Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
1234.3755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 14, 2012

Hope's Door saved me and my children from a terrible situation at home. My counselors gave me the strength, know-how and fortitude to make a change and feel good about myself. I was empowered by all that I learned about Domestic Violence, and it gave me the knowledge to do the right thing for my family. We are happy and safe. Thank you Hope's Door for all you've done for me!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 7, 2012

Hope's Door does an extremely good job serving victims of domestic violence. Their staff is excellent - very dedicated and very professional.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

In July 2011 I was referred to Hope's Door for help with domestic violence. I knew that I was experiencing DV but I was in strong denial about the extent of danger I had been living in for years. I couldn't believe that domestic violence was something I was experiencing because it wasn't my personality but Hope's Door helped me to understand there is no race, religion or economic background that is immune to this situation. CarlLa Horton helped me to walk through my shame and embarrassment so that I could begin facing the facts. Once I was able to accept what was really happening in my home and the danger that my kids and I were in, Hope's Door was there for me as I developed a safety plan. They were available to meet with me during the most dangerous time of a domestic violence relationship, the exit period. In my situation I had family in another state that came and helped me to relocate safely. CarlLa Horton called me throughout that period offering support and asking if Hope's Door could meet any other needs I might have had during that move. Moving to another state was not the only option provided by Hope's Door, we spent a lot of time going over different possibilities but at the end of the day leaving the state was the best for me and my situation. In the first few months in my new home I was devastated and emotionally exhausted and again, over 3,000 miles away Hope's Door stepped in to help and provided me with documentation that enabled me to get unemployment for a couple months until I found a new job. They also provided me with local domestic violence support group information and insisted I begin to work through the pain of this experience to achieve healing and inspire hope. With CarlLa Horton's unconditional acceptance of me and her validation of my experience and heartbrokenness she sparked hope in me that eventually turned into confidence in my ability to love myself and my children enough to take us out of a dangerous situation that was destroying us. Hope's Door genuinely fulfills their mission to seek an end to domestic violence and to empower victims to achieve safety, independence, and healing from the trauma of abuse. CarlLa still checks on me periodically reassuring me that whenever I need the hand of support to hold me up I need only to reach out and grab it. Thank you Hope's Door for all you have done to help me get a new start to a much brighter future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a regular volunteer for many years. I am president of interfaith Caring Community which sponsors a barbecue every June, donates presents for Christmas , Valentines Day and Mothers day, birthday boxes for kids parties, food on a regular basis and I have Halloween party at my home every year for present and former residents. My foster daughter Natasha was a client. I visit weekly. I help many women who have moved from the shelter. The staff is dedicated and caring under difficult circumstances. I know and like them all. Wonderful and kind people! I have never heard a complaint. At the barbecue and Halloween party we have many former clients who return and socialize.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
October 25, 2012

Hope's Door not only helps victims of domestic abuse today but also works with thousands of teens each year to break the inter-generational cycle of abuse. If you want to help end dating abuse and domestic violence, Hope's Door is a good place to start.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

When I first went to Hopes door, I was completely destitute. I was alone in strange city, utterly depressed and without a job, money, family or friends. One would wonder how I'd gotten myself in this situation in the first place, but lets chalk it up to a series of unfortunate events and a bad case of domestic violence. At Hopes Door, I found hope. No its wasn't easy and there were times when I felt like the hole I was in was getting deeper. But I had a shelter, food and someone who understood. I had support and someone to help me navigate the legal and social policy quagmire that comes with the system. And I had advice. However what was truly life changing was the compassion showed me by the staff at both the shelter and the main office. While I was a client, I was given the opportunity to volunteer at the office, stuffing envelopes, making photocopies and babysitting. It took my mind off the daily bleakness and exposed me to some of the most wonderful people I have ever met. Andrea. Penny, Carla, Kathleen, Liz, CC, Lizbeth and my counselor Gay are among the most influential people in getting me where I am today. They pushed me to think, to stand on my own to feet, to seek help , and to learn to help myself too. They hugged me, and fed me and told me off when I needed it. One day I crashed my car and the first number I called was the shelter hotline, Penny was there in 15 minutes. And this was 2 years after I had left the shelter! They gave me the tools I need to navigate my life professionally and inter-personally. I remember those lessons to this day and use them in my work as an RN, as a friend, as a mentor, as a daughter and as a significant other. They showed me that I was a person, that I had value, and that I was special. And even after I have been on my own for 5 years, they still call me, check up on me, and take me to dinner and the movies when I am in town. Almost everyone I encountered at Hopes door, remains a significant part of my life today. I know that without Hopes Door, people like me, wouldn't stand a chance at a decent future, perhaps not even a future. Today I am smiling as I write this, on my couch, in my scrubs, in my own flat. 5 years ago, as I sat in my counselors office crying my heart out, I could never have imagined that today I would be who I am where I am. If I had three entities to thank for today, for my life, Hopes Door would be one of them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

Hope’s Door has saved my sanity and possibly my life!
For approximately 3 years I have received counseling sessions and attended several group sessions, primarily with the Director of Counseling.
I received a lot of help understanding the issues of domestic violence. There were many
emergencies when I needed to speak with someone right away. My counselor was always available to meet or talk on the phone. When I was rattled and in distress, she would calmly dissect the issue, understand what was happening, make plans to help solving the issue, and often called for outside advice when necessary (legal help, other organizations).
The group sessions were based on understanding, learning more about domestic violence, what steps to take for one’s safety and how to move on in life. The first session started with an introduction to each group member. We, the group, understood what was spoken in-group stayed in-group. Repeatedly, I was amazed how similar other women’s situations in-group were. This gave me also a good understanding that I am not the only one facing the horror of domestic violence. Each person would think of one goal for a positive life change and each week there was an emphasis on reaching that goal, plus other helpful issues about life and domestic violence.
Hope’s Door invited speakers; specialists who had an understanding about domestic violence. I remember following speakers: An attorney from the Women’s Justice Center (Pace Law School), an excellent child therapist to whom I went later for a few session for private counseling, free classes in physical self-defense that had a strong emphasis on mental empowering, and others.
The Christmas parties were well organized and very sweet. The staff worked for weeks collecting lists, communicating with people in the community who gave gifts, and long, late hours sorting gifts. I remember that two years ago I wrote a wish list for my daughter. An incredible generous family got her exactly the gifts she wanted and two cash cards for myself. I was moved to tears; not only about the generosity, but that a stranger had made our Christmas!
Hopes Door has also helped me tremendously feeling much saver, especially by knowing there is a place and people who do care and are able to help.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
October 11, 2012

I witnessed mothers with dependent minor children, uncaringly dismissed from the Hope's Door shelter during my stay there. While in my 2nd tri-mester of pregnancy, I was made to lift and do mounting chores, as mothers left the shelter. I explained that I was sick but they said no excuses. I asked to be put on other chores but the answer was no. No job training, no apartment transition (except for shelter apartments, which they own and is part of the shelter to make more money). It is a road to nowhere. The unprofessional conduct and bullying from the staff at Hope's Door and their gossiping with other staff about you and with mothers at the shelter, pitting mothers against mothers was the worst. I tried to stay out of all of the bickering and bullying that took place from the staff. The atmosphere was uncaring and there was no peace of mind or genuine compassion. The shelter received $3,000.00 monthly for me(single pregnant mother) from the County for my stay there. Can you imagine the money they made on mothers who had two or four children? I purchased my own food, cooked it and cleaned the house but when it came time to help me the shelter supplement for mothers is only $560.00 monthly to find a small apt and they would not help you. They told me you are on your own. Where can you find an apartment for $560.00? There are none. These mothers and children have experienced violent physical abuse. At this shelter, I witnessed and experienced further mental and emotional abuse by the staff toward mothers who were treated coldly. They showed partiality and favoritism to other mothers. For the health of my unborn child and my mental and emotional health I had to leave. I even helped one mother and child move their belongings because no one on the staff at the shelter would help them. To the Directors and staff at Hope's Door: When you help the mothers in a constructive way, you give a better future for the child also. Do not give this place your contributions and donations.This is just a money making business for them and they run it that way. Rename this place the "Door to Hopelessness" for the mothers and a lucrative money maker for the Shelter and Board of Directors with Carla Horton, Executive Director. Don't believe what they have on their website or the one or two people they parade in front of you to show they helped someone. The majority are not helped by this shelter. I personally spoke with 5 different mothers during my stay who were out of their minds in depression and uncertainty about what help they would receive and if Penny Pepe, Director at the shelter, along with Liz and Phylisha, would turn on them, and then they would receive no help but instead booted out of the shelter. The real measure of a person is when you give them power. The staff at Hope's Door used their power to intimidate and bully the mothers by with holding real help and assistance. I would never recommend this shelter to anyone. Other mothers have sent letters to the Board of Directors at Hope's Door, but nothing has changed, it is business as usual. The Board has to stop sweeping this under the rug and make some personnel changes at the shelter. I will tell as many people as I can about this shelter in hopes that other mother and their children are not traumatized. The review is of Hope's Door in Westchester County, NY. 10/2012 Signed: Homeless Mother

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers