Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
1234.633035
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Excellent displays, information, video, current information on bears. Live bears help you learn behavior, interactions, and food preferences. The Center teaches with audio, visual, and sensory methods to accommodate our individual ways of learning and all ages. The wonderful children's room contains toys, pelts, books. microscopes, a children's den. Learn from the bear food garden outside the museum. Walk on trails to learn plants and get a feel of the north woods. Hoping to open next summer is an ecology addition that tells about other creatures and plants in the world of the bear. This addition will have an interactive learning center.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them expand with even more learning experiences.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 24, 2013

I am a volunteer with the North American Bear Center in Ely, MN. Like many, I found them with the den cam placed in Lily the Black Bear's den in 2010. I used the den cam and the daily research Up... more

October 22, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center in Ely, MN is a state of the art educational setting to learn the truth about the American Black Bear. There are over 60 video displays, full size bear mounts, and three living black bears who call NABC home. Schools bring students to the Center for hands on learning. A world wide audience watches live cameras year round that show the three bears roaming their 2.5 acre enclosed forested area. Live cams in dens during hibernation show that bears definitely are not asleep all winter long. The NABC has become a destination place at "the end of the road" in Ely, MN. In 2014 the Hope Education Building will be opening, along with the Northwoods Exhibit of animals, plants, and the sounds of the north woods that the black bears would come in contact with in the wild.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer with the North American Bear Center in Ely, MN. Like many, I found them with the den cam placed in Lily the Black Bear's den in 2010. I used the den cam and the daily research Updates in a class of middle school students who did not enjoy anything to do with reading. We read about Hope each morning. Through that connection I made my first trip to Ely and met the staff of NABC and volunteered for the Educational Outreach Program. Teachers and educators from around the country developed curriculum, meeting Minnesota Graduation Standards, that can be taught by educators from preschool - high school levels. This year I was able to take part in the Bear Keeper course so had direct contact with the bears, staff, and most importantly, visitors from around the world who came to Ely to learn about the bears. I support the NABC and love to share what I have learned about black bears.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

The NABC provides so many fun and educational ways to learn about bears. The web site and Center is filled with information about primarily black bears but also brown bears and polar bears. The website has a webcam and chat line focusing on the Center's three resident bears, Ted, Lucky and Honey. The bears have 2 1/2 wooded acres that can be observed from the deck at the Center. The Center is filled with videos, film, photography, print information, taxidermy of bears and a woodland trail. Opening soon is an Ecology exhibit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center provides so much information and research through their bear center and website, that I have learned so much about Black Bears that I would have never learned anywhere else. I was fortunate enough to have witnessed Jewel give birth to Fern and Herbie 2 years ago and it sparked my interest so much that I am now a volunteer.
Thank you,
Deborah J Macklin

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 16, 2013

Rarely in adult life do you get opportunities to learn about and experience life in a way that enhances -indeed changes- your own view of the natural world. Having watched the wonderful work of Dr Lyn... more

October 20, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I live in New Zealand, where there are no bears, and discovered the NABC through watching the live dencams. My interest in bears grew and I travelled to Ely to do a bear study course and visit the NABC, which certainly didn't disappoint !! Not only is it an excellent center for education (as a teacher I would love to be able to take children to there) but there are also 3 resident bears who just "do what bears do," and are absolutely fascinating to watch. Their natural habitat and freedom allows them to demonstrate the true nature of black bears and the respect with which the staff hold the bears is wonderful to see.
The NABC also has an authentic welcoming environment, which is not always a "given" in wildlife centers. The displays are amazing and a lot to take in (especially when there is bear activity outside) and the staff and volunteers are friendly, informed and are ready to answer all the questions about black bears (and other wildlife) that you can ask! Because I live so far away, I have also been very appreciative of their excellent mail order service from the shop...they just can't do enough to help!
I can't wait to go back to Ely, sometime in the future. And the NABC will be my first port of call when I do!! I look forward to seeing the new Hope Learning Center and other new additions... and of course, the bears!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Somehow find a way to make it easier for Dr Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield to extend their expertise between the NABC and the WRI without having to fight for the continuation of their valuable research, a fight that is which is such a distraction. The NABC and the WRI have proven beyond all doubt to be wonderful assets to the area, and to the wildlife in the area, so I guess I cannot understand the actions of the DNR in Minnesota. From an outsider looking in, it seems so futile, and so sad.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Rarely in adult life do you get opportunities to learn about and experience life in a way that enhances -indeed changes- your own view of the natural world. Having watched the wonderful work of Dr Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield from afar ( N.Z.) via the Internet, I was privileged last year to do their Bear-study course and while there, to visit the NABC. Nothing I can say in these few words will adequately describe how wonderful an experience it was. Professionally, these people, and those who work and volunteer at the NABC, are at the very top of their game, and I suspect this is due not only to their passion about bears, but also their passion about people and their desire to educate and dispel the myths - harmful to both ursine and human species- that have evolved over the centuries.
Add to this excellence a whole lot if fun and humour and you will start to get a picture of the NABC /WRI. I simply can't wait to go again!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I first came across the NABC after watching My Family & Me on the BBC. As a result I started following the adventures of Ted E, Honey & Lucky on live cams & pond chat, which led me to volunteer as a den watcher. My first year was the winter Lucky & Ted shared a den, a fabulous introduction to the bears & their antics. Since then I have been privileged to share in the lives of these fabulous creature, even though I live in the UK. Like thousands of others I have learned about the true nature of bears from watching & recording the den cams, reading the updates and learning from the bear facts on the website & on Facebook. I am currently saving to come to Ely, to visit the NABC & see the beautiful Northwoods.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not to the organisation, but certainly to the permit under which Dr Rogers and Ms Mansfield carry out their research - particularly with regard to the current ban on den cams. This is such an invaluable educational resource and was accessed by individuals and schools around the globe.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
February 14, 2013

I have learned more about black bears and how they live from the North American Bear Center. Dr. Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield, biologists, have gained the trust of the research bears and never use t... more

October 19, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center in Ely Minnesota has become one of my most favorite places to go every year. The Center is packed with information from videos to books to pictures - and the three bears that reside there are visible from outside viewing to a huge window inside the Center. There are daily gatherings, teachings, exhibits and more ~ a children's section and new Hope Learning Center soon to open. One could spend a day there and not see it all! The gift shop has something for everybody - at great prices. It has provided thousands of visitors a chance to truly understand the Black Bear and how to co-exist with them. The staff at the NABC consists of loyal, hardworking and knowledgeable employees and volunteers who make it their mission to give each and every visitor a warm welcome and a reason to return. There is something for everyone - regardless of age - to learn and to remember with fondness. It is a magical experience, for sure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have learned more about black bears and how they live from the North American Bear Center. Dr. Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield, biologists, have gained the trust of the research bears and never use tranquilizers to collar them or check their heart rates. They are humane and dedicated researchers who have spent countless hours making this educational process what it is today. They are about what is best for the bears, and how to spread the word about these wonderful creatures. I admire and respect their work and their humanity, and will forever be indebted to them for what I have learned.
Kerry Mahoney

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

You will not find a more dedicated and professional group of people who work for the North American Bear Center. The Wildlife Research Institute biologists, Lynne Rogers and Sue Mansfield, have done more to educate thousands of people all over the world about the black bear and how they live their lives in their natural environment. Their tireless efforts and compassion have enlightened and inspired countless followers who trust and respect their humane research. Children of all ages are now able to learn about and understand these amazing bears in classrooms throughout the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I love this charity and everyone involved in it. I have learnt so much about Black Bears, and other species, and the surrounding fauna. Schoolchildren go there on excursions and are warmly welcomed, and have alot of fun while learning. Being from the UK, this is my no 1 destination to visit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That the DNR give their full support to the research, and continue to allow the den cams every winter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

This is the premier facility in the world to understand and lean about North American Bears, particularly Black Bears. From the rescued Black Bears in residence, to the reading, video, pictures, and childrens center, it is not only educational, but a very fun place to visit. You will learn so much and enjoy every moment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center is a top shelf organization and is very well run. I have been a volunteer for four years and I wouldn't trade it for anything I've ever done. The staff at the bear center is second to none and extremely easy to work with and add to that the displays, the many video monitors, and the beautifully well kept grounds and you have a recipe for 100% success. It's truly an honor to volunteer for such a fantastic organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing !!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

join the Bear Fun & Facts Team or become a Lily the Black Bear Facebook or Pond Chat Moderator Volunteer