Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
174 Reviews
1234.931035
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

What I love about NHCO, among other things, is that it helps people right in our own community who are struggling, often due to things out of their control, such as age or disability, or life interruptions that cause temporary needs (loss of job, accident, etc.). I try to support agencies with global impact but also love that NHCO is helping local folks who have lost their jobs, housing, etc. and need a helping hand. Whether through special projects, like Fall coats or Thanksgiving dinners or school supplies, or ongoing projects like utility assistance and the food pantries and employment resources, they do a fantastic job. I cannot speak more highly of NHCO!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

As a volunteer for NHCO and currently a board member I am so proud to be part of a wonderful organization that does so many wonderful things for so many people in need. It truly is neighbors helping neighbors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Every time I think I know how much NHCO can do, I am surprised to learn there is so much more they are offering their community. I have been involved for nearly a decade, most recently as a Board member, and I am amazed by their breadth and depth of caring. From cars to food to education, NHCO reaches out to those most in need and does what it can. I am gratified to serve and observe each amazing effort.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I have worked with many organizations in my profession and it is refreshing to be affiliated with NHCO. It is rare to see an organization that combines compassion, effectiveness and accountability. It is astonishing how many people are impacted by this group. What an encouragement to know there are resources like this in our community. They are a role model for other non-profits!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

As a Board Member for NHCO, I am constantly in awe of the incredible work that NHCO does for our area residents: They feed the hungry, guide the unemployed, clothe the needy, assist with utility payments, provide companionship and transportation for seniors, and respond to families that face natural disasters such as flood victims. They have a competent and caring staff that attempts to address the diverse needs of the community. We are blessed to have this organization as a safety net for our neighbors in need. Karen Schaeffer

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

North Hills Community Outreach is one of the most caring outreach organizations I have seen. It uses its resources in the most efficient and effective ways possible, to provide the most appropriate services to their clients. It is extremely creative in the numerous ways in which it approaches solutions to peoples' needs. Particularly noteworthy is the Community Auto program, the only such program around Pittsburgh that accepts donated vehicles, rehabs them as appropriate, they sells them at nominal cost to qualified clients in need of transportation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

The work done by the volunteers at North Hills Community Outreach is fantastic. Between the food pantry, the Auto Program, counseling and many other assist services provided by NHCO, our neighbors are in a better place!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

NHCO is a terrific organization. The staff and volunteers care deeply for our clients. NHCO offers a vast array of services - which can be of great help to those in need as so many dots can be connected to help produce a very high level of assistance in multiple areas if needed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2011

more

March 9, 2011

As President of the Pittsburgh Rotary Club, as well as a three year NHCO board member, I have had the opportunity to see how effective and efficient Fay Morgan and her dedicated staff have been in reaching out to the community. Their efforts are tireless, effective, and far reaching.
The
Board is a mixed group of professionals and individuals from many walks of life all cohesively working together to carry forth the mission.
There is no finer, more efficiently, and professionally run non-profit. It is an honor to emulate Fay Morgan's leadership style. NHCO is extremely deserving of being considered for this award.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Watching how much honor and respect is given to each and every food bank recipient as their burden is lightened; by serving on the Board, and by seeing on a continual basis how well the community has been served.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see this non-profit charitable outreach broadened.

February 24, 2011

more

February 24, 2011

I became involved with North Hills Community Outreach through its Community Auto program. The idea of repurposing donated cars by fixing them up and selling them at way below market value to needy individuals and families was so novel! Once involved, I became amazed and impressed by how well-run and well-managed the organization is. You can be sure that any donation given to NHCO is in good hands, and is going to help those who need it most.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

reviewing their programming and financials every quarter as a board member and as a member of the public and government relations committee.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing!

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers