Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.963645
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

In the spring of 2012 I was lucky to have been able to spend some time working for the Northern Jaguar Project on the reserve in Sonora. It was one of the greatest experiences of my life. I was first impressed with the dedicated staff that run the whole operation so smoothly. Then, after spending just a few days there, traveling around with fellow biologists and reserve staff, I fell in love with the place and didn't want to leave. It is such an amazing place. It is so important to have large landscapes such as this protected, not only for the jaguars that occupy it, but also for the many other heartbeats out there and the rich and diverse flora that exists there. I feel honored to have had the experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

My experience with NJP last fall in Sonora was amongst the most cherished I've had in recent years. The work was rewarding and educational. The importance of NJP's work was not only felt but seen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

I only have a few favorite non-profits that I donate to in our region. NJP is certainly in my top tier. Very few organizations have as big of of an effect on the ground for wildlife and a healthy landscape. I have spent quite a bit of time in the area of NJP reserve and have seen dramatic improvements since the reserve was formed.

The land they protect is not only gorgeous and wild, but very biologically significant. While their primary aim is to protect jaguars, innumerable other species of plants and animals benefit. From a huge population of Black Hawks to the northernmost nesting Macaws to Ocelots and River Otters, this area needs NJP.

They have amazingly also garnered the support of locals who are often weary of environmental organizations. For this reason they are able to influence an even larger area than the reserve itself, protecting the essential core of Jaguar habitat. The Jaguar population in this area is key to the survival of the species in northern Mexico.

I highly recommend supporting the efforts of NJP.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

I was extremely fortunate to volunteer with NJP on their reserve in Sonora. Not only did the experience make the jaguar feel like a real animal rather than an abstraction, it also helped me appreciate NJP's broader conservation work across an amazing landscape. Everyone I met, from ranch hands to administrative staff, was incredibly dedicated and professional. NJP may be small, but they are a gem of a nonprofit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

In February 2013 I volunteered for two and a half weeks at the Northern Jaguar Reserve, primarily assisting the Reserve Guardians with remote cameras. I came away very impressed with the quality and energy of all the people involved in this project - the young biologists, the vaqueros with their lifetime of local knowledge, and those involved with administration. I am also impressed with the model of involving human neighbors to the reserve, primarily cattle ranchers. As almost all conservationists involved with large cats realize, support by local people is crucial to the survival of predators.

The location of the reserve itself seems perfect - remote, relatively intact ecologically, varied, and close enough to the US border to possibly act as a source for emigration of jaguars to Arizona and New Mexico. There seem to be healthy populations of other mammals, including predacious cats, birds, and reptiles. Protecting jaguars as a keystone species here will also help protect many other species.

I came away with the sense that the vast majority of any dollar I contribute to this project will be used for direct acquisition and protection of habitat, or building the support necessary to preserve viable populations of jaguars at the northern edge of their range.

Eric Holle
Haines, Alaska

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

The Northern Jaguar Project is doing some of the most important conservation work in our hemisphere. By preserving habitat for these fascinating and beautiful cats, the NJP also preserves a portion of the uniquely diverse Sinaloan Thornscrub ecosytem. They are doing what I wanted to do after first visiting this region nearly 30 years ago. And they are doing it better...working to ensure local support, doing restoration projects, making inventories of this ecological crossover between the neotropics and temperate regions, etc. Follow your favorite jaguar by trail camera on their website, or check your knowledge of northern Mexico's wonderfully varied plant and animal communities against their species checklist. These folks work on a shoestring where land can be purchased for less than $50/acre. As a friend once said to me, "If it doesn't hurt a little bit, you probably haven't given enough". So give until it hurts, then be sure and put them in your will.

Mike Van Note (thornscrub aficionado)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I realized a dream when I went to Sonora and volunteer at the Northern Jaguar Reserve. I helped mostly with habitat restoration (bufflegrass removal and gabion building). It was so rewarding to be part of such a great project and to be in a place where jaguars roam. I spent more than a month in the reserve, discovering a completely new ecosystem for me, seeing an amazing diversity of birds, tracking wild cats. My most memorable sighting was of a bobcat. We sat and watched each other for 40 minutes! Its curiosity finally satiated, the bobcat walked away with unmistakable feline grace and disappeared quickly, as if the earth had swallowed it. Maybe one day I'll see a jaguar! I already think of going back in the near future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I went down to the Northern Jaguar Preserve in Sonora to help with a project building adobe structures on the preserve. The land there is amazing and Naturalia and the Northern Jaguar Project are amazing stewards for it. Their work allows animals such as the jaguar a place to live and is encouraging relations between surrounding ranchers and the jaguars. They do amazing work and take very good care of their volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 14, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 30, 2010

My experience with NJP started with the death of the last jaguar in the USA--- his name was Macho B. The next event was a jaguar named Lucero who was in the Phoenix zoo who was given dental work after... more

May 14, 2012

Northern Jaguar Project and Naturalia are the best chance for the Jaguar to return to the USA. EXTINCTION is real. Consider how much the southwest has lost over the years and help this cat!

Videos

This is a jaguar in peru

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2010

My experience with NJP started with the death of the last jaguar in the USA--- his name was Macho B. The next event was a jaguar named Lucero who was in the Phoenix zoo who was given dental work after being caught in mexico by a rancher. I went to Phoenix and saw him guess who helped him get help? That was in part NJP-- These people need all the resources they obtain. They treat wildlife the way everybody should. Consider how the jaguar is hanging on a thread---- the constant war on wildlife. These people are beautiful.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my life waiting for the jaguars to come back to Arizona,New Mexico, and Texas

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to meet them all.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the way they treat wildlife.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

beautiful.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

buy additional ranches.

Ways to make it better...

will be better when and if I can walk the ground myself.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

more and constant revenue stream, and people in the area supporting especially the children, our only chance for the jaguar.

One thing I'd also say is that...

Thank you Diana and Turtle

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 20, 2012

more

April 20, 2012

I believe the Northern Jaguar Project is making huge strides in conservation of the northernmost breeding area for jaguars, and I am honored to be involved with this nonprofit. What I think is special about the Northern Jaguar Project is they are thinking broadly, considering all aspects of what makes this special ecosystem tick. Not only are they directly concerned with the jaguars calling this area home, but also the condition of their habitat and ultimately, their prey populations. I am involved in helping with their Feline Photo project, where I help identify wildlife in photos and prepare files for each camera location. As a wildlife biologist myself, I very much agree with the approach to using motion-triggered cameras. Much information can be gained about a species (and its neighbors!) while being a safe and cost effective "hands-off" technique. Last November my husband (who's a restoration ecologist) and I had the opportunity to travel to the reserve and we enjoyed every minute of exploring such a wild, beautiful place. Our mission to traveling there and meeting with Rick Williams, the reserve manager, was to discuss some of the options of improving the landscape in the reserve. They discussed areas of fire danger, slowing the progression of non-native grasses, as well as replanting disturbed areas with native plants. Again, the Northern Jaguar Project is thinking of the ecosystem as a whole in this example, which I think is the reason they are able to make such strides in jaguar conservation efforts. The Northern Jaguar Project has our continued support!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers