Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.965
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 29, 2012

After talking to many people in North County, it was obvious this community was in need of its own LGBTQ recourse center, for years people drove 30+ miles to feel a since of community. Board members... more

October 31, 2014

Best nonprofit organization in north county to donate money. It's so important to support this center fir all the great work they are doing
June 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After talking to many people in North County, it was obvious this community was in need of its own LGBTQ recourse center, for years people drove 30+ miles to feel a since of community. Board members have worked hard to make this dream come true. We all new how important this would be for people, but the response we have had from the community, volunteers and allies was more than we could have every have wished for. I can truly say that the center is impacting peoples lives, it’s changing the community’s around us. It is an honor to be a part of something that is helping so many people in so many different ways.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Max and Carolyn and their organization are amazing people. We are a better world for them. Linda is so wonderful to helping "EVERYONE"!!! The Center is the forefront for all of our rights. Not just LGBTQ, it is a battle started before anyone heard of that, to keep our rights!!! LGBTQ continues the representation for all of our society to keep from losing our rights and is everyone's "front line".. The Center and staff are there for anyone whom needs help and the many experts that assist at the center know what to do when someone walks in and they can and do can direct each individual situation to a path of safety, understanding, healing and growth. Please support the North County Resource Center. It is a landmark that is there for all of us.. SatieJ
October 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 29, 2012

Located in very near proximity to the largest west coast military base, we opened our doors in December 2011. Our organization was perviously know as the North County LGBT Coalition. It is run by ... more

October 28, 2014

For just under three years, the North County LGBTQ Resource Center (NC Center) has been committed to providing exceptional programs, services, education and advocacy to approximately 700-800 individuals, families, youth and allies on a monthly basis. It has a fun, welcoming atmosphere and is a safe space for all!

Whether you want to donate money, volunteer, or participate in a signature event, there are countless ways to get involved with the NC Center. As a nonprofit organization, the NC Center relies on generous contributions from individuals, corporations, foundations, and public agencies to support our services and programs.

Thank you!

North County LGBTQ Resource Center
510 North Coast Highway
Suite C
Oceanside, CA 92056
(760) 994-1690
http://www.ncresourcecenter.org
June 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Located in very near proximity to the largest west coast military base, we opened our doors in December 2011. Our organization was perviously know as the North County LGBT Coalition.

It is run by a compassionate, caring and cohesive team of diverse volunteers. This may be a young
center, however, it is doing an amazing job to provide services, programs and has brought a real sense of community to this conservative area of North County, San Diego.

The LGBTQ Resource Center sincerely advocates and promotes full inclusion of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, transsexual, intersex and queer identified and questioning individuals and their allies.

We offer a safe meeting space for a variety of community organizations such as “Our Circle” for youth, “Out Serve” for service members, Christy’s Place (that provides comprehensive HIV/AIDS education, support, and advocacy to women, children and families impacted by HIV/AIDS), Vista Community Clinic and the North County Health Services that provide HIV education and rapid on site testing. We strive to empower the community by having cultural events (Pride @ the Beach!, Transgender Day of Remembrance, Carlsbad High “Words Hurt” Campaign Art Show etc.), political activism, social activities.

Unique to this Center, in an effort to recognize and support the local GSA Clubs in North County San Diego, we created the annual Gay, Straight Alliance Awards. In 2012, twelve student run High School GSA Clubs were given a monetary award and recognition for the work they’ve done to end harassment and discrimination in their school’s. By promoting inclusive school climate’s that support all students and celebrates diversity.

It has been an honor and privilege to meet and work with so many wonderful people. Thank you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

North county LGBTQ resource center is an amazing center for resources and information. Everyone there is more than welcoming and never passes judgement. I would definitely volunteer for them again!
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I've been blessed to be able to volunteer for the North County LGBTQ Resource Center. I've never seen a place that is so welcoming. No matter who walks in the door, the first thing they will see is a smile!!!! Max and Linda are always there to help. If it wasn't for them and the amazing team of volunteers I never would've considered volunteering with this organization. They are the foundation of something great!!!!
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

North County LGBTQ Resource Center has provided me with a safe environment to be a volunteer. I have had many opportunities to witness the positive, and diverse, interactions with local youth, businesses, government, and individuals. The biggest impact is the safe environment, and services, that the North County LGBTQ Center provides to the youth of our community.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

The NC LGBTQ Center is a wonderful place to meet people and make friends. Max and Linda and all of the volunteers have done such a great job of reaching out to the "straight" community in Oceanside. We march in the Oceanside Forth of July parade and have many businesses in the community that support us. When I "came out" thirty years ago, there weren't any safe places in the North County. The Center has support groups, social groups and provides a network for younger LGBTQ people. i wish there had been a place like this when I was younger. Our Oceanside Pride this year was wonderful. We had a bouncy house for children and lots of vendors and excellent entertainment. Thank you to everyone connected with the Center!
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

It is with great pleasure I write a review for the NC LGBTQ Resource Center. It is a hard working little Center that takes into consideration all members of the community. With great leadership and outstanding volunteers they accomplish the unbelievable on a small budget.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

The North County LGBTQ in Oceanside, CA serves all of North San Diego County. From youth to seniors, they are meeting the needs of LGBTQ people, their families, and the community at large with many support groups and activities. Their youth groups are very well attended, and they have free HIV testing, social services, and therapy as well. They continue to grow and expand but they need more room and more donated dollars!
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

there are many words that can describe the hard work that this organization does but the words i want to use are "home" and "safe" this place is welcoming to every single individual and the staff and volunteers always make you feel at home and safe. there have been many stories in which this center has helped people when they needed it most. And even though this center is small in square footage it makes up for it with the drive and the passion that is run every day!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Greet our members, outreach in the community, provide a welcoming and inclusive environment. Volunteer