Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
1234.633035
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have always been drawn to bears- not sure why but Smokey the Bear was my favorite story book as a young child. I had always heard how dangerous bears were but i loved them just the same. Then I found the NABC and started learning what bears were really about and saw and learned from Honey, Ted and Lucky firsthand how intelligent yet timid a bear could be. Watching the bears work with enrichment toys proved how smart and curious bears are. The staff and volunteers at NABC is one of the most dedicated group of workers I have ever had the pleasure to see in action and be a very small part of. I wish i lived close enough and was wealthy enough to help them more than i can right now. For now I can do my online volunteering and spread the word about this wonderful organization and to teach others what they have taught me- some of it taught by the people of the NABC and some taught by the bears.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center is a wonderful place. I've spent hours there watching videos of the wild bears living their lives. The exhibits are beautifully done and very informative. Love the one that shows all the different kinds of seeds found in a bear's scat. When you want to take a break from the exhibits you can spend time looking at the beautiful pond, maybe one of the resident bears will come by. The NABC does so much to educate people about black bears.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The NABC is a great nonprofit. I am a teacher in CA and thanks to Dr. Rogers, Sue Mansfield and all at the NABC our class has followed the collared black bears for 2 years. NABC gives my "city" students the opportunity to step inside the Northwoods of MN and enjoy their science lessons following the black bears.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NABC is such a great organization that it doesn't need changes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Excellent informative displays and videos from bears living in the wild. Highly educational facility. Staff very helpful and engaging. Live den cams are a must to see and experience. I didn't realize that hibernating bears do not sleep the whole time as we were told. Mother bears actually take care of their cubs many hours a day, in between taking naps.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for the NABC for 2.5 years and have visited the Center on two occasions in the last three years. The reason I am so fond and supportive of the center is due to their sense of the need for research in the Minnesota northland and an equivalent need for a better understanding of the black bears we have come to know. I have found Dr. Lynn Rogers to be an ecological thinker and a guide to a modern environmental consciousness. All the staff at the center promote coexistence as well as cohesiveness in the world regardless of species. It is difficult to express in words the sense of knowlege as well as tranquility that the work of the center brings to those who visit and understand the work done. Additionally, those connected with the center stimulate an excitement about learning in visitors of all ages and locations in the world. There is such value that their work brings; a sense of fairness and ethics sorely needed our world today.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I have been to the NABC several times in the past year and will happily go back again and again. The displays are educational and easy to understand. Knowledgeable and friendly staff and volunteers are available to explain everything. It's a family friendly place with displays and interactive areas just for kids. Honey, Ted and Lucky, the resident bears, provide an up close look at an animal that most people will never see in the wild. I'm looking forward to the opening of the educational center next spring.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Excellent displays, information, video, current information on bears. Live bears help you learn behavior, interactions, and food preferences. The Center teaches with audio, visual, and sensory methods to accommodate our individual ways of learning and all ages. The wonderful children's room contains toys, pelts, books. microscopes, a children's den. Learn from the bear food garden outside the museum. Walk on trails to learn plants and get a feel of the north woods. Hoping to open next summer is an ecology addition that tells about other creatures and plants in the world of the bear. This addition will have an interactive learning center.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them expand with even more learning experiences.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

This "charity" preys on the lonely and vulnerable by sharing cutesy bedtime stories in their nightly update. They are shameless in their solicitation of funds, even though the principal owns over $1,000,000 of land in the Ely area. They are masters of manipulation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove it's 501(c)3 status.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 24, 2013

I am a volunteer with the North American Bear Center in Ely, MN. Like many, I found them with the den cam placed in Lily the Black Bear's den in 2010. I used the den cam and the daily research Up... more

October 22, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center in Ely, MN is a state of the art educational setting to learn the truth about the American Black Bear. There are over 60 video displays, full size bear mounts, and three living black bears who call NABC home. Schools bring students to the Center for hands on learning. A world wide audience watches live cameras year round that show the three bears roaming their 2.5 acre enclosed forested area. Live cams in dens during hibernation show that bears definitely are not asleep all winter long. The NABC has become a destination place at "the end of the road" in Ely, MN. In 2014 the Hope Education Building will be opening, along with the Northwoods Exhibit of animals, plants, and the sounds of the north woods that the black bears would come in contact with in the wild.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer with the North American Bear Center in Ely, MN. Like many, I found them with the den cam placed in Lily the Black Bear's den in 2010. I used the den cam and the daily research Updates in a class of middle school students who did not enjoy anything to do with reading. We read about Hope each morning. Through that connection I made my first trip to Ely and met the staff of NABC and volunteered for the Educational Outreach Program. Teachers and educators from around the country developed curriculum, meeting Minnesota Graduation Standards, that can be taught by educators from preschool - high school levels. This year I was able to take part in the Bear Keeper course so had direct contact with the bears, staff, and most importantly, visitors from around the world who came to Ely to learn about the bears. I support the NABC and love to share what I have learned about black bears.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

The NABC provides so many fun and educational ways to learn about bears. The web site and Center is filled with information about primarily black bears but also brown bears and polar bears. The website has a webcam and chat line focusing on the Center's three resident bears, Ted, Lucky and Honey. The bears have 2 1/2 wooded acres that can be observed from the deck at the Center. The Center is filled with videos, film, photography, print information, taxidermy of bears and a woodland trail. Opening soon is an Ecology exhibit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

join the Bear Fun & Facts Team or become a Lily the Black Bear Facebook or Pond Chat Moderator Volunteer