Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.965525
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

I found the Northern Jaguar Project's website several years ago and have especially enjoyed reading their updates from the field. I have checked back often to see new trail-camera images of the reserve's wildlife and to learn more about the Project’s local outreach programs. Recently, I was given permission to film the "Northern Jaguars" Speaker Series in which NJP presented a very informative program on current jaguar issues. NJP has made images available and given other invaluable assistance for an upcoming documentary on the northern-most jaguars. Without their help and unique imagery, this documentary would not be possible. The willingness of the Northern Jaguar Project to work across the border and with many groups speaks to their dedication.
Chris Barnes
Filmmaker

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

Consider this---The only Jaguars left in North America are in Mexico! They are trapped there no one to help them to survive except Northern Jaguar project and a a few others who care including some wonderful ranchers and their families. They are not going to swim the Panama Canal. They cannot improve their gene pool--have mercy and help these people!
A friend
Gary Thoms
July 15, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 10, 2012

Each year I volunteer with the Northern Jaguar Project has been more rewarding than the last. I see that donations are used to save jaguars, their habitat and the other wildlife nearby. This organiz... more

July 15, 2014

I have volunteered for the NJP in the past and have seen the dedication of all the people involved in protecting the jaguar and its habitat. Reading the blogs from life on the reserve made me realize that because of the efforts of the NJP, many of the ranchers close to the reserve have developed an interest in preserving the ecosystem and assisting in the collection of photos of jaguars and other wildlife. The NJP gives us hope that one can respect and nurture nature instead of destroying it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think it is doing a wonderful job and does not need to be changed in any way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 10, 2012

Each year I volunteer with the Northern Jaguar Project has been more rewarding than the last. I see that donations are used to save jaguars, their habitat and the other wildlife nearby. This organization is involved in building a supportive community around the jaguar reserve. The population of wildlife on the reserve and the nearby ranches has grown and continues to thrive. There is a strong and consistent dedication to preserving this incredible animal which has spread to everyone involved and to many supporters all around the United States and Mexico. It is a joy to see the results of their hard work and enthusiasm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 21, 2011

My volunteering experienc with Northern Jaguar Project has been extremely positive. The people I have worked with are dedicated to keeping jaguars alive and healthy. They have been wrking with ranchers and people living close to jaguar habitats and it is exciting to see the photos and learn about the wonderful work being done by this group.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

meetings where I have seen film and photos of the work being done.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more get-togethers to discuss future plans

April 30, 2013

more

April 30, 2013

Very unique, wholly necessary, and inspiringly successful organization. What truly makes the success of NJP come to life is the people who are involved. I heard about what the organization did and was very impressed, but there is no comparison to visiting the reserve, which I had the opportunity to do last fall. I came down for a week to volunteer and help build the central "people area", (leaving most the rest left to the animals and very few human visitors). I was not only able to help build infrastructure, but I learned so much in the process! Being there made me happy, knowing I was surrounded by so much wildness that was honestly, legitimately being reserved or resurrected back to a space where wildlife will be safe and can thrive. Every staff of NJP was real, down to earth and honestly passionate about their work. The reserve is breathtaking and what it represents is even more so!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful week at the Reserve in the Spring of 2012 making adobe bricks for their guest quarters. It is readily apparent to any visitor that this is a special place and the Northern Jaguar Reserve is a special group. The extensive camera tracking, the fencing out of cattle, and their efforts to eradicate invasive buffelgrass are all helping to preserve a last wild habitat for the keystone Jaguar and all the species down the web of life. Bravo!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 14, 2012

I believe that the work NJP is doing has a direct and lasting impact for Jaguars in Northern Mexico and the Southwest US. I have worked as a volunteer for NJP on and off for the last five years both i... more

April 24, 2013

I spent some time this spring volunteering for NJP, doing photo documentation of various areas of the reserve to show the changes in plant communities over time after the removal of cattle from the land.
It is great to watch the Northern Jaguar Reserve return to a wild state after centuries of
grazing. It was also great to see the work they are doing to speed the recovery of riparian habitat. It's a large undertaking, but NJP is doing a lot with very little. I support their work 100%

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2012

I believe that the work NJP is doing has a direct and lasting impact for Jaguars in Northern Mexico and the Southwest US. I have worked as a volunteer for NJP on and off for the last five years both in the field assisting staff and scientists and in the office. NJP wastes no time or effort tooting their own horn, but instead this group puts its effort and its money where the greatest benefit to the ecosystem can be achieved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2011

I recently traveled to the Northern Jaguar Reserve to do some volunteer work for NJP. I was taking photos at specific sites to track vegetation changes over time and to chart the recovery of the land since the removal of cattle from the reserve. Between the changes in vegetation and the increase in the "camera trap" records being collected of prey species and jaguars alike, it's clear that the work NJP is doing is having a substantial effect.
The work they're doing could very well be the key to Jaguar recovery in this region, not to mention the benefit to countless other species.
Bring back the Jaguar! Support NJP!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the recovery of the habitat they are protecting with my own eyes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more volunteers.

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

In the spring of 2012 I was lucky to have been able to spend some time working for the Northern Jaguar Project on the reserve in Sonora. It was one of the greatest experiences of my life. I was first impressed with the dedicated staff that run the whole operation so smoothly. Then, after spending just a few days there, traveling around with fellow biologists and reserve staff, I fell in love with the place and didn't want to leave. It is such an amazing place. It is so important to have large landscapes such as this protected, not only for the jaguars that occupy it, but also for the many other heartbeats out there and the rich and diverse flora that exists there. I feel honored to have had the experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

My experience with NJP last fall in Sonora was amongst the most cherished I've had in recent years. The work was rewarding and educational. The importance of NJP's work was not only felt but seen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

I only have a few favorite non-profits that I donate to in our region. NJP is certainly in my top tier. Very few organizations have as big of of an effect on the ground for wildlife and a healthy landscape. I have spent quite a bit of time in the area of NJP reserve and have seen dramatic improvements since the reserve was formed.

The land they protect is not only gorgeous and wild, but very biologically significant. While their primary aim is to protect jaguars, innumerable other species of plants and animals benefit. From a huge population of Black Hawks to the northernmost nesting Macaws to Ocelots and River Otters, this area needs NJP.

They have amazingly also garnered the support of locals who are often weary of environmental organizations. For this reason they are able to influence an even larger area than the reserve itself, protecting the essential core of Jaguar habitat. The Jaguar population in this area is key to the survival of the species in northern Mexico.

I highly recommend supporting the efforts of NJP.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

I was extremely fortunate to volunteer with NJP on their reserve in Sonora. Not only did the experience make the jaguar feel like a real animal rather than an abstraction, it also helped me appreciate NJP's broader conservation work across an amazing landscape. Everyone I met, from ranch hands to administrative staff, was incredibly dedicated and professional. NJP may be small, but they are a gem of a nonprofit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers