Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.958335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 30, 2013

more

April 30, 2013

Very unique, wholly necessary, and inspiringly successful organization. What truly makes the success of NJP come to life is the people who are involved. I heard about what the organization did and was very impressed, but there is no comparison to visiting the reserve, which I had the opportunity to do last fall. I came down for a week to volunteer and help build the central "people area", (leaving most the rest left to the animals and very few human visitors). I was not only able to help build infrastructure, but I learned so much in the process! Being there made me happy, knowing I was surrounded by so much wildness that was honestly, legitimately being reserved or resurrected back to a space where wildlife will be safe and can thrive. Every staff of NJP was real, down to earth and honestly passionate about their work. The reserve is breathtaking and what it represents is even more so!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful week at the Reserve in the Spring of 2012 making adobe bricks for their guest quarters. It is readily apparent to any visitor that this is a special place and the Northern Jaguar Reserve is a special group. The extensive camera tracking, the fencing out of cattle, and their efforts to eradicate invasive buffelgrass are all helping to preserve a last wild habitat for the keystone Jaguar and all the species down the web of life. Bravo!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 14, 2012

I believe that the work NJP is doing has a direct and lasting impact for Jaguars in Northern Mexico and the Southwest US. I have worked as a volunteer for NJP on and off for the last five years both i... more

April 24, 2013

I spent some time this spring volunteering for NJP, doing photo documentation of various areas of the reserve to show the changes in plant communities over time after the removal of cattle from the land.
It is great to watch the Northern Jaguar Reserve return to a wild state after centuries of
grazing. It was also great to see the work they are doing to speed the recovery of riparian habitat. It's a large undertaking, but NJP is doing a lot with very little. I support their work 100%

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2012

I believe that the work NJP is doing has a direct and lasting impact for Jaguars in Northern Mexico and the Southwest US. I have worked as a volunteer for NJP on and off for the last five years both in the field assisting staff and scientists and in the office. NJP wastes no time or effort tooting their own horn, but instead this group puts its effort and its money where the greatest benefit to the ecosystem can be achieved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2011

I recently traveled to the Northern Jaguar Reserve to do some volunteer work for NJP. I was taking photos at specific sites to track vegetation changes over time and to chart the recovery of the land since the removal of cattle from the reserve. Between the changes in vegetation and the increase in the "camera trap" records being collected of prey species and jaguars alike, it's clear that the work NJP is doing is having a substantial effect.
The work they're doing could very well be the key to Jaguar recovery in this region, not to mention the benefit to countless other species.
Bring back the Jaguar! Support NJP!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the recovery of the habitat they are protecting with my own eyes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more volunteers.

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

In the spring of 2012 I was lucky to have been able to spend some time working for the Northern Jaguar Project on the reserve in Sonora. It was one of the greatest experiences of my life. I was first impressed with the dedicated staff that run the whole operation so smoothly. Then, after spending just a few days there, traveling around with fellow biologists and reserve staff, I fell in love with the place and didn't want to leave. It is such an amazing place. It is so important to have large landscapes such as this protected, not only for the jaguars that occupy it, but also for the many other heartbeats out there and the rich and diverse flora that exists there. I feel honored to have had the experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

My experience with NJP last fall in Sonora was amongst the most cherished I've had in recent years. The work was rewarding and educational. The importance of NJP's work was not only felt but seen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

I only have a few favorite non-profits that I donate to in our region. NJP is certainly in my top tier. Very few organizations have as big of of an effect on the ground for wildlife and a healthy landscape. I have spent quite a bit of time in the area of NJP reserve and have seen dramatic improvements since the reserve was formed.

The land they protect is not only gorgeous and wild, but very biologically significant. While their primary aim is to protect jaguars, innumerable other species of plants and animals benefit. From a huge population of Black Hawks to the northernmost nesting Macaws to Ocelots and River Otters, this area needs NJP.

They have amazingly also garnered the support of locals who are often weary of environmental organizations. For this reason they are able to influence an even larger area than the reserve itself, protecting the essential core of Jaguar habitat. The Jaguar population in this area is key to the survival of the species in northern Mexico.

I highly recommend supporting the efforts of NJP.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

I was extremely fortunate to volunteer with NJP on their reserve in Sonora. Not only did the experience make the jaguar feel like a real animal rather than an abstraction, it also helped me appreciate NJP's broader conservation work across an amazing landscape. Everyone I met, from ranch hands to administrative staff, was incredibly dedicated and professional. NJP may be small, but they are a gem of a nonprofit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

In February 2013 I volunteered for two and a half weeks at the Northern Jaguar Reserve, primarily assisting the Reserve Guardians with remote cameras. I came away very impressed with the quality and energy of all the people involved in this project - the young biologists, the vaqueros with their lifetime of local knowledge, and those involved with administration. I am also impressed with the model of involving human neighbors to the reserve, primarily cattle ranchers. As almost all conservationists involved with large cats realize, support by local people is crucial to the survival of predators.

The location of the reserve itself seems perfect - remote, relatively intact ecologically, varied, and close enough to the US border to possibly act as a source for emigration of jaguars to Arizona and New Mexico. There seem to be healthy populations of other mammals, including predacious cats, birds, and reptiles. Protecting jaguars as a keystone species here will also help protect many other species.

I came away with the sense that the vast majority of any dollar I contribute to this project will be used for direct acquisition and protection of habitat, or building the support necessary to preserve viable populations of jaguars at the northern edge of their range.

Eric Holle
Haines, Alaska

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I realized a dream when I went to Sonora and volunteer at the Northern Jaguar Reserve. I helped mostly with habitat restoration (bufflegrass removal and gabion building). It was so rewarding to be part of such a great project and to be in a place where jaguars roam. I spent more than a month in the reserve, discovering a completely new ecosystem for me, seeing an amazing diversity of birds, tracking wild cats. My most memorable sighting was of a bobcat. We sat and watched each other for 40 minutes! Its curiosity finally satiated, the bobcat walked away with unmistakable feline grace and disappeared quickly, as if the earth had swallowed it. Maybe one day I'll see a jaguar! I already think of going back in the near future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I went down to the Northern Jaguar Preserve in Sonora to help with a project building adobe structures on the preserve. The land there is amazing and Naturalia and the Northern Jaguar Project are amazing stewards for it. Their work allows animals such as the jaguar a place to live and is encouraging relations between surrounding ranchers and the jaguars. They do amazing work and take very good care of their volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers