Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.977275
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

SummerSongs is a community for singer songwriters to feel supported emotionally and technically to pursue the passion of making original music. The camps are the main event, happening twice per year on both coasts. This community has been instrumental for me in finding the motivation to write and perform my original music in an environment of encouragement, technical expertise, and friendship; with classes on song crafting, guitar playing, harmony, performance, as well as a wonderful venue to meet other musicians. This is my musical family, a special group of extraordinarily talented and fun-loving folks. I'm a lifer!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

SummerSongs West Songwriting Camp has truly been a life changing experience for me. There is also a SummerSongs East camp in New York for those on the East coast. I attended my first SummerSongs West camp in summer of 2005 and I have not missed one of the two annual camps (SummerSongs West & WinterSongs West) since then. That's 13 camps! And, I'm not alone. The teachers and students I have met at this camp have become like family...we call ourselves a "tribe" because there is an overwhelming feeling from everyone of having found a significant group of like-minded and like-hearted people. The founder, Penny Nichols is wonderful to have started such a safe and supportive place for songwriters to come and hone their craft. And it doesn't matter if you are a beginner or an old pro, the playing field is leveled at camp and everyone shares their unique gifts and talents without fear of being critiqued. All feedback is positive and constructive and meant to help you grow, not shrink from criticism. There is something for everyone at the camps. Our nightly "Coffeehouse" performances are fun and some of the best songwriting I have ever heard! The staff of teachers are very talented, experienced, inspiring and supportive in their workshops. And they are always open to one-on-one help if you want it. I could go on and on, but I can tell you that if you have ever thought you would like to meet other songwriters and explore songwriting, singing and vocal techniques, music (guitar and piano), harmony singing, and more, then the folks at SummerSongs camps will warmly welcome you to the tribe.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

My name is Sheldon, singer for 45 years now mostly in jazz, opera, and classical. My greatest yearning has always been to express my deepest feelings through singing (opera can be really good for that). I tried for years to write my own songs but always hit a wall and gave up. After 911, I just lost the desire to sing anything but what was closest to me (and not in any foreign language), so I essentially stopped performing. And then I found Summersongs songwriting camp! In an environment of such profound support, encouragement, skill, fun, and inspiration I broke through a thick wall called "I can't" and now find "I can" write songs that express my deepest yearnings and I love performing them. This has made an incredibly big shift in my life in all aspects. I continue to go to the Summersongs songwriting camps for the loving supportive community, extreme joy and valuable knowledge that helps me express myself in my own unique way.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 14, 2012

more

May 14, 2012

Summersongs Songwriting Camp changed my life and in turn I have been empowered to reach out and effect change in my own community! Founder and director Penny Nichols created a model for how to run a songwriting camp that is the most effective I have ever experienced. Beyond improving my songwriting and performing, it inspired me to form a local songwriter's group based on her model and then to found an acoustic performance venue that also serves to benefit a local not-for-profit land conservation trust. Artists that perform at the venue also conduct workshops for our community at our venue (as well as in the public schools) which are similar to those I attended at Summersongs. What is so special about Penny Nichol's model? Summersongs provides an emotionally safe environment for artists to take risks and test their limits. Commentary must be solicited directly by each artist according to their desire for input - and when it is given it must always be constructive and kind. The faculty is strictly held accountable to maintain this environment in their classes as well as in song circles. Also, mutual respect for each musician's abilities and artistry is encouraged by requiring everyone that participates in a song circle to listen to everyone in the circle if they are to participate in a round. What happens over the course of camp is quite remarkable. I have seen so many lives enhanced and enriched not only by the musical gifts that are shared and developed at camp, but also by the sense of community and the deep friendships that are formed over the years by the participants that attend. I have never seen anything quite like it. The many connections and friendships I've made continue throughout the year. What attendees learn in camp they take back to their communities, empowered to make a difference where they live. In the future I am looking toward to starting a similar songwriting camp here in Florida. After each camp we all fill out comment sheets giving feedback on the faculty, our personal experiences, and suggestions for improving the camp experience. It is clear from my years of going to camp that those suggestions are carefully considered and acted upon if deemed appropriate. Over time they have found a strong faculty base to draw on and are always trying new faculty after careful screening. The decisions to have faculty come back are very much based on the experience of the campers with those members. Please consider granted an award to Summersongs Songwriting Camp for it's role is promoting the arts while empowering artists to promote the arts in their own communities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 13, 2012

more

May 13, 2012

SummerSongs is a life-changing paradise for songwriters, poets, singers, seekers, and lovers. Set in pristine land in upstate NY (and now in Cambria, Cali), SummerSongs opened me up at a critical time of my life, when I was trying to reconnect with my creative self. Communing with nature, surrounded by open, humble, creative, and giving artists--teachers and students alike--SummerSongs is a nurturing community that will inspire and humble you. From professionals to beginners, SummerSongs has something for everybody, but mostly it is an accepting and giving community of creative people. It will change your life too. Twelve years and one precious CD later, I am forever grateful to founder Penny Nichols and all the beautiful people that stoke the flames of this bonfire of humanity. : ) http://www.reverbnation.com/fredarcoleo

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

both my personal and professional life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it grow! Spread the good news! : )

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

online

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

a blossoming of creativity, connection with fellow artists, exponentially greater gratitude and humility, intestinal fortitude! : )

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

Largely because of this group, I started singing again, and all the things that follow a voice re-opened! This is a very worthy, enormously talented group!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

I have been a songwriter on and off for my whole life, but in recent years,as with so many other people and things, it got relegated to the back burner. Going to SummerSongs totally revivified this ancient interest, plus I got wonderful advice and coaching, and the incredible experience of being in the midst of a warm caring community where it was totally safe to try things out.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

I had never written a song when I attended this camp for a weekend - but I did like to sing, strum my guitar, and play around with words. The people I met were incredibly warm and gracious, even to a "nobody" like me. I was readily swooped up in their energy and found myself connecting with my Musical Muse to write and sing my OWN words. I can't wait until my next chance to attend. GO: They welcome one and all and will change your orientation toward words and music forever. SummerSongs is nothing less than a magical experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

I have been attending SummerSongs songwriting camps since August 2003...I've lost count of how many I've been to! It has been an amazing place with inspirational teachers, wonderful community, opportunities to perform and a beautiful environment to write songs, commune with nature, take long walks, sing with friends, eat great food and so much more.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've now attended three SummerSongs camps and can't wait until my next chance. This camp bills itself as a songwriters' camp, but it is so much more. I've learned more about my voice, my instrument and my craft in the few short days I've been amongst this incredible company of artists than at any other time in my life. SummerSongs promises it will make you a better songwriter, better vocalist, better musician, but in my heart I know, it has made me a better person.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This camp has helped me find the confidence to pursue a late-life career in music. What higher compliment could I pay.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Recommended by a friend.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

SummerSongs has helped me take a lifelong dream and turn it into a reality.

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers