Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.965525
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

I found the Northern Jaguar Project's website several years ago and have especially enjoyed reading their updates from the field. I have checked back often to see new trail-camera images of the reserve's wildlife and to learn more about the Project’s local outreach programs. Recently, I was given permission to film the "Northern Jaguars" Speaker Series in which NJP presented a very informative program on current jaguar issues. NJP has made images available and given other invaluable assistance for an upcoming documentary on the northern-most jaguars. Without their help and unique imagery, this documentary would not be possible. The willingness of the Northern Jaguar Project to work across the border and with many groups speaks to their dedication.
Chris Barnes
Filmmaker

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

NJP is an impressive organization that makes the most of their resources. They are particularly effective working between two countries to positively affect critical species protection. The staff are committed, knowledgeable, humble and determined. The unique approaches they take are working! Congratulations and Keep Up the Good Work!!
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

Consider this---The only Jaguars left in North America are in Mexico! They are trapped there no one to help them to survive except Northern Jaguar project and a a few others who care including some wonderful ranchers and their families. They are not going to swim the Panama Canal. They cannot improve their gene pool--have mercy and help these people!
A friend
Gary Thoms
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

I am extremely impressed with the conservation work of NJP. The staff are dedicated and passionate as they work to preserve not only jaguars and ocelots, but this special wilderness area that provides habitat for a wide diversity of species, including macaws.
Also, NJP's public outreach
efforts help to spread awareness, appreciation and support of these big cats and an understanding of the need to protect this northernmost breeding population of jaguars.
August 21, 2014

more

August 21, 2014

I'm a biologist involved with reestablishment of jaguars in the U.S., which will not be possible without colonization from the source population in Sonora that is being protected and nurtured by NJP. Without NJP it's likely that the Sonoran population would disappear or at least diminish to the point where it could not realistically provide colonists for a future U.S. population. Keep up the good work NJP!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

I am a professional biologist with strong interests in protecting ecosystems using approaches that work with people in the environment. For about the last 5-7 years, I have been keenly impressed by the work of the Northern Jaguar Project and have donated to them regularly. They have acquired a substantial region for habitat, have surveyed and are cognizant of many creatures within the property to try to promote besides the keystone jaguar species. As I can attest from various exchanges with their staff, they are informed by current studies and experiences in wildlife conservation and enhancing compatibility with human populations in the areas of environmental justice and sustainability. Importantly, the group is actively working with the landowners and residents around the preserve over a number of years to understand, educate and work with on behalf of the unique habitats of the region. This latter part is hugely crucial and Northern Jaguar Project has been a leader in working collaboratively with the residents. Lastly, NJP has their heart deeply in their work on behalf of wildlife and people. One way this is show is that they operate on a very modest administrative budget for their salaries and staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Thankfully, the jaguar in the US where it had been decimated is receiving some new habitat and species protections through US Fish and Wildlife. I urge the group to work with others to apply their expertise to advance the jaguar and its ecosystems to help restore to a healthy ecosystem population in the US.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

I have been donating to the Northern Jaguar Project for several years, and I believe it to be a very worthwhile organization. I found out about NJP when I met Peter Warshall in Tucson. He told me about NJP's program that pays ranchers for photographs of jaguars, discouraging them from poaching. I later looked up NJP from their website learned that they had a wish list of needed items. This was something concrete that I could help with and I decided to organize a donation of supplies through my school. I believe in the Northern Jaguar Project's cause, and try to contribute whenever I can. I think that protecting jaguars is incredibly important as they are the one of the keystone species in the area, and by protecting jaguars' habitat, NJP is also protecting the habitat of countless other species. NJP's website gives lots of good information to someone wanting to learn more, but living far from Arizona, and the occasional newsletters and email updates really keep me in formed about what the staff and researchers are doing. NJP protects jaguar habitat and works with the nearby community in really innovative ways in order to save the jaguar, and I think it is a really great organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 15, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 10, 2012

Each year I volunteer with the Northern Jaguar Project has been more rewarding than the last. I see that donations are used to save jaguars, their habitat and the other wildlife nearby. This organiz... more

July 15, 2014

I have volunteered for the NJP in the past and have seen the dedication of all the people involved in protecting the jaguar and its habitat. Reading the blogs from life on the reserve made me realize that because of the efforts of the NJP, many of the ranchers close to the reserve have developed an interest in preserving the ecosystem and assisting in the collection of photos of jaguars and other wildlife. The NJP gives us hope that one can respect and nurture nature instead of destroying it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think it is doing a wonderful job and does not need to be changed in any way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 10, 2012

Each year I volunteer with the Northern Jaguar Project has been more rewarding than the last. I see that donations are used to save jaguars, their habitat and the other wildlife nearby. This organization is involved in building a supportive community around the jaguar reserve. The population of wildlife on the reserve and the nearby ranches has grown and continues to thrive. There is a strong and consistent dedication to preserving this incredible animal which has spread to everyone involved and to many supporters all around the United States and Mexico. It is a joy to see the results of their hard work and enthusiasm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 21, 2011

My volunteering experienc with Northern Jaguar Project has been extremely positive. The people I have worked with are dedicated to keeping jaguars alive and healthy. They have been wrking with ranchers and people living close to jaguar habitats and it is exciting to see the photos and learn about the wonderful work being done by this group.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

meetings where I have seen film and photos of the work being done.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more get-togethers to discuss future plans

July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

Protecting an endangered animal such as the Jaguar requires that an organization do several things, including protecting individuals and habitat, working with landowners and local people in the area, and to do science to understand how the animal and its ecosystem are actually performing. NJP is doing all of this, and doing an excellent job of it ! I was introduced to NJP while attending a presentation by the late Peter Warshall back in 2004 and was impressed by what the Project was setting out to accomplish, and I have been a donor and supporter ever since. It's a great organization, operating with minimal overhead and is getting results and deserves your support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

I visited NJP's reserve in Sonora, MX in 2013 and was floored by the staff's passion for their mission and commitment to the community they work with. A small, intent, and passionate group, NJP carefully and responsibly uses their time and resources to ensure that jaguars and other big felines can thrive in their habitat. Thanks to NJP, a paradigm shift is happening: admirable ranchers and their families around the reserve are not just tolerating these majestic animals; they are now choosing to defend their survival and value their role in the region's ecological system.

Compared to so many environmental conservation organizations, NJP is transparent and clear about its intent. If you want to support NJP, know that your resources will be well-stewarded to support an important cause. And be sure to visit - it is a very safe area, residents are hospitable and friendly, and the landscape is just breathtaking!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money to replicate their conservation and education work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers