They are reaching the children who are really needing to be reached out to in the communities, the more vulnerable ones. The staff truly do care and there is a lot of time and preparation(and love) put into each lesson. I am happy to be a part of the hands and feet of Jesus with Novo Ministries!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Novo Bible Clubs has reached deep into my heart these last 4 years. We have developed relationships with numerous children and their mothers. We have seen them grow and mature and show great eagerness to hear God's Truth weekly. They hear that God loves them and has good plans for them. I will tell of one young lady who was a part of an overnight stay at my house with activities such as Zumba, crafts and swimming at my girlfriend's home, a library visit, a trip to Marble Slab and Taco Bueno, and several meals at my house prepared by the kids themselves: grilling, setting the table and doing dishes! This young lady was so tired she fell asleep before dinner. She had waited up for her mom to come home from her boyfriend's home until 4:15am! She graduated from Bible Club and I saw her recently. With being left at home so much while her mom pursues relationships with other men, I was very concerned about her. She is doing great! She is studying to be a chef at Francis Tuttle. She is involved at church and making good decisions! I believe this is in part to NOVO! We were there for her for years. She learned to trust and obey God, that He is Holy and desires for us to be holy as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add some sort of tutoring element. Some struggle so much with reading that they lose their attention so quickly. Reading the Bible together on another day other than Bible club. I have given some children the curriculum book so that the could read it slower and in depth. I have never gotten to do all I have intended to do in my small groups!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers