Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

My son is entering his 3rd season with the Dallas Jr Mavs. He was diagnosed at the age of 8 with Charcot- Marie -Tooth Disorder (CMT), a inhereited peripheral neuropathy. I began to see his weekening and inablity to keep up with his peers, and in his case the severity of his condition was that he started walking on the side of his left foot and it took lots of excertion on his part to walk. After surgery he now walks more comfortably, but with the constant support of braces on both legs. Being a part of the Dallas Wheelchair Mavs has allowed him to participate in a team sport along with exercising and staying active which I believe has delayed his CMT from becoming more severe. I smile when I think that these teens are the exceptions to wanting to sleep in on Saturday mornings, I know my son looks forward to getting up and practicing with his teammates. I cannot express enough how grateful our family is to all the coaches and parents who volunteer their time to keep this organization running, donating hours and hours of unpaid service. This year my son is a Senior and should be graduating in the top 10% of his class. Because this organization follows a no pass/no play policy it encouraged him to stay on top of his grades plus it's opened his eyes to the possibility of playing Wheelchair Basketball at the Collegiate Level. I believe my son has gained some lifelong friends and with the self confidence he now shows, he looks forward to continuing his education.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

After my son suffered a spinal cord injury at the age of 6, life as we knew it changed. We thought the days of competitive sports would be gone. But after joining the Dallas Jr. Wheelchair Mavericks at the age of 9, we soon discovered that he was still an athlete but he just had to participate in a different way. He soon changed from a shy child who didn't even think he liked basketball to a strong, athletic and confident young man who is looking forward to continuing competitive sports in college and even further in life. This organization has truly changed our lives. It is not only been absolutely my son's love in life but it's also been a tremendous support system for me as his parent. I would absolutely recommend this organization to others. It has truly been a blessing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

This organization provides critical recreation and sportive opportunities for youth with physical disabilities. These children do not have access to physical education and other youth sports as their able bodied peers do, which makes this organization so important for not only physical fitness, but also the development of social skills such as learning to work with a team, exploring leadership roles and self motivation. Wheelchair basketball has been an integral component of my son, Tyler's development. He participated for 10 years in junior wheelchair basketball, which provided him with the skill set to receive a competitive athletic scholarship, earning his undergraduate degree at the University of Texas Arlington. He has since earned a MS in Exercise Science and is employed in the UTA University College Advising Center, where he has recruited co-workers to join him in the employee wellness program, as he actively continues his personal pursuit for health, physical fitness and wellness. The "life lessons" he learned while playing in wheelchair basketball have enabled him to maximize his potential in many ways. He now "gives back" to the disabled community, volunteering with the UTA Movin' Mavs and serving as assistant coach for the US Army Wounded Warrior wheelchair basketball and track/field teams.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I am the varsity coach of the Dallas Jr. Mavs. The program has been a life changing experience. I was hurt at a very young age and wasn't offered many opportunities. This program offers many opportunities such as teamwork, build self-esteem, making new friends, academic opportunities, as well as the overall physical activity and well-being. Im very proud to say that Im a part of a program that offers many opportunities to the young disabled community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

My daughter is a twin with cerebral palsy and spend most of her time in a wheelchair. Her sister is an able body. She has always loved sports, but could not play until she learned about wheelchair basketball. It has been a life saver for me. I didn't know how protective I was of her until she joined the team. These past few years she has grown into her own. I've grown as a parent as well. I didn't think that I could ever let her out of my sight, now because of the DJWM's she is thinking of moving out of state for college. I appreciate all that the coach's have done for us and couldn't imagine our lives with out wheelchair basketball.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

What a blessing to have this organization in my family's life! My son, Hollis, was born without legs in 1994. His very rare disability is called Proximal Focal Fomilia Deficiency (PFFD). As he grew, like all young kids, he wanted to play sports and be active and involved with other kids. We had quite a challenge finding something that he could participate in and enjoy. From the very first practice he went to as an elementary aged kid with the Dallas Jr. Wheelchair Mavericks, we were hooked! He loved the program and coaches! We have now been with them throughout many of his school years. Hollis is a senior in high school this year and is the "Big Man" on the team with a wingspan of 6'6"! As he looks toward college and what the future holds, we embrace the possibility of a full scholarship to college for him to play adult wheelchair basketball. What an amazing opportunity that would not have been possible without the dedication and hard work of everyone in this organization. ALL of the coaches and board members are 100% volunteers! Every dollar given goes directly to support the kids and the goals of this wonderful nonprofit organization. My heart is full when I think of all the wonderful people that pour themselves into this group and the impact it has on every kid involved. And even though my son will graduate this coming spring, I am confident my relationship with them will continue.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My son's life. He has grown up playing wheelchair basketball with this amazing group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them better/newer facilities for practice. Bigger donors so every kid can have a custom fit sport wheelchair that is made just for them and every kid regardless of their family's financial situation would be able to travel to tournaments and participate completely without the worry of cost.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Through volunteering with this group I have made lasting and life-changing friendships. There are so many wonderful stories and different life situations that have brought us all together. There is no discrimination when it comes to childhood illness, or handicap. We have kids from every imaginable home situation, ethnicity and financial background. We are all brought together out of love and compassion for the amazing kids that bring life and energy to this group.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel well used and very needed when I am involved in this group. Every dollar raised is put toward the kids and the goals of this nonprofit. Every adult involved is 100% volunteer. It is heartwarming to see the kids grow and mature. From seeing these kids score their first basket in elementary school to game winning shots as seniors in high school at the national championship game. It is life changing!

June 19, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
June 19, 2012

My son has been a member of the Dallas Junior Wheelchair Mavericks for the past 8 years. It has been in incredibly positive experience for my son and our family. My son has always enjoyed sports but because of his disability (spina bifida), he has been limited as to what he can participate in. When he was 11, he joined the team and immediately took to the sport. He graduated from high school this year (2012) and will attend the University of Illinois in the fall to play wheelchair basketball at the collegiate level. His education will be fully funded.
The Dallas Wheelchair Mavericks Program gave him the skills and confidence to succeed on the basketball court, but more importantly, it gave him the ability to approach his life with confidence. The coaches and volunteers do an excellent job of motivating the athletes regardless of their skill level or disability. Everyone feels that they are part of the team. Everyone encourages one another. Most of the volunteers have disabilities themselves. They are great role models for the kids to see that they can succeed in life and be successful adults regardless of the challenges they face.
Teams have the opportunity to compete with other regional teams in Texas and Oklahoma. If they qualify, they also get the opportunity to go to the National Championships and compete with teams from across the nation. It is very inspiring to watch what these kids can accomplish. As with anything, there are expenses involved with playing on the team locally and also with traveling to compete with other teams. Many of the families do not have the means to support such expenses. Supporting this organization will help make it possible for more of the athletes to have the full experience of wheelchair basketball including traveling to compete with other teams. When the teams travel, it gives the athletes a chance to be noticed by college coaches and recruiters…giving them the opportunity to receive a college education while playing wheelchair basketball.
We appreciate this organization and what it stands for. It has changed my sons life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers