Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
120 Reviews
1234.6755
| 1 2 3 4...10 |
Write A Review
December 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

So exciting for the educational bldg. and Holly the bear cub this year! Everyone will enjoy it!
Susan999 was dissatisfied with the viewing arrangements on her trip there this month and gave a 1 star. I hope we all can talk her into coming back again in the summer. The bears will be out and
enjoying the pond and land.
The antics of the new cub will be priceless! Maybe the Bear Center can give Susan999 a discount.
I guarantee she will have a better experience.
I have learned so much about bears in the past couple years. Many more years of learning to come!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 24, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 24, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the Bear Center. The live bears do come out of their cages and walk around a beautiful natural setting. If you are elsewhere in the Center, the loudspeaker announces when a bear is out so you don't miss it. The day I went, they were not out the entire day but for several hours. You can take photos of them from an outdoor bridge as well as watch them through a large indoor window with seating.

However, this place is about much more than just going to see live bears, and the occasional talk about them by a researcher. There are many exhibits on bear behavior, including lots of videos of bears in the wild (including footage of bears in their dens via "den cams") and other materials developed by the researchers such as recordings of sounds that bears make that can be played by pressing buttons. I also enjoyed a large exhibit on how bears are portrayed with a "fierce" image in magazines and movies, when in reality black bears just aren't that fierce. Lots of great bear photographs taken by the researchers too. For children, there is a whole children's room to teach about bears through touching things and other kid-friendly exhibits. There are some very large taxidermed animals such as a moose in addition to bears.

The NABC is one way that the Wildlife Research Institute (the research arm of the Center that studies bears and reports on the findings) educates the public. I already knew a lot about the WRI from social media, but while at the Bear Center I also had a chance to see a very nice documentary on its work with bears, which plays in the movie theater continuously. I was also privileged to take one of the classes offered by WRI researchers and learn even more about bears. This organization is the only one I know that is actively reaching out to the public about bears and getting them interested and involved.

Visit the NABC and you will probably learn some very cool things about bears. This is not simply a "bear zoo" where you take your kids to look at the bears, it's more on the level of the Smithsonian or a similar educational institution, so come prepared to learn! There are also many other ways to get information about bears from the NABC and WRI, including website updates about bears being followed by the researchers, e-mails, and social media pages. I have loved the opportunity to challenge my beliefs about bears and learn more about these wonderful creatures!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The Bear Center is in the process of being improved with some more engaging exhibits and I would continue to do this. Also they are getting a new little bear which I think will be interesting to visitors!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Not worth your TIME or MONEY. We brought our Grandchildren to see the bears. Wait time was over an hour to be led up a rough incline to view bears in a cage.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow the 3 bears to be outside their cages and into the fenced in enclosure. More people to give out accurate information. We often heard the same questions with completely different answers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center and the Wildlife Research Institute have studied the black bears of the Minnesota north woods for 40 years. Their innovative approach to working with bears without tranquilizers or invasive means has allowed them to see bears in their natural habitat and in their relationships with other bears and their own cubs. The den cams allowed, for the first time, researchers and the world to rejoice in the birth of Hope on camera. She was later murdered by a human predator. The Hope Learning Center is in her honor. This is an OUTSTANDING organization that is truly a Great Non profit and deserves the support of all who enjoy wildlife.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut down the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (Do Not Research) for their efforts to limit and close down the successful activities of the North American Bear Center.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

The den cams, websites online updates, emails, and of course the wonderful NABC building itself give so many opportunities to learn about black bears. Since the age of 3 I've loved bears. This wonderful non-profit organization has provided so many learning opportunities. Through Dr. Rogers' and Sue Manfields research many myths have been unraveled about bears partically the ones portraying Black Bears in a negative light. Through their education we can co-exist with these magnificent animals. I've had the opportunity to not only volunteer as a Den cam monitor but to also attend Dr. Rogers' Black Bear Field Study program. The learning experiences that I have had are amazing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to allow Dr. Rogers research to continue without threats or interference from DNR.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

This organization opened my eyes to the wonderful world of black bears. I had always respected them, but NABC has educated my family and me about how the intelligent and peaceful bears are. This research group is absolutely wonderful and I have never been associated with such a highly respected organization. I am very thankful for all the wonderful work they & I know God is blessing them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes to the organization, but I wish I lived in Ely, MN so I could work for them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center is great non-profit providing valuable information to learn how to co-exist with these beautiful bears. I have learned more about black bears from NABC than anywhere else. The three bears at the center are loved and well cared for by a dedicated staff. I would recommend anyone who has an interest in wildlife and ecology to visit the center or their web page at www.bear.org

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

This is the most amazing animal research group. They have done so much to educate the public as to the real personalities of the North American black bear and showing us that they are gentle, shy creatures. I am a 6th grade teacher in So. Calif. The work of the NABC/WRI has been a mainstay in my science curriculum because of the real life/real time information my students have learned. I still have students from the first year the den webcams were shown (Lily and the birth of Hope) who contact me each year to tell me they too are still learning and following the bears. My students all feel they are part of the research as we all learn together. I can't say enough about Dr Rogers, Sue Mansfield and the other people with the NABC. Outstanding biologists as well as very ethical people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I've learned so many things about the black bear from the North American Bear Center. This organization has taught me and countless others, how and where black bear den, what happens in the den during birth, family interactions, what bears eat & how they survive in a bad food year, how bears are not the ferocious animal that some make them out to be, how mother bears share their territory with their cubs & possibly the most valuable information they provide is, the importance of people learning to coexist with bears and how this is possible. This is just a smidgen of the information learned from the North American Bear Center. The information about black bears, that they provide is priceless. They make learning fun and interesting and I recommend them to every one I know.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Have had an interest in bears for many years, found the website of the North American Bear Centre on line, have learned more about bears on there than anywhere, in fact I found it so appealing I travelled from the UK just to visit the bear centre , you will not be disappointed! And of course they have the 3 resident Black Bears, Ted, Honey and Lucky, I urge anyone who wants to learn about bears to visit the Bear centre , will be going back again soon !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

join the Bear Fun & Facts Team or become a Lily the Black Bear Facebook or Pond Chat Moderator Volunteer