Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
120 Reviews
1234.6755
Write A Review
October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Have had an interest in bears for many years, found the website of the North American Bear Centre on line, have learned more about bears on there than anywhere, in fact I found it so appealing I travelled from the UK just to visit the bear centre , you will not be disappointed! And of course they have the 3 resident Black Bears, Ted, Honey and Lucky, I urge anyone who wants to learn about bears to visit the Bear centre , will be going back again soon !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have always been drawn to bears- not sure why but Smokey the Bear was my favorite story book as a young child. I had always heard how dangerous bears were but i loved them just the same. Then I found the NABC and started learning what bears were really about and saw and learned from Honey, Ted and Lucky firsthand how intelligent yet timid a bear could be. Watching the bears work with enrichment toys proved how smart and curious bears are. The staff and volunteers at NABC is one of the most dedicated group of workers I have ever had the pleasure to see in action and be a very small part of. I wish i lived close enough and was wealthy enough to help them more than i can right now. For now I can do my online volunteering and spread the word about this wonderful organization and to teach others what they have taught me- some of it taught by the people of the NABC and some taught by the bears.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Excellent informative displays and videos from bears living in the wild. Highly educational facility. Staff very helpful and engaging. Live den cams are a must to see and experience. I didn't realize that hibernating bears do not sleep the whole time as we were told. Mother bears actually take care of their cubs many hours a day, in between taking naps.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for the NABC for 2.5 years and have visited the Center on two occasions in the last three years. The reason I am so fond and supportive of the center is due to their sense of the need for research in the Minnesota northland and an equivalent need for a better understanding of the black bears we have come to know. I have found Dr. Lynn Rogers to be an ecological thinker and a guide to a modern environmental consciousness. All the staff at the center promote coexistence as well as cohesiveness in the world regardless of species. It is difficult to express in words the sense of knowlege as well as tranquility that the work of the center brings to those who visit and understand the work done. Additionally, those connected with the center stimulate an excitement about learning in visitors of all ages and locations in the world. There is such value that their work brings; a sense of fairness and ethics sorely needed our world today.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Excellent displays, information, video, current information on bears. Live bears help you learn behavior, interactions, and food preferences. The Center teaches with audio, visual, and sensory methods to accommodate our individual ways of learning and all ages. The wonderful children's room contains toys, pelts, books. microscopes, a children's den. Learn from the bear food garden outside the museum. Walk on trails to learn plants and get a feel of the north woods. Hoping to open next summer is an ecology addition that tells about other creatures and plants in the world of the bear. This addition will have an interactive learning center.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them expand with even more learning experiences.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 24, 2013

I am a volunteer with the North American Bear Center in Ely, MN. Like many, I found them with the den cam placed in Lily the Black Bear's den in 2010. I used the den cam and the daily research Up... more

October 22, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center in Ely, MN is a state of the art educational setting to learn the truth about the American Black Bear. There are over 60 video displays, full size bear mounts, and three living black bears who call NABC home. Schools bring students to the Center for hands on learning. A world wide audience watches live cameras year round that show the three bears roaming their 2.5 acre enclosed forested area. Live cams in dens during hibernation show that bears definitely are not asleep all winter long. The NABC has become a destination place at "the end of the road" in Ely, MN. In 2014 the Hope Education Building will be opening, along with the Northwoods Exhibit of animals, plants, and the sounds of the north woods that the black bears would come in contact with in the wild.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer with the North American Bear Center in Ely, MN. Like many, I found them with the den cam placed in Lily the Black Bear's den in 2010. I used the den cam and the daily research Updates in a class of middle school students who did not enjoy anything to do with reading. We read about Hope each morning. Through that connection I made my first trip to Ely and met the staff of NABC and volunteered for the Educational Outreach Program. Teachers and educators from around the country developed curriculum, meeting Minnesota Graduation Standards, that can be taught by educators from preschool - high school levels. This year I was able to take part in the Bear Keeper course so had direct contact with the bears, staff, and most importantly, visitors from around the world who came to Ely to learn about the bears. I support the NABC and love to share what I have learned about black bears.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

The NABC provides so many fun and educational ways to learn about bears. The web site and Center is filled with information about primarily black bears but also brown bears and polar bears. The website has a webcam and chat line focusing on the Center's three resident bears, Ted, Lucky and Honey. The bears have 2 1/2 wooded acres that can be observed from the deck at the Center. The Center is filled with videos, film, photography, print information, taxidermy of bears and a woodland trail. Opening soon is an Ecology exhibit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center provides so much information and research through their bear center and website, that I have learned so much about Black Bears that I would have never learned anywhere else. I was fortunate enough to have witnessed Jewel give birth to Fern and Herbie 2 years ago and it sparked my interest so much that I am now a volunteer.
Thank you,
Deborah J Macklin

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 16, 2013

Rarely in adult life do you get opportunities to learn about and experience life in a way that enhances -indeed changes- your own view of the natural world. Having watched the wonderful work of Dr Lyn... more

October 20, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I live in New Zealand, where there are no bears, and discovered the NABC through watching the live dencams. My interest in bears grew and I travelled to Ely to do a bear study course and visit the NABC, which certainly didn't disappoint !! Not only is it an excellent center for education (as a teacher I would love to be able to take children to there) but there are also 3 resident bears who just "do what bears do," and are absolutely fascinating to watch. Their natural habitat and freedom allows them to demonstrate the true nature of black bears and the respect with which the staff hold the bears is wonderful to see.
The NABC also has an authentic welcoming environment, which is not always a "given" in wildlife centers. The displays are amazing and a lot to take in (especially when there is bear activity outside) and the staff and volunteers are friendly, informed and are ready to answer all the questions about black bears (and other wildlife) that you can ask! Because I live so far away, I have also been very appreciative of their excellent mail order service from the shop...they just can't do enough to help!
I can't wait to go back to Ely, sometime in the future. And the NABC will be my first port of call when I do!! I look forward to seeing the new Hope Learning Center and other new additions... and of course, the bears!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Somehow find a way to make it easier for Dr Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield to extend their expertise between the NABC and the WRI without having to fight for the continuation of their valuable research, a fight that is which is such a distraction. The NABC and the WRI have proven beyond all doubt to be wonderful assets to the area, and to the wildlife in the area, so I guess I cannot understand the actions of the DNR in Minnesota. From an outsider looking in, it seems so futile, and so sad.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Rarely in adult life do you get opportunities to learn about and experience life in a way that enhances -indeed changes- your own view of the natural world. Having watched the wonderful work of Dr Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield from afar ( N.Z.) via the Internet, I was privileged last year to do their Bear-study course and while there, to visit the NABC. Nothing I can say in these few words will adequately describe how wonderful an experience it was. Professionally, these people, and those who work and volunteer at the NABC, are at the very top of their game, and I suspect this is due not only to their passion about bears, but also their passion about people and their desire to educate and dispel the myths - harmful to both ursine and human species- that have evolved over the centuries.
Add to this excellence a whole lot if fun and humour and you will start to get a picture of the NABC /WRI. I simply can't wait to go again!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I first came across the NABC after watching My Family & Me on the BBC. As a result I started following the adventures of Ted E, Honey & Lucky on live cams & pond chat, which led me to volunteer as a den watcher. My first year was the winter Lucky & Ted shared a den, a fabulous introduction to the bears & their antics. Since then I have been privileged to share in the lives of these fabulous creature, even though I live in the UK. Like thousands of others I have learned about the true nature of bears from watching & recording the den cams, reading the updates and learning from the bear facts on the website & on Facebook. I am currently saving to come to Ely, to visit the NABC & see the beautiful Northwoods.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not to the organisation, but certainly to the permit under which Dr Rogers and Ms Mansfield carry out their research - particularly with regard to the current ban on den cams. This is such an invaluable educational resource and was accessed by individuals and schools around the globe.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

join the Bear Fun & Facts Team or become a Lily the Black Bear Facebook or Pond Chat Moderator Volunteer