Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
120 Reviews
1234.6755
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
August 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2013

I am a proud "virtual" volunteer with the North American Bear Center. I became involved several years ago when Dr. Lynn Rogers, chief researcher, installed a den cam that allowed the world to witness... more

August 17, 2014

I have been a remote volunteer (and donor) for four years and have been enriched by all I have learned along the way. Although I live out of state, I am dedicated to the mission of the North American Bear Center - to replace misconceptions about black bears with facts. I have visited the Center numerous times and am continually impressed and educated by the range of exhibits and programs - from the Cub Room for children to nature trails for all, behind the scenes photo tours, multi-media exhibits, life-size mounts, and a vast array of educational displays.

And, of course, a chance to view ambassador bears Ted, Lucky, Honey, and Holly as they live their bear lives in a beautiful 2-acre enclosure including waterfalls and pond.

One day is simply not enough.

Initially founded in 2007 as bear biologist Dr. Lynn Rogers' lifelong passion, the NABC is a forward-thinking organization. It has grown to create programs that reach beyond its walls - traveling black boxes for educators; daily podcasts on the activities of the ambassador bears in residence; live Web cam from the enclosure; a family-friendly Web chat room where fans become friends; international speakers bureau and volunteer program; nightly updates by Dr. Rogers himself, and so much more.

Run to Ely to visit the North American Bear Center, or at the very least, tune in!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I am a proud "virtual" volunteer with the North American Bear Center. I became involved several years ago when Dr. Lynn Rogers, chief researcher, installed a den cam that allowed the world to witness the birth of Lily's Hope and learn what happens during hibernation. Like all who tuned in, I was hooked by the thrill of watching the bear world up close and personal and learning directly from the bears. I soon became a pond chat addict, forging strong bonds of friendship with other Lily and Hope fans. A "bearhead" community was born.

As the denning season drew to a close that first year, the cameras and my attention turned to the ambassador bears on-site at the NABC, Ted, Lucky, and Honey. They live in a man-made habitat where they can forage and climb trees and play and den. I learned so much by watching their daily antics and reading about their behavior and habits in Dr. Rogers' nightly updates.

I jumped in to volunteer as the Volunteer Coordinator, formalizing and expanding the global volunteer program which has attracted talented, dedicated volunteers in 13 countries. Others jumped in to start a Facebook page and organize highly successful fund raising campaigns. The BBC jumped in to film several documentaries.

The NABC is a unique non-profit. It is the culmination of Dr. Rogers' long career thinking about and interacting with bears in an entirely new way. And, his desire to share his knowledge (replacing myth with facts) so that humans and bears can co-exist. And, his determination to stay the course despite overwhelming obstacles. Dr. Rogers embodies the American pioneer spirit.

I have had the privilege of visiting the NABC twice. It is an amazing place. The exhibits, programs, videos, mounts, and photographs are top-notch, designed with attention to detail and facts. The staff is welcoming, well-informed and dedicated to caring for the ambassador bears and educating the public. The gift shop is well-stocked with one-of-a-kind items.

The NABC is making an impact around the world - on the life of bears and the humans that want to learn about them. It is a national treasure.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to expand volunteer and fund-raising initiatives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

Absolutely wonderful place to visit if you want to learn more about bears, their habitat and behaviors. Also a lot of information regarding other wildlife who share the Northwoods. I have been to the NABC at least 4 times and never get tired of learning....you can't help but learn when you go there! the videos are the best.....to see actual bear behavior in the wild is priceless. And I will DEFINTELY be going back....there's always more to learn!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There's nothing I would change....obviously the NABC is run by incredibly knowledgeable people who are the best at what they do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 18, 2013

Kindle your relationship with Nature and the beauty of Minnesota's Northwoods, with a visit to the North American Bear Center. Young & old alike are enthralled by the beauty of the exhibits and educa... more

August 4, 2014

I have made the North American Bear Center a destination vacation for three years. The opportunity to see the ambassador bears in a setting that mimics the wild habitat as much as possible for animals in captivity, has been awe-inspiring. Learning about wild bear behavior has made me better equipped to co-exist with the animals in my rural home. You can't help but become engaged by the bears and can't help but learn something in the highly entertaining yet education-centric environment. And the web-cams make it possible to "return" to the NABC any time I want.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know of anything I would change ~ it's a well run organization with people standing in line to volunteer!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Kindle your relationship with Nature and the beauty of Minnesota's Northwoods, with a visit to the North American Bear Center. Young & old alike are enthralled by the beauty of the exhibits and education about the region and its flora and fauna is achieved, almost by osmosis! I have spend several days there, and haven't absorbed everything yet. So, I'll be going back as often as I can to see the live bears & the facts about wild animals including bears and how we humans can be better neighbors to them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 15, 2012
18 people found this review helpful

I have had the distinct privilege of visiting the NABC, meeting the staff, volunteers, Dr. Rogers and Sue Mansfield, and meeting THE BEARS. If you have not afforded yourself that opportunity, please put it on your bucket list! The Black Bear has been vilified erroneously for generations but if you open your minds and hearts, you will learn truth from fiction. One of the most docile of creatures whose life is spent in search of food, preferably wild, natural food, the black bear is more apt to be afraid of humans than to approach them. These huge creatures, weighing as much as 700 pounds in the wild, are gentle enough to handle a new born the size of a stick of butter without inflicting any harm. The work of Dr. Rogers and Sue Mansfield, research conducted under the auspices of the Wildlife Research Institute, is awesome to say the least, and groundbreaking. The three bears who live at the NABC are no longer "wild", but were rescued by Dr. Rogers; 2 were "pets" until they became too large for their captors. The NABC environment is as close to wild as could be... and the bears are ambassadors for their wild North American counterparts and other similar bear species world wide. I cannot say enough about the awesome experience of getting to see the bears up close, and getting to meet the folks who have made Mother Earth and the Black Bear their life's work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 4, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2013

Wonderful place to learn the truth about black bears. more

August 4, 2014

I have been to the North American Bear Center numerous times. I HIGHLY recommend it to everyone, including families with children. If anyone wants to hear the truth about black bears, this is the place to go. There are many display's and articles about black bears. There are also 4 resident black bears that live there that cannot be released back into the wild for numerous reasons. Please give yourself at least 2 hours to see everything. I assure you, you will not be disappointed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Wonderful place to learn the truth about black bears.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

The NABC represents an entity that has truly made a difference in the world of nature and bears in particular. It is a place of learning, a people-oriented visiting area to see bears in a large living environment where one may see bears as they live in a totally safe place. It is not 'the wild'; it is as close as anyone can observe from a safe place. Their organization is admirable. During the time I volunteered, we viewed instruction videos, it was all so easy and doable; they have first class people working there, several who have applied their already honed skills in their previous careers, to this organization. They are all passionate and their mission is clear. I support this organization wholly in passing on all that I've learned wherever I can; as well as in the form of donations. I also support Doc Rogers' work, inspite of the 'forces' that have targeted his research, which interestingly strengthened the thought that bears are not those vicious predators that 'hunters' have made them out to be. The education and outreach programs have been superly run, and the school children who were lucky enough to see the den cams with mothers and their newborn cubs, will have a special memory and hopefully be inspired to continue the worthy mission of more bear education.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I had to consider *MY ROLE* because I have, in fact, never been to the NABC. Yet, I visit the website daily and have since 2010 when Lily the wild black bear was in labor in a den in the woods of Northern Minnesota, I was hooked. A thirst for knowledge of not only black bears, but nature, in general. Dr Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield has never failed to amaze me. The recent addition of little Holly as indeed been a blessing. The NABC has served to educate people throughout the entire world and has developed programs to be implemented in schools to replace misconceptions that have been ingrained in peoples minds for years about black bears with current scientific research. The NABC is on my bucket list! My experiences listed below signified by *checks* are my visits by internet and heart. :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 28, 2013

I learned about the North American Bear Center when the live birth of a cub named "Hope" was broadcast on the internet. Since then getting to the NABC was on my bucket list. Even though it's about a... more

August 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful place for both children and adults to learn about bears. I've been to the NABC every 4 years and will continue to return. It's a long drive for us, but well worth it. The displays are fantastic and they are now adding another addition to the NABC...a large northwoods ecology exhibit.

The 4 ambassador bears are free to roam on 2.5 wooded acres with natural food to forage on and many trees to climb. There is a beautiful pond for them with a bridge and 3 waterfalls. It's really fun to watch the bears from an outdoor balcony or from the expansive indoor viewing window. I can't say enough about how I enjoy watching the bears interact.

I've been a volunteer den watcher for 4 years and have learned so much about mother and cub behavior. Each mother has her own individual way of caring for her cubs. I feel very appreciated for the work I do. I also volunteer on Lily the Black Bear Facebook page for the Bear Facts and Fun group adding educational information in a creative format. As humans continue to encroach on black bear territory, we need to understand these beautiful gentle creatures. The more we learn, the more we can peacefully coexist. The NABC is a great place to learn and have fun at the same time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I learned about the North American Bear Center when the live birth of a cub named "Hope" was broadcast on the internet. Since then getting to the NABC was on my bucket list. Even though it's about an 8 hour drive from here, my husband and I have been to the North American Bear Center twice and it's been an enriching experience with so much to see and learn. You can easily spend a day browsing through the photo gallery, watching bears through a large viewing window, and watching the excellent videos. There is also an exhibit area for kids. With humans encroaching into bear territory, the center educates people about how to coexist in harmony with black bears and highlights the work of the black bear researchers. I highly recommend taking a trip there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2012
19 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center is a wonderful place to learn about bears. There are 3 resident bears that live in a beautifully well maintained wooded area with waterfalls and a swimming pond. There is a deck and a large indoor viewing window where you can see them when they walk past. The displays and exhibits at the Center are extensive, and it's easy to spend at least one whole day visiting there. I highly recommend it and am going back again this year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 19, 2013

The North American Bear Center in Ely Minnesota has become one of my most favorite places to go every year. The Center is packed with information from videos to books to pictures - and the three bear... more

August 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have visited the NABC the past five years, and hope to continue every year ~ it is such a grand place to learn, meet wonderful people who work there, see the resident bears, and just walk around watching videos and looking at pictures. They have a fantastic enrichment program and the staff are incredibly dedicated and helpful. There is so much to learn from visiting the center, you will want to come back for more. The Hope Learning Center is coming along nicely and it, too, will have vital information about the true nature of black bears and their lives. It's a magical experience...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 19, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center in Ely Minnesota has become one of my most favorite places to go every year. The Center is packed with information from videos to books to pictures - and the three bears that reside there are visible from outside viewing to a huge window inside the Center. There are daily gatherings, teachings, exhibits and more ~ a children's section and new Hope Learning Center soon to open. One could spend a day there and not see it all! The gift shop has something for everybody - at great prices. It has provided thousands of visitors a chance to truly understand the Black Bear and how to co-exist with them. The staff at the NABC consists of loyal, hardworking and knowledgeable employees and volunteers who make it their mission to give each and every visitor a warm welcome and a reason to return. There is something for everyone - regardless of age - to learn and to remember with fondness. It is a magical experience, for sure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have learned more about black bears and how they live from the North American Bear Center. Dr. Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield, biologists, have gained the trust of the research bears and never use tranquilizers to collar them or check their heart rates. They are humane and dedicated researchers who have spent countless hours making this educational process what it is today. They are about what is best for the bears, and how to spread the word about these wonderful creatures. I admire and respect their work and their humanity, and will forever be indebted to them for what I have learned.
Kerry Mahoney

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

You will not find a more dedicated and professional group of people who work for the North American Bear Center. The Wildlife Research Institute biologists, Lynne Rogers and Sue Mansfield, have done more to educate thousands of people all over the world about the black bear and how they live their lives in their natural environment. Their tireless efforts and compassion have enlightened and inspired countless followers who trust and respect their humane research. Children of all ages are now able to learn about and understand these amazing bears in classrooms throughout the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been to Ely the last 3 summers for vacation. The first place I stop is the NABC. I love to go there, see the displays and see the bears. Contrary to some other reviews I've read, they do not keep the bears "locked up" in cages. They have their den areas where they rest but the bears are out a lot. I particularly enjoyed seeing Holly, the newest resident bear. This 19 month old bear is a joy to watch. It's especially fun to watch her and Lucky play and to see her start to stand up to Honey, the dominant female. The staff and volunteers are great. They are always ready and willing to help, to answer questions or to inform us of what the bears are doing and why. The gift shop has a lot of merchandise, most of which is very reasonable. I could have spent a lot of money there. I highly suggest people stop by there, especially if you have children. It's very educational. Before I started going to Ely, I thought all bears were aggressive and violent. Not so with the American Black Bear. They are gentle creatures. They are very smart. They are wonderful mothers to their cubs. Do yourself a favor. Go see the NABC.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I have been a den watcher since the winter of 2012. Seeing how mother bears take care of and interact with their infant cubs has been an invaluable experience. If not for the work NABC is doing I would still think black bears are vicious, people-eating beasts. But seeing how tender and loving momma bears are with their babies has gone a long way towards dispelling my previous notions about black bears. I would not change the experience I've had working as a den watcher for the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

join the Bear Fun & Facts Team or become a Lily the Black Bear Facebook or Pond Chat Moderator Volunteer