Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.965525
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

I am a professional biologist with strong interests in protecting ecosystems using approaches that work with people in the environment. For about the last 5-7 years, I have been keenly impressed by the work of the Northern Jaguar Project and have donated to them regularly. They have acquired a substantial region for habitat, have surveyed and are cognizant of many creatures within the property to try to promote besides the keystone jaguar species. As I can attest from various exchanges with their staff, they are informed by current studies and experiences in wildlife conservation and enhancing compatibility with human populations in the areas of environmental justice and sustainability. Importantly, the group is actively working with the landowners and residents around the preserve over a number of years to understand, educate and work with on behalf of the unique habitats of the region. This latter part is hugely crucial and Northern Jaguar Project has been a leader in working collaboratively with the residents. Lastly, NJP has their heart deeply in their work on behalf of wildlife and people. One way this is show is that they operate on a very modest administrative budget for their salaries and staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Thankfully, the jaguar in the US where it had been decimated is receiving some new habitat and species protections through US Fish and Wildlife. I urge the group to work with others to apply their expertise to advance the jaguar and its ecosystems to help restore to a healthy ecosystem population in the US.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

I have been donating to the Northern Jaguar Project for several years, and I believe it to be a very worthwhile organization. I found out about NJP when I met Peter Warshall in Tucson. He told me about NJP's program that pays ranchers for photographs of jaguars, discouraging them from poaching. I later looked up NJP from their website learned that they had a wish list of needed items. This was something concrete that I could help with and I decided to organize a donation of supplies through my school. I believe in the Northern Jaguar Project's cause, and try to contribute whenever I can. I think that protecting jaguars is incredibly important as they are the one of the keystone species in the area, and by protecting jaguars' habitat, NJP is also protecting the habitat of countless other species. NJP's website gives lots of good information to someone wanting to learn more, but living far from Arizona, and the occasional newsletters and email updates really keep me in formed about what the staff and researchers are doing. NJP protects jaguar habitat and works with the nearby community in really innovative ways in order to save the jaguar, and I think it is a really great organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

Protecting an endangered animal such as the Jaguar requires that an organization do several things, including protecting individuals and habitat, working with landowners and local people in the area, and to do science to understand how the animal and its ecosystem are actually performing. NJP is doing all of this, and doing an excellent job of it ! I was introduced to NJP while attending a presentation by the late Peter Warshall back in 2004 and was impressed by what the Project was setting out to accomplish, and I have been a donor and supporter ever since. It's a great organization, operating with minimal overhead and is getting results and deserves your support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

The Northern Jaguar Project is doing some of the most important conservation work in our hemisphere. By preserving habitat for these fascinating and beautiful cats, the NJP also preserves a portion of the uniquely diverse Sinaloan Thornscrub ecosytem. They are doing what I wanted to do after first visiting this region nearly 30 years ago. And they are doing it better...working to ensure local support, doing restoration projects, making inventories of this ecological crossover between the neotropics and temperate regions, etc. Follow your favorite jaguar by trail camera on their website, or check your knowledge of northern Mexico's wonderfully varied plant and animal communities against their species checklist. These folks work on a shoestring where land can be purchased for less than $50/acre. As a friend once said to me, "If it doesn't hurt a little bit, you probably haven't given enough". So give until it hurts, then be sure and put them in your will.

Mike Van Note (thornscrub aficionado)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2012

more

April 16, 2012

I can't think of a better organization to be a part of. I know that everything I donate to them whether it be an insect guide or field clothing, will go to great use and will help in a small part to bring the Jaguar back to its northern most habitat in the USA. Hats off to all the people at NJP for all their efforts in making this beautiful cat a part of Americana again.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

The NJP does a fantastic job where no one else is willing to step up and help. As past president of the Jaguar Club of Central Arizona (the automobile!) I met Diane and Turtle a few years ago and signed up as a monthly donor. For the cost of a glass of wine every month, the work they provide for saving one of the last habitats of New World great cats is priceless. Once gone, there is no turning the clock back. The presentation for the Jaguar Clubs of North America national meeting was great and hopefully the message will be heard across the country.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2012

more

April 9, 2012

The Northern Jaguar Project, and its in-country partner Naturalia, are working hand in hand and with surrounding neighbors and communities in Sonora to create the first vital link in what could become a wonderful wildlands corridor down the entire spine of the Sierra Madre Occidental in northwestern Mexico. By focusing conservation efforts on such a noble, charismatic, enigmatic creature, they are simultaneously providing an umbrella of protection for all forms of life in this immense stretch of the Sierra. I am impressed that NJP and Naturalia are educating children and adults alike about the incredible natural wealth of Sonora. Perhaps most important to me, NJP and Naturalia conduct themselves with humility and respect for local cultures and customs. I would like to see their conservation work emulated by other like-minded organizations in northwestern Mexico. I am proud to be a supporter of NJP.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2011

more

March 30, 2011

I am very proud to be a supporter of this hands-on ecological/conservation organization involved in preserving and expanding critical habitat for the northernmost population of one of the most beautiful and dramatic of all New World mammals. I am very hopeful that as a result of the work of the Northern Jaguar Project these magnificent cats may reclaim a portion of their historic range in the United States.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

NA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No Opinion

April 30, 2010

more

April 30, 2010

I had an opportunity to attend the presentation at ASU by some of the bikers who rode 350 miles in support of the jaguar. I was amazed at the slide presentation showing these beautiful creatures roaming freely in the Mexican wilderness preserve. I admire the dedication of all of the participants to recover land for the jaguar so that someday my children might see this wonderful animal in the wild.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

so dedicated to protecting the jaguar and facing challenges so that one day the jaguar can roam free in the wild.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 29, 2010

more

April 29, 2010

I am a docent at Reid Park Zoo (Tucson) and helped get other docents to the NJP presentation. It was standing room only - a very good presentation and lots of interest from all attendees.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Hearing a rancher from Mexico who used to kill jaguars but now protects them.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Very small staff, low overhead, most of money goes DIRECTLY to helping the animals.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Passionate and sincere.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Buy more land to expand the jaguar preserve.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers