Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
3 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 5, 2014

more

July 5, 2014

This may be an excellent dog rescue service, but I'm puzzled why they don't say on their website that much to my surprise, anyone 60 or older will not be considered for adoption of any dog younger than 5. After completing their lengthy form I discovered from a phone call that the dogs I thought would be a good fit in my home were too young, although I have a playful young Yorkie, under 1 year, looking for a companion.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Eliminate this requirement.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 13, 2011

more

January 13, 2011

NORTHCENTRAL MALTESE RESCUE INC (NCMR) is a dedicated Maltese (and other small dogs and Maltese mixes that need to be rescued badly) rescue that is a nonprofit organization made up of a group of volunteers that do their best to save as many dogs, show them love with medical care and find them the best forever homes. Mary Palmer is the President and she is very dedicated with a heart
of gold caring about each and every Maltese or little dog. She saved a poodle with deformed back legs since another wonderful rescue did not have the funds to give the right medical care. Mary has since added Rosie to her family since Rosie was doing so well with Mary and the right home was not found so quickly. Other dogs that appeared hopeless were able to be made well, shown love and are living happily as part of families. To correct major medical conditions, NCMR has provided heart surgeries, liver surgeries, many types of leg surgeries, and other types of surgeries. Many times
puppies are placed into rescue and are adopted out also that do not need medical care but a wonderful forever home. Other puppies were given up when medical bills became too high (one needed surgery on a leg) and once the surgeries were successful, the right family was found to give the little puppy
a forever home.

I fostered a Maltese for 6 weeks for this rescue group over 5 years ago and I saw first-hand how a scared puppy mill dog can be rehabilitated learning to love and wanting to be loved. Little Bit was placed in the most loving home. I plan to foster in the future since it was so rewarding but at the present time, I have a 5.5 year old sick dog and an almost 12 year old sick dog, each from breeders that need most of my attention.

When adopting a dog or puppy from NORTHCENTRAL MALTESE RESCUE INC, a new family gets a puppy ready for a forever home with the medical taken care of and the puppy or dog ready to be loved and to love back.

Buying from a reputable breeder may lessen your chances of a problem dog but does not guarantee health since I have two very sick dogs from show breeders. Rescuing a dog from a reputable rescue group like NORTHCENTRAL MALTESE RESCUE INC, not only is giving a dog or puppy a good home, but the new owners get a dog or puppy who has had medical care, updated on shots and spaying and/or neutering, major surgeries already taken care of and socialization in progress. Dogs or puppies are not placed until they are ready to be placed to give the family and new addition the best chance of a
successful placement.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Fostering a Maltse, participating on a forum, helping find transportation for Maltese from a member who has passed away, and hearing all about each rescue from the list, the fosters and the new forever homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to recruit more foster parents so more Maltese and small dogs in need could be rescued.

January 12, 2011

more

January 12, 2011

This is a great group of dedicated volunteers, working to rescue at risk dogs, get them proper veterinary care, and place them into loving homes. Mary Palmer, the president, is the key to making this work, and puts in countless hours each week caring for the dogs, traveling to pick up at risk animals, arranging for foster homes, and properly checking on the integrity of the people who want to adopt. She will not place a dog in a home unless she is convinced it is the best place for the dog.



Each summner the group holds a two day Maltese Rescue picnic, where families who have adopted and fostered dogs bring them together for fun, learning, and sharing.



They also produce a beautiful calendar each year, and our Paisley, adopted from the Rescue 3 years ago, is pictured for June in the 2011 calendar.



Here is a link to the group's website for more information: http://malteserescue.homestead.com/

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We adopted a dog from the Rescue 3 years ago and since then have worked with Mary and the other volunteers to help make this rescue group a success. We also fostered two adorable dogs until they could be adopted and brought another dog into our home for a short period.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more volunteers, and encourage people who are not able to volunteer their time to make a financial donation. People across the country are needed who are willing to be foster parents of dogs awaiting adoption.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

More volunteers needed, particularly people willing to foster dogs awaiting adoption. Help is needed in all areas of the country.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Have met some wonderful, caring people who have become good friends.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

A very gratifying experience.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers