Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
1234.633035
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
January 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 17, 2013

I would like to say a few words on my experience going to Ely this yr for the Lilypad picnic..At first when we made it to the Bear Center to sign in for our name badges. I meet some of the Lily fans ... more

January 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The bear center is the place to be to learn all about the center bears and the research bears!! Made my trip there last yr and I loved every minute of it! Every one should go in there life time! You will not want to leave. Very nice volunteers that work there and there is so much more to learn..Please mark this down on your list of things to do!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I would like to say a few words on my experience going to Ely this yr for the Lilypad picnic..At first when we made it to the Bear Center to sign in for our name badges. I meet some of the Lily fans signing in an then when I walked into the Center I could not believe my eyes how Beautiful it was in side an to meet all my FB friends on Lily's wall was so uplifting an every one was very friendly an so nice to be around, Then I saw Doc walking in the door an I got the biggest bear hug from the bear man himself an it was a joy to finally meet him an meeting Mrs. Donna Rogers she is a sweet heart in an out an we talked about having Doc put some food on Pat's tree for Lucky to climb up but she said that Doc told her the bears were on a diet we laugh an then I saw Lucky coming an got over 375 pic's why I was there..At the picnic it was truly amazing an then I bough some tickets an had my Daughter Lisa put in the jar for the Ground Breaking Shovel with Doc an Donna name on it..My Daughter said mom they are calling the number for the shovel but i was doing something an then they called my name an I had tears in my I was so excited to win the shovel that started the Ground Breaking for the Hope Center...My visit to Ely was the best thing that ever happened an I hope to come back again..I say it's the best place to visit and I would recommend every one to visit Ely Minnesota in your life time. A wonderful place..Sheryl Keller

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change it for the world!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

I have not been to the north american bear center but would love to see Ted-Honey-Lucky, And to see all the nice things that the center has to offer.And i have been learning all that i can about black bears with the help from Dr.Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield.I think it is wounder full to keep others educated on these beautiful animals.The more we learn the more we all understand the way these bears live.And help in the misconceptions of these beautiful animals.And I own it all to Dr.Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 5, 2012

The North American Bear Center has a wealth of information, but we have so much more to learn. Even Dr. Rogers will tell you after over 44 years of research, he does not know everything about black b... more

January 18, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

As soon as you walk in the doors to the NABC, you will see many smiling faces eager to answer any questions, and to guide you through the many exhibits that are at the center. These folks are eager to educate all visitors and not just information on the black bear, but a wide variety of creatures as well, polar bears, wolves etc. You will not regret your visit to the NABC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. The NABC has a wonderful, talented, and knowledgeable staff. The center is filled with information, videos, and so much more about black bears/bears, information that you will not find anywhere else. This is a first class organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 5, 2012
17 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center has a wealth of information, but we have so much more to learn. Even Dr. Rogers will tell you after over 44 years of research, he does not know everything about black bears. A visit to the NABC in Ely MN will be well worth your time. Please support the new Education Building. Every little bit helps.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

As a volunteer I am so looking forward to my visit to the NABC in 2014. I can't wait to see the resident bears,Honey,Lucky,and Ted. The addition of Holly Bear in December is so exciting,and I can't wait to see how she reacts to her new "friends". I have been following the research of Dr. Lynn Rogers,and Sue Mansfield for four years now,and have learned so much about the North American Black Bear through their education,and webcams,and will continue to support them 100%.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

The den cams, websites online updates, emails, and of course the wonderful NABC building itself give so many opportunities to learn about black bears. Since the age of 3 I've loved bears. This wonderful non-profit organization has provided so many learning opportunities. Through Dr. Rogers' and Sue Manfields research many myths have been unraveled about bears partically the ones portraying Black Bears in a negative light. Through their education we can co-exist with these magnificent animals. I've had the opportunity to not only volunteer as a Den cam monitor but to also attend Dr. Rogers' Black Bear Field Study program. The learning experiences that I have had are amazing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to allow Dr. Rogers research to continue without threats or interference from DNR.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

This is the most amazing animal research group. They have done so much to educate the public as to the real personalities of the North American black bear and showing us that they are gentle, shy creatures. I am a 6th grade teacher in So. Calif. The work of the NABC/WRI has been a mainstay in my science curriculum because of the real life/real time information my students have learned. I still have students from the first year the den webcams were shown (Lily and the birth of Hope) who contact me each year to tell me they too are still learning and following the bears. My students all feel they are part of the research as we all learn together. I can't say enough about Dr Rogers, Sue Mansfield and the other people with the NABC. Outstanding biologists as well as very ethical people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 10, 2012

The North American Bear Center is a wonderful place to learn about bears. There are 3 resident bears that live in a beautifully well maintained wooded area with waterfalls and a swimming pond. There... more

October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I learned about the North American Bear Center when the live birth of a cub named "Hope" was broadcast on the internet. Since then getting to the NABC was on my bucket list. Even though it's about an 8 hour drive from here, my husband and I have been to the North American Bear Center twice and it's been an enriching experience with so much to see and learn. You can easily spend a day browsing through the photo gallery, watching bears through a large viewing window, and watching the excellent videos. There is also an exhibit area for kids. With humans encroaching into bear territory, the center educates people about how to coexist in harmony with black bears and highlights the work of the black bear researchers. I highly recommend taking a trip there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2012
19 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center is a wonderful place to learn about bears. There are 3 resident bears that live in a beautifully well maintained wooded area with waterfalls and a swimming pond. There is a deck and a large indoor viewing window where you can see them when they walk past. The displays and exhibits at the Center are extensive, and it's easy to spend at least one whole day visiting there. I highly recommend it and am going back again this year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Have had an interest in bears for many years, found the website of the North American Bear Centre on line, have learned more about bears on there than anywhere, in fact I found it so appealing I travelled from the UK just to visit the bear centre , you will not be disappointed! And of course they have the 3 resident Black Bears, Ted, Honey and Lucky, I urge anyone who wants to learn about bears to visit the Bear centre , will be going back again soon !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have always been drawn to bears- not sure why but Smokey the Bear was my favorite story book as a young child. I had always heard how dangerous bears were but i loved them just the same. Then I found the NABC and started learning what bears were really about and saw and learned from Honey, Ted and Lucky firsthand how intelligent yet timid a bear could be. Watching the bears work with enrichment toys proved how smart and curious bears are. The staff and volunteers at NABC is one of the most dedicated group of workers I have ever had the pleasure to see in action and be a very small part of. I wish i lived close enough and was wealthy enough to help them more than i can right now. For now I can do my online volunteering and spread the word about this wonderful organization and to teach others what they have taught me- some of it taught by the people of the NABC and some taught by the bears.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Excellent informative displays and videos from bears living in the wild. Highly educational facility. Staff very helpful and engaging. Live den cams are a must to see and experience. I didn't realize that hibernating bears do not sleep the whole time as we were told. Mother bears actually take care of their cubs many hours a day, in between taking naps.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for the NABC for 2.5 years and have visited the Center on two occasions in the last three years. The reason I am so fond and supportive of the center is due to their sense of the need for research in the Minnesota northland and an equivalent need for a better understanding of the black bears we have come to know. I have found Dr. Lynn Rogers to be an ecological thinker and a guide to a modern environmental consciousness. All the staff at the center promote coexistence as well as cohesiveness in the world regardless of species. It is difficult to express in words the sense of knowlege as well as tranquility that the work of the center brings to those who visit and understand the work done. Additionally, those connected with the center stimulate an excitement about learning in visitors of all ages and locations in the world. There is such value that their work brings; a sense of fairness and ethics sorely needed our world today.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

join the Bear Fun & Facts Team or become a Lily the Black Bear Facebook or Pond Chat Moderator Volunteer