Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
114 Reviews
1234.657895
| 1 2 3 4...10 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center is great non-profit providing valuable information to learn how to co-exist with these beautiful bears. I have learned more about black bears from NABC than anywhere else. The three bears at the center are loved and well cared for by a dedicated staff. I would recommend anyone who has an interest in wildlife and ecology to visit the center or their web page at www.bear.org

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

This is the most amazing animal research group. They have done so much to educate the public as to the real personalities of the North American black bear and showing us that they are gentle, shy creatures. I am a 6th grade teacher in So. Calif. The work of the NABC/WRI has been a mainstay in my science curriculum because of the real life/real time information my students have learned. I still have students from the first year the den webcams were shown (Lily and the birth of Hope) who contact me each year to tell me they too are still learning and following the bears. My students all feel they are part of the research as we all learn together. I can't say enough about Dr Rogers, Sue Mansfield and the other people with the NABC. Outstanding biologists as well as very ethical people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I've learned so many things about the black bear from the North American Bear Center. This organization has taught me and countless others, how and where black bear den, what happens in the den during birth, family interactions, what bears eat & how they survive in a bad food year, how bears are not the ferocious animal that some make them out to be, how mother bears share their territory with their cubs & possibly the most valuable information they provide is, the importance of people learning to coexist with bears and how this is possible. This is just a smidgen of the information learned from the North American Bear Center. The information about black bears, that they provide is priceless. They make learning fun and interesting and I recommend them to every one I know.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Have had an interest in bears for many years, found the website of the North American Bear Centre on line, have learned more about bears on there than anywhere, in fact I found it so appealing I travelled from the UK just to visit the bear centre , you will not be disappointed! And of course they have the 3 resident Black Bears, Ted, Honey and Lucky, I urge anyone who wants to learn about bears to visit the Bear centre , will be going back again soon !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have always been drawn to bears- not sure why but Smokey the Bear was my favorite story book as a young child. I had always heard how dangerous bears were but i loved them just the same. Then I found the NABC and started learning what bears were really about and saw and learned from Honey, Ted and Lucky firsthand how intelligent yet timid a bear could be. Watching the bears work with enrichment toys proved how smart and curious bears are. The staff and volunteers at NABC is one of the most dedicated group of workers I have ever had the pleasure to see in action and be a very small part of. I wish i lived close enough and was wealthy enough to help them more than i can right now. For now I can do my online volunteering and spread the word about this wonderful organization and to teach others what they have taught me- some of it taught by the people of the NABC and some taught by the bears.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center is a wonderful place. I've spent hours there watching videos of the wild bears living their lives. The exhibits are beautifully done and very informative. Love the one that shows all the different kinds of seeds found in a bear's scat. When you want to take a break from the exhibits you can spend time looking at the beautiful pond, maybe one of the resident bears will come by. The NABC does so much to educate people about black bears.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The NABC is a great nonprofit. I am a teacher in CA and thanks to Dr. Rogers, Sue Mansfield and all at the NABC our class has followed the collared black bears for 2 years. NABC gives my "city" students the opportunity to step inside the Northwoods of MN and enjoy their science lessons following the black bears.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NABC is such a great organization that it doesn't need changes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Excellent informative displays and videos from bears living in the wild. Highly educational facility. Staff very helpful and engaging. Live den cams are a must to see and experience. I didn't realize that hibernating bears do not sleep the whole time as we were told. Mother bears actually take care of their cubs many hours a day, in between taking naps.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for the NABC for 2.5 years and have visited the Center on two occasions in the last three years. The reason I am so fond and supportive of the center is due to their sense of the need for research in the Minnesota northland and an equivalent need for a better understanding of the black bears we have come to know. I have found Dr. Lynn Rogers to be an ecological thinker and a guide to a modern environmental consciousness. All the staff at the center promote coexistence as well as cohesiveness in the world regardless of species. It is difficult to express in words the sense of knowlege as well as tranquility that the work of the center brings to those who visit and understand the work done. Additionally, those connected with the center stimulate an excitement about learning in visitors of all ages and locations in the world. There is such value that their work brings; a sense of fairness and ethics sorely needed our world today.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I have been to the NABC several times in the past year and will happily go back again and again. The displays are educational and easy to understand. Knowledgeable and friendly staff and volunteers are available to explain everything. It's a family friendly place with displays and interactive areas just for kids. Honey, Ted and Lucky, the resident bears, provide an up close look at an animal that most people will never see in the wild. I'm looking forward to the opening of the educational center next spring.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

join the Bear Fun & Facts Team or become a Lily the Black Bear Facebook or Pond Chat Moderator Volunteer