Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.977275
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

I have been a songwriter on and off for my whole life, but in recent years,as with so many other people and things, it got relegated to the back burner. Going to SummerSongs totally revivified this ancient interest, plus I got wonderful advice and coaching, and the incredible experience of being in the midst of a warm caring community where it was totally safe to try things out.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

I had never written a song when I attended this camp for a weekend - but I did like to sing, strum my guitar, and play around with words. The people I met were incredibly warm and gracious, even to a "nobody" like me. I was readily swooped up in their energy and found myself connecting with my Musical Muse to write and sing my OWN words. I can't wait until my next chance to attend. GO: They welcome one and all and will change your orientation toward words and music forever. SummerSongs is nothing less than a magical experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

I have been attending SummerSongs songwriting camps since August 2003...I've lost count of how many I've been to! It has been an amazing place with inspirational teachers, wonderful community, opportunities to perform and a beautiful environment to write songs, commune with nature, take long walks, sing with friends, eat great food and so much more.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've now attended three SummerSongs camps and can't wait until my next chance. This camp bills itself as a songwriters' camp, but it is so much more. I've learned more about my voice, my instrument and my craft in the few short days I've been amongst this incredible company of artists than at any other time in my life. SummerSongs promises it will make you a better songwriter, better vocalist, better musician, but in my heart I know, it has made me a better person.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This camp has helped me find the confidence to pursue a late-life career in music. What higher compliment could I pay.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Recommended by a friend.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

SummerSongs has helped me take a lifelong dream and turn it into a reality.

May 10, 2012

I went to Summersongs in August, 2011. When I arrived I found everyone there to be so friendly I was instantly at ease. I was only there for the Friday - Sunday session but I made friends that will stay with me for life. The classes that I enrolled in were genuinely helpful and made me a better performer. I especially found great help at Sharon Goldman's singing from the core and loan Wainright's vocal class taught me techniques that improved my singing immensely. By the way...The food was wonderful, in its preparation and variety. I will go back.

Videos

Waterline

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

SummerSongs is an organization dedicated to the craft of songwriting. It holds camps in both the Ashokan area of NY and California. Students come from all over the United States to be taught songwriting, performing, how to handle the creative muse and tons of other topics. Classes are taught by masters who are well-respected in their fields and those instructors are known for being accessible and giving of their time and talents to their students. Bonds between the students are forged that can be lifelong in nature, providing support to each other, as well as perhaps providing the opportunity to co-write songs together. People who have attended SummerSongs find that they have grown beyond their own expectations, and leave the camp feeling ready to go out in the other world of work and family with new connections to their creative talents. It's an experience not to be missed in you're a budding songwriter, a mature songwriter, or someone who has never written a song in their life but is ready to be open to the experience. There are other songwriting camps, there are other music camps, but there is only one SummerSongs and it is by far the best place to go in the songwriting field.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my confidence as a songwriter and a performer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are really no practical changes I would make to SummerSongs. The cost is often prohibitive to me but the cost is also not exorbitant. I'd love it if SummerSongs could get underwritten by some fantastic monies that would allow scholarship opportunities for those of us who have trouble funding the experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

I honestly don't remember! I would guess that one of the instructors may have announced it at a concert I attended.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Oh my, there is not enough space to write them all. I've grown in confidence as a songwriter, as a performer. I've learned to understand others and their own motivation better, and I've also learned new things about how to minimize stage fright, write better songs, perform better, from both the instructors and my fellow students. I've been exposed to hundreds and hundreds of amazing performances, from both the instructors and my peers, and the list could go on and on. More than anything, SummerSongs supports live music--both at the camp and when you go back home.

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

Summersongs was a profoundly life-changing experience for me, and continues to be an important source of community, support, learning and growth as a songwriter, teacher and musician. I will continue to recommend it to any and all songwriters or would-be songwriters that I meet as the single most important investment I ever made in myself as an artist. I showed up at camp recovering from cancer, shy and insecure. The support and encouragement I received there was so healing and inspiring. I have seen the most beautiful flowering of people's gifts again and again at camp, as we writers are given a safe and supportive environment to grow in. I cannot measure the camp's total impact on my life, but I sure wouldn't want to live without it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

The benefits of attending Summersongs and Wintersongs are virtually impossible to compute, because they extend far beyond the time spent at camp. Like ripples on the surface of a lake, the experience spreads ever-outward, engendering safety, creativity and caring in places where danger, rigidity and apathy had ruled the day. People have described Summersongs and Wintersongs as "life-changing," "heavenly" and "transcendent."Although such descriptions are indeed accurate, in truth there are no words adequate to describe the magic of the experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

I am a developing singer songwriter, who has been doing it for many years. I have attended classes, workshops, retreats in various locales and with various objectives. Some were more oriented to competing commercially, others more directed at art and self development, some straddling all those. Above and beyond any I've attended are the summersongs/wintersongs camps. They are creative, friendly and have teachers that are highly talented, experienced, understand appreciative inquiry and student directed learning, and comfortable working with learners at many different levels of expertise in music, performance and writing. Penny Nichols who is both a vastly experienced singer songwriter and has a Doctorate in Education applies a low key but intensely thoughtful education design and style that I find is amazingly effective and bringing about growth in all the areas of being a singer songwriter. These camps work really well for students who want to write and sing songs for their own sake but also are very effective for singers developing a professional career. In addition to all the above, the camps are great for group bonding and supportive networking, which are as vital for developing musicians as are the performance and technical aspects of musicianship and writing. In the last 5 years, I've watched many participants go from shy novices to developing stars. I think Penny Nichols' work in organizing and teaching these camps is exemplary and deserves major notice from the world of musical pedagogy. These camps are also kick ass fun.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

What Penny Nichols has started is nothing less than a movement to preserve and maintain the art of Songwriting in this country! Bravo Penny! Leslie Beauvais

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers