Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
1234.428575
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

I am writing this review to not only bring awareness to people but to also provide constructive feedback in the adoption process. We are strong believers in the adoption process and I think for the most part it works out well for both the adoptive parents and animal.

Roughly 2 weeks ago
we lost our beloved orange tabby cat Morris, to cancer. Our family was absolutely heartbroken. We decided to go to PetSmart that Saturday to find another kitty to complete our family again. While we were there, I was approached by one of the fosters who told me all about one of her kittens that was ready for adoption. Several of the volunteers for NTCR overheard the conversation and even joined in. I exchanged numbers and emails with the foster mom and was in contact with her. She informed me that in order to meet the new kitten I would need to complete an application, per NTCR. After visiting their website and reviewing all qualifications - our family decided to start the application We answered all questions truthfully. After several text, emails and multiple conversations, we had narrowed down to a young male orange tabby the foster told us about. . The foster mom and I discussed this little guy repeatedly, exchanged text and several pictures. .These exchanges went on for over a week. I also had several email exchanges with NTCR. At this point we had no concerns about our application and the answers to the questions.

This morning I received an email stating they did not feel we were a good fit for this kitten because a "friend" of one of the board members had a kitten that went out the doggy door and was hit and killed by a car. They were concerned that the same situation would happen to this kitten we wanted to adopt. This is extremely upsetting and troubling for the following reasons:

1. When filling out the application our family answered all questions truthfully and with no hesitation. Telling the truth was never a question - it was the right thing to do. The application asked if we had a doggy door and we answered yes. Our doggy door is on the screen door, not the main back door. This far in the adoption process, we never thought by answering the question about having a doggy door would have disqualified us as adoptive parents. If anywhere on the NTCR website it stated that applicants would be disqualified if they had a doggy door, we would have never submitted an application.

2. That the North Texas Cat Rescue made a decision on my application based on a "friends" situation. We feel that North Texas Cat rescue should look at each application individually. If NTCR could have seen past the friend's situation, they would have seen that our application, qualifications and our obvious overwhelming love for animals (especially cats) would have outweighed the misfortune their friend experienced.

Lastly, the NTCR recommended we adopt a kitten from any of the local shelters. In their opinion, I guess it would be ok for a "shelter" cat to live in a home with a doggy door. It is just unfortunate that someone else's misfortune would play a role in the decision on OUR wanting to adopt. This little guy would have hit the jackpot with us and now I have had to break the news to our 12 year old daughter who was so ready to meet her new kitten. If you and your family are looking to adopt a family pet, I would suggest not meeting or discussing any cats with NTCR until your application is 100% approved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 12, 2013

more

October 12, 2013

NTCR helped place the perfect cat with our family. I had lost my cat to cancer and was looking for a new cat with similar "cuddling" characteristics. They know about the cats they have and made sure the fit was right for us and the cat. They are all passionate about what they do and I am grateful I found them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

I'm a NTCR volunteer for almost 3 years now. It's just a wonderful program who rescue cats from local shelters, place them in safe foster homes until they get adopt it.
I feel very proud to be part of this rescue group and do my very best to save kitties lives.
For them,

Mara
Morris

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Invite more people to be part of our group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I have been a volunteer with North Texas Cat Rescue since November 2009. I am proud to be associated with such a wonderful group of people. The volunteers at NTCR are very caring and dedicated in their mission to rescue kitties and place them in their permanent homes. Most of our volunteers have full time jobs yet volunteer many hours holding adoptions, fostering, cleaning...... the list goes on, to rescue kitties and get them adopted. It has been such a rewarding experience to be in this group, to see how many kitties that we have rescued, many from shelters where they would have been euthanized, and now have wonderful homes!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I've been a volunteer for about 3 years with NTCR. I've also adopted from the group as well. NTCR gives their rescued cats and kittens a second chance at life. The group rescues cats and kittens from over-crowded shelters that euthanize animals for space. The rescued cats/kittens are placed in loving, safe foster homes for socialization and TLC until the cat finds a forever home. NTCR takes excellent medical care of the rescued cats/kittens in their group. All animals are treated for any illness they may have, and once healthy, they are vaccinated, spayed/neutered, and microchipped prior to adoption. It's a wonderful, caring group of individuals who make a positive difference in the lives of many animals and people!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see them host more fund-raisers (even smaller ones, once a quarter) to help offset some of their medical costs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Since its founding in 2007 NTCR has rescued , placed in foster care and then adopted out to great families thousands of very adoptable cats who found themselves in high kill shelters. The network of foster homes is a great way to socialize the cats and prepare them to be pets and part of someone's family!
I am very privileged to work for this dynamic organization and its awesome volunteers - I should say friends!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

NTCR has been a part of my life for a little over a year now, and it has been a life changing experience. I love knowing that I can help the kitties who are homeless and alone in shelters. The team at NTCR is great!!!! So many wonderful people who have become my friends! I'm so grateful to be a part of something so special!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing all of the great people who give these cats homes!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to market our cause more to receive more funding to help the shelters reduce their populations.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with care of the kitties awaiting adoption in our Adoption Center inside Petsmart in Allen TX Volunteer