Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
114 Reviews
1234.657895
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 1, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 19, 2013

The North American Bear Center in Ely Minnesota has become one of my most favorite places to go every year. The Center is packed with information from videos to books to pictures - and the three bear... more

August 1, 2014

I have visited the NABC the past five years, and hope to continue every year ~ it is such a grand place to learn, meet wonderful people who work there, see the resident bears, and just walk around watching videos and looking at pictures. They have a fantastic enrichment program and the staff are incredibly dedicated and helpful. There is so much to learn from visiting the center, you will want to come back for more. The Hope Learning Center is coming along nicely and it, too, will have vital information about the true nature of black bears and their lives. It's a magical experience...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 19, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center in Ely Minnesota has become one of my most favorite places to go every year. The Center is packed with information from videos to books to pictures - and the three bears that reside there are visible from outside viewing to a huge window inside the Center. There are daily gatherings, teachings, exhibits and more ~ a children's section and new Hope Learning Center soon to open. One could spend a day there and not see it all! The gift shop has something for everybody - at great prices. It has provided thousands of visitors a chance to truly understand the Black Bear and how to co-exist with them. The staff at the NABC consists of loyal, hardworking and knowledgeable employees and volunteers who make it their mission to give each and every visitor a warm welcome and a reason to return. There is something for everyone - regardless of age - to learn and to remember with fondness. It is a magical experience, for sure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have learned more about black bears and how they live from the North American Bear Center. Dr. Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield, biologists, have gained the trust of the research bears and never use tranquilizers to collar them or check their heart rates. They are humane and dedicated researchers who have spent countless hours making this educational process what it is today. They are about what is best for the bears, and how to spread the word about these wonderful creatures. I admire and respect their work and their humanity, and will forever be indebted to them for what I have learned.
Kerry Mahoney

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

You will not find a more dedicated and professional group of people who work for the North American Bear Center. The Wildlife Research Institute biologists, Lynne Rogers and Sue Mansfield, have done more to educate thousands of people all over the world about the black bear and how they live their lives in their natural environment. Their tireless efforts and compassion have enlightened and inspired countless followers who trust and respect their humane research. Children of all ages are now able to learn about and understand these amazing bears in classrooms throughout the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I have been to Ely the last 3 summers for vacation. The first place I stop is the NABC. I love to go there, see the displays and see the bears. Contrary to some other reviews I've read, they do not keep the bears "locked up" in cages. They have their den areas where they rest but the bears are out a lot. I particularly enjoyed seeing Holly, the newest resident bear. This 19 month old bear is a joy to watch. It's especially fun to watch her and Lucky play and to see her start to stand up to Honey, the dominant female. The staff and volunteers are great. They are always ready and willing to help, to answer questions or to inform us of what the bears are doing and why. The gift shop has a lot of merchandise, most of which is very reasonable. I could have spent a lot of money there. I highly suggest people stop by there, especially if you have children. It's very educational. Before I started going to Ely, I thought all bears were aggressive and violent. Not so with the American Black Bear. They are gentle creatures. They are very smart. They are wonderful mothers to their cubs. Do yourself a favor. Go see the NABC.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 18, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2013

I have volunteered for years for this wonderful organization, I have learned so much, and help to educate people on the importance of co existing with our wildlife, in this case Black Bears. I respec... more

January 18, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I have followed the work of Dr Rogers and Sue Mansfield of the NABC and the WRI in Ely, MN. I have to say they have changed my entire view of the North American Black Bear. Learning about how they live, what causes them to react to many things, and how to deal with being around a black bear, is so great to know. I do not fear them, but I respect them as Dr. Rogers says, he teaches how to co-exist , yet in the realm of things he teaches how to hunt as well in a way that is most humane. Wonderful place to see, wonderful place to learn.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add more den cams, so seeing how they live in the wild prepares us for an encounter, and having more classes that teach about the North American Black Bear.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered for years for this wonderful organization, I have learned so much, and help to educate people on the importance of co existing with our wildlife, in this case Black Bears. I respect the work and dedication, Dr Rogers and Sue Mansfield have done. The hours of work, and more than 250 volunteers make this a wonderful place to visit and learn.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That the DNR of Minnesota allow the research to continue, it is to important to lose.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 18, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2013

I have been watching the Ted, Honey and Lucky now for 5 years from the pond chat at NABC , This is a wonder place to learn about the black bears, and they also have a wonderful gift shop. .. more

January 18, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful place to take you family for a visit a learn all about the black bear .

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing the NABC is doing a wonderful thing with their new changes with the Hope Learing Centre

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I have been watching the Ted, Honey and Lucky now for 5 years from the pond chat at NABC , This is a wonder place to learn about the black bears, and they also have a wonderful gift shop. ..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing .. The NABC have been making changes that is a great thing ..

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 12, 2014

more

January 12, 2014

Under new management, very poor experience! We waited for over an hour to see a bear only to eventually find out they were locked up away from visitors view. Walking around the few exhibits we had questions but no one there could answer them. $38.00 for 4 of us, definitely not worth the money.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire knowledgeable people. Do not keep the bears locked up in small enclosures.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 9, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 9, 2014

In 2013, The bears are now locked up in small cages all day long. But when I visited in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and all 3 bears were visible if you stayed for more than an hour. The bears now look depressed and angry . Why ?
The new staff does not appear to know how to run the
place. The have scripted answers for your questions, and it feels like a museum. They call it a museum now, and ignore the needs of the resident bears.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get some new staff and a new Bear curator.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Not worth your TIME or MONEY. We brought our Grandchildren to see the bears. Wait time was over an hour to be led up a rough incline to view bears in a cage.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow the 3 bears to be outside their cages and into the fenced in enclosure. More people to give out accurate information. We often heard the same questions with completely different answers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I've learned so many things about the black bear from the North American Bear Center. This organization has taught me and countless others, how and where black bear den, what happens in the den during birth, family interactions, what bears eat & how they survive in a bad food year, how bears are not the ferocious animal that some make them out to be, how mother bears share their territory with their cubs & possibly the most valuable information they provide is, the importance of people learning to coexist with bears and how this is possible. This is just a smidgen of the information learned from the North American Bear Center. The information about black bears, that they provide is priceless. They make learning fun and interesting and I recommend them to every one I know.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The NABC is a great nonprofit. I am a teacher in CA and thanks to Dr. Rogers, Sue Mansfield and all at the NABC our class has followed the collared black bears for 2 years. NABC gives my "city" students the opportunity to step inside the Northwoods of MN and enjoy their science lessons following the black bears.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NABC is such a great organization that it doesn't need changes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I have been to the NABC several times in the past year and will happily go back again and again. The displays are educational and easy to understand. Knowledgeable and friendly staff and volunteers are available to explain everything. It's a family friendly place with displays and interactive areas just for kids. Honey, Ted and Lucky, the resident bears, provide an up close look at an animal that most people will never see in the wild. I'm looking forward to the opening of the educational center next spring.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

join the Bear Fun & Facts Team or become a Lily the Black Bear Facebook or Pond Chat Moderator Volunteer