Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

My son is has been a wheelchair user since the age of 3. Not until the age of 7 when he joined The Dallas Jr Wheelchair Mavericks did he began to push himself in his wheelchair. First Season he started pushing himself. Second Season in practice he was able to push half court. Now into the Third Season he is able to push full court. The social interaction with other people like him has helped him tremendously. From the coaches who volunteer their time,all the parent involvement,Board of Director, and friendships with teammates all has contributed to a great organization. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I work in rehab and wheechair basketball is a GREAT activity for strenthening and endurance to assist with daily activities. It is also a good activity for socialization and support with other children in wheelchairs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I am a pediatric occupational therapist and wheelchair basketball is a great way to facilitate the development of eye hand coordination, ocular tracking, upper extremity strenth, social interaction and the child's self-esteem.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

My son is entering his 3rd season with the Dallas Jr Mavs. He was diagnosed at the age of 8 with Charcot- Marie -Tooth Disorder (CMT), a inhereited peripheral neuropathy. I began to see his weekening and inablity to keep up with his peers, and in his case the severity of his condition was that he started walking on the side of his left foot and it took lots of excertion on his part to walk. After surgery he now walks more comfortably, but with the constant support of braces on both legs. Being a part of the Dallas Wheelchair Mavs has allowed him to participate in a team sport along with exercising and staying active which I believe has delayed his CMT from becoming more severe. I smile when I think that these teens are the exceptions to wanting to sleep in on Saturday mornings, I know my son looks forward to getting up and practicing with his teammates. I cannot express enough how grateful our family is to all the coaches and parents who volunteer their time to keep this organization running, donating hours and hours of unpaid service. This year my son is a Senior and should be graduating in the top 10% of his class. Because this organization follows a no pass/no play policy it encouraged him to stay on top of his grades plus it's opened his eyes to the possibility of playing Wheelchair Basketball at the Collegiate Level. I believe my son has gained some lifelong friends and with the self confidence he now shows, he looks forward to continuing his education.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

After my son suffered a spinal cord injury at the age of 6, life as we knew it changed. We thought the days of competitive sports would be gone. But after joining the Dallas Jr. Wheelchair Mavericks at the age of 9, we soon discovered that he was still an athlete but he just had to participate in a different way. He soon changed from a shy child who didn't even think he liked basketball to a strong, athletic and confident young man who is looking forward to continuing competitive sports in college and even further in life. This organization has truly changed our lives. It is not only been absolutely my son's love in life but it's also been a tremendous support system for me as his parent. I would absolutely recommend this organization to others. It has truly been a blessing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

This organization provides critical recreation and sportive opportunities for youth with physical disabilities. These children do not have access to physical education and other youth sports as their able bodied peers do, which makes this organization so important for not only physical fitness, but also the development of social skills such as learning to work with a team, exploring leadership roles and self motivation. Wheelchair basketball has been an integral component of my son, Tyler's development. He participated for 10 years in junior wheelchair basketball, which provided him with the skill set to receive a competitive athletic scholarship, earning his undergraduate degree at the University of Texas Arlington. He has since earned a MS in Exercise Science and is employed in the UTA University College Advising Center, where he has recruited co-workers to join him in the employee wellness program, as he actively continues his personal pursuit for health, physical fitness and wellness. The "life lessons" he learned while playing in wheelchair basketball have enabled him to maximize his potential in many ways. He now "gives back" to the disabled community, volunteering with the UTA Movin' Mavs and serving as assistant coach for the US Army Wounded Warrior wheelchair basketball and track/field teams.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

When your child is confined to a wheelchair, nothing brings more joy than to see them active and fully engaged in something they love and look forward to doing. Since joining the program over 9 years ago, the Jr Mavs have been the center of our daughter's universe. She has made friends with kids facing similar life challenges. She has benefited from the friendship and leadership of volunteer coaches who are dedicated to helping kids experience all that wheelchair basketball has to offer. These are adults who can share how they overcame difficulties of life in a wheelchair, some of whom are world class athletes, representing the USA in the Paralympics. It has kept our daughter physically active and challenged. She has traveled across the country and made friends with kids from Seattle to Denver to Chicago. The Dallas Jr Wheelchair Mavs have helped our daughter in ways that far exceeded our expectations. Also, there is a place in the program for children with greatly differing disabilities, from barely able to push a wheelchair to highly competitive kids with strong upper bodies. They all help and support each other. This is a truly great nonprofit!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

Randy Smith, Sales Manager for Lift-Aids, Inc. - Our company has sponsored the Jr. Mavs for the past 2 years and have found the organization extemely dedicated to the kids and families. I have personally worked with all members, have participated in the tournaments and can't say enough of each of their individual efforts in making the Jr. Mavs a first class organizations for kids. They invite all who can participate, they make sure all kids are active and having fun. I am proud to be a part of the Jr. Mavs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I am the varsity coach of the Dallas Jr. Mavs. The program has been a life changing experience. I was hurt at a very young age and wasn't offered many opportunities. This program offers many opportunities such as teamwork, build self-esteem, making new friends, academic opportunities, as well as the overall physical activity and well-being. Im very proud to say that Im a part of a program that offers many opportunities to the young disabled community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I am a pediatric therapist and just want to take a moment and let you guys know how much these kids benefit from wheelchair basketball. These kids are developing so much more than basketball skills. They are developing coordination, strength, problem solving and learning teamwork. These kids have gone thru so much yet they have so much to give back to. I love this team and the spirit of the kids who play this sport.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers