Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I signed my child up for day camp with the above organization. Prior to doing so, I provided paperwork regarding behaviors to expect etc. Director said my child's behaviors were nothing out of the ordinary and could be handled with their specially trained staff and interventions. Two days later, they sought to dismiss my child due to his behaviors, which are a direct manifestation of his disability. I even sent a behaviorist in to help, but the staff were not willing to be trained. Very disappointing to say the least, if not discriminatory practices here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have staff better trained, change policies, have a procedure in place to follow before dismissing any client unfairly.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 27, 2012

more

August 27, 2012

I was first introduced to NEDSRA in the summer of 2005 through a friend and coworker of mine. He brought me to a practice of their youth wheelchair basketball team, my first adaptive sport experience, and I've been involved with the organization ever since. Fair disclaimer: I started my involvement as a participant, then also a volunteer, and then a part time staff as a coach in adaptive sports. In knowledge of that, take this review in whatever context you choose, but I would not still be with NEDSRA for over 7 years if not for the great experiences I had as a young athlete. I've been introduced to many sports through Northeast DuPage Special Rec; the laundry list includes wheelchair basketball, softball, track and field, archery, handcycling, handball, rugby, tennis, hockey, volleyball, boccia, soccer, swimming, rockclimbing, and skiing. Each sport continues to teach me new things, and adds to the memories I share with my friends. But the best part of finding NEDSRA is now being able to teach others, to meet new people, and to introduce them to adaptive sports, something that was once new to me. I don't know who I would be exactly if I hadn't started playing wheelchair basketball, but I appreciate the person that my experiences with with sport through NEDSRA has helped me to be.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

I was referred to NEDSRA by a co-worker, friend, and wheelchair basketball athlete.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Aside from the more basic changes (increased awareness of fitness, deeper love of sports, competitive spirit, sense of team/family, and being able to recognize myself as an athlete), I have more confidence, a better sense of self and self-worth, a broad group of teammates and friends, a growing amount of experience in teaching, a great appreciation for the value of fun in learning, and more willingness to try/make mistakes in all aspects of life.

August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

My son, who is 17 now, has Autism and has been a participant in Summer Camp from 2005 through 2011. He's grown very attached to his camp mates and was sad not to be able to go this year because he was working through his school vocational program. That said, without NEDSRA I don't know how we would have gotten through the summers when I was working; and without their financial scholarships, I have no doubt he would have missed out on a lot of fun times.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

NEDSRA, Especially the Adaptive Sports Program has been a Blessing in our lives! My daughter Melissa is a member of the Jr Bulls Wheelchair basketball team. She is starting her 3rd year on the team and it has become an important part of our lives. Not only is it great physical activity, her self confidence has soared since starting this program! We are very excited for the upcoming season to be with our "NEDSRA Family" again. 1 2 3 Go Bulls Go ! Huh!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers