Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
114 Reviews
1234.657895
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
August 1, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 28, 2013

I learned about the North American Bear Center when the live birth of a cub named "Hope" was broadcast on the internet. Since then getting to the NABC was on my bucket list. Even though it's about a... more

August 1, 2014

This is a wonderful place for both children and adults to learn about bears. I've been to the NABC every 4 years and will continue to return. It's a long drive for us, but well worth it. The displays are fantastic and they are now adding another addition to the NABC...a large northwoods ecology exhibit.

The 4 ambassador bears are free to roam on 2.5 wooded acres with natural food to forage on and many trees to climb. There is a beautiful pond for them with a bridge and 3 waterfalls. It's really fun to watch the bears from an outdoor balcony or from the expansive indoor viewing window. I can't say enough about how I enjoy watching the bears interact.

I've been a volunteer den watcher for 4 years and have learned so much about mother and cub behavior. Each mother has her own individual way of caring for her cubs. I feel very appreciated for the work I do. I also volunteer on Lily the Black Bear Facebook page for the Bear Facts and Fun group adding educational information in a creative format. As humans continue to encroach on black bear territory, we need to understand these beautiful gentle creatures. The more we learn, the more we can peacefully coexist. The NABC is a great place to learn and have fun at the same time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I learned about the North American Bear Center when the live birth of a cub named "Hope" was broadcast on the internet. Since then getting to the NABC was on my bucket list. Even though it's about an 8 hour drive from here, my husband and I have been to the North American Bear Center twice and it's been an enriching experience with so much to see and learn. You can easily spend a day browsing through the photo gallery, watching bears through a large viewing window, and watching the excellent videos. There is also an exhibit area for kids. With humans encroaching into bear territory, the center educates people about how to coexist in harmony with black bears and highlights the work of the black bear researchers. I highly recommend taking a trip there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2012
19 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center is a wonderful place to learn about bears. There are 3 resident bears that live in a beautifully well maintained wooded area with waterfalls and a swimming pond. There is a deck and a large indoor viewing window where you can see them when they walk past. The displays and exhibits at the Center are extensive, and it's easy to spend at least one whole day visiting there. I highly recommend it and am going back again this year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 19, 2013

The North American Bear Center in Ely Minnesota has become one of my most favorite places to go every year. The Center is packed with information from videos to books to pictures - and the three bear... more

August 1, 2014

I have visited the NABC the past five years, and hope to continue every year ~ it is such a grand place to learn, meet wonderful people who work there, see the resident bears, and just walk around watching videos and looking at pictures. They have a fantastic enrichment program and the staff are incredibly dedicated and helpful. There is so much to learn from visiting the center, you will want to come back for more. The Hope Learning Center is coming along nicely and it, too, will have vital information about the true nature of black bears and their lives. It's a magical experience...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 19, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center in Ely Minnesota has become one of my most favorite places to go every year. The Center is packed with information from videos to books to pictures - and the three bears that reside there are visible from outside viewing to a huge window inside the Center. There are daily gatherings, teachings, exhibits and more ~ a children's section and new Hope Learning Center soon to open. One could spend a day there and not see it all! The gift shop has something for everybody - at great prices. It has provided thousands of visitors a chance to truly understand the Black Bear and how to co-exist with them. The staff at the NABC consists of loyal, hardworking and knowledgeable employees and volunteers who make it their mission to give each and every visitor a warm welcome and a reason to return. There is something for everyone - regardless of age - to learn and to remember with fondness. It is a magical experience, for sure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have learned more about black bears and how they live from the North American Bear Center. Dr. Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield, biologists, have gained the trust of the research bears and never use tranquilizers to collar them or check their heart rates. They are humane and dedicated researchers who have spent countless hours making this educational process what it is today. They are about what is best for the bears, and how to spread the word about these wonderful creatures. I admire and respect their work and their humanity, and will forever be indebted to them for what I have learned.
Kerry Mahoney

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

You will not find a more dedicated and professional group of people who work for the North American Bear Center. The Wildlife Research Institute biologists, Lynne Rogers and Sue Mansfield, have done more to educate thousands of people all over the world about the black bear and how they live their lives in their natural environment. Their tireless efforts and compassion have enlightened and inspired countless followers who trust and respect their humane research. Children of all ages are now able to learn about and understand these amazing bears in classrooms throughout the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I have been to Ely the last 3 summers for vacation. The first place I stop is the NABC. I love to go there, see the displays and see the bears. Contrary to some other reviews I've read, they do not keep the bears "locked up" in cages. They have their den areas where they rest but the bears are out a lot. I particularly enjoyed seeing Holly, the newest resident bear. This 19 month old bear is a joy to watch. It's especially fun to watch her and Lucky play and to see her start to stand up to Honey, the dominant female. The staff and volunteers are great. They are always ready and willing to help, to answer questions or to inform us of what the bears are doing and why. The gift shop has a lot of merchandise, most of which is very reasonable. I could have spent a lot of money there. I highly suggest people stop by there, especially if you have children. It's very educational. Before I started going to Ely, I thought all bears were aggressive and violent. Not so with the American Black Bear. They are gentle creatures. They are very smart. They are wonderful mothers to their cubs. Do yourself a favor. Go see the NABC.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I have been a den watcher since the winter of 2012. Seeing how mother bears take care of and interact with their infant cubs has been an invaluable experience. If not for the work NABC is doing I would still think black bears are vicious, people-eating beasts. But seeing how tender and loving momma bears are with their babies has gone a long way towards dispelling my previous notions about black bears. I would not change the experience I've had working as a den watcher for the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

This is my third year of volunteering for the North American Bear Center and I plan to continue! What a wonderful place! Everyone is friendly and informative. They are dedicated to educating the public about the North American Black Bear and coexisting with them. Dr. Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield do amazing work..... Love them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 17, 2013

I would like to say a few words on my experience going to Ely this yr for the Lilypad picnic..At first when we made it to the Bear Center to sign in for our name badges. I meet some of the Lily fans ... more

January 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The bear center is the place to be to learn all about the center bears and the research bears!! Made my trip there last yr and I loved every minute of it! Every one should go in there life time! You will not want to leave. Very nice volunteers that work there and there is so much more to learn..Please mark this down on your list of things to do!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I would like to say a few words on my experience going to Ely this yr for the Lilypad picnic..At first when we made it to the Bear Center to sign in for our name badges. I meet some of the Lily fans signing in an then when I walked into the Center I could not believe my eyes how Beautiful it was in side an to meet all my FB friends on Lily's wall was so uplifting an every one was very friendly an so nice to be around, Then I saw Doc walking in the door an I got the biggest bear hug from the bear man himself an it was a joy to finally meet him an meeting Mrs. Donna Rogers she is a sweet heart in an out an we talked about having Doc put some food on Pat's tree for Lucky to climb up but she said that Doc told her the bears were on a diet we laugh an then I saw Lucky coming an got over 375 pic's why I was there..At the picnic it was truly amazing an then I bough some tickets an had my Daughter Lisa put in the jar for the Ground Breaking Shovel with Doc an Donna name on it..My Daughter said mom they are calling the number for the shovel but i was doing something an then they called my name an I had tears in my I was so excited to win the shovel that started the Ground Breaking for the Hope Center...My visit to Ely was the best thing that ever happened an I hope to come back again..I say it's the best place to visit and I would recommend every one to visit Ely Minnesota in your life time. A wonderful place..Sheryl Keller

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change it for the world!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

I have not been to the north american bear center but would love to see Ted-Honey-Lucky, And to see all the nice things that the center has to offer.And i have been learning all that i can about black bears with the help from Dr.Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield.I think it is wounder full to keep others educated on these beautiful animals.The more we learn the more we all understand the way these bears live.And help in the misconceptions of these beautiful animals.And I own it all to Dr.Lynn Rogers and Sue Mansfield.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 5, 2012

The North American Bear Center has a wealth of information, but we have so much more to learn. Even Dr. Rogers will tell you after over 44 years of research, he does not know everything about black b... more

January 18, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

As soon as you walk in the doors to the NABC, you will see many smiling faces eager to answer any questions, and to guide you through the many exhibits that are at the center. These folks are eager to educate all visitors and not just information on the black bear, but a wide variety of creatures as well, polar bears, wolves etc. You will not regret your visit to the NABC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. The NABC has a wonderful, talented, and knowledgeable staff. The center is filled with information, videos, and so much more about black bears/bears, information that you will not find anywhere else. This is a first class organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 5, 2012
17 people found this review helpful

The North American Bear Center has a wealth of information, but we have so much more to learn. Even Dr. Rogers will tell you after over 44 years of research, he does not know everything about black bears. A visit to the NABC in Ely MN will be well worth your time. Please support the new Education Building. Every little bit helps.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2013

I have volunteered for years for this wonderful organization, I have learned so much, and help to educate people on the importance of co existing with our wildlife, in this case Black Bears. I respec... more

January 18, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I have followed the work of Dr Rogers and Sue Mansfield of the NABC and the WRI in Ely, MN. I have to say they have changed my entire view of the North American Black Bear. Learning about how they live, what causes them to react to many things, and how to deal with being around a black bear, is so great to know. I do not fear them, but I respect them as Dr. Rogers says, he teaches how to co-exist , yet in the realm of things he teaches how to hunt as well in a way that is most humane. Wonderful place to see, wonderful place to learn.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add more den cams, so seeing how they live in the wild prepares us for an encounter, and having more classes that teach about the North American Black Bear.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered for years for this wonderful organization, I have learned so much, and help to educate people on the importance of co existing with our wildlife, in this case Black Bears. I respect the work and dedication, Dr Rogers and Sue Mansfield have done. The hours of work, and more than 250 volunteers make this a wonderful place to visit and learn.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That the DNR of Minnesota allow the research to continue, it is to important to lose.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 18, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

As a volunteer I am so looking forward to my visit to the NABC in 2014. I can't wait to see the resident bears,Honey,Lucky,and Ted. The addition of Holly Bear in December is so exciting,and I can't wait to see how she reacts to her new "friends". I have been following the research of Dr. Lynn Rogers,and Sue Mansfield for four years now,and have learned so much about the North American Black Bear through their education,and webcams,and will continue to support them 100%.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


4 previous reviews - show all
October 17, 2013

great organization teaching the world about bears. been there 3 times an always love watching the 3 resident bears, TED, LUCKY, an HONEY. many videos showing bears in the wild from birth on. have s... more

January 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

GREAT place to visit. i was there in 2013 an will go again in 2014. the bear center has brought me back to journeys to ELY,MN after many years of not going there. NABC has given me a MAIN REASON for going again. TED, LUCKY, an HONEY are so interesting to watch an enjoy. the addition of HOLLY bear in DECEMBER gives added incentive to visit. ALL the bears are greatly loved an cared for.

ANY negative comments in reviews are by a couple people with personal vendetta against NABC an people who support the organization. please ignore their untruths.

i have donated to NABC an will continue to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing to change except for me to support them an promote them more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

great organization teaching the world about bears. been there 3 times an always love watching the 3 resident bears, TED, LUCKY, an HONEY. many videos showing bears in the wild from birth on. have supported NABC since i saw the birth of a black bear cub named HOPE. will continue to support them an get bear education out to the world. while at the NABC, i always hear foreign languages since it draws tourists in an i always see them enjoying themselves there. hope to visit them yearly now !

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been supporting NABC since 2010 since I found out about them via a tv report. Ive been there in 2010 spring an saw in person what a great place it is. I will continue to support them an their bear education. Its great to see the resident bears Ted, Lucky an Honey in their 2 1/2 acres. Bit even greater is seeing the videos an educational material on the wild black bears near ELY,MN. The black bear is a very misunderstood animal and NABC is showing the truth about the everyday life of them. On a sacle of 1 to 10 i give them an 11.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Been to NABC a couple years ago. It was a great learning experience. the educational value to learn about black bears is a 10 out of 10. they have 3 bears in a great 2 acre plus enclosure. it is worth the time to visit an enjoy Lucky, Ted, an Honey the 3 resident bears.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 5, 2012
16 people found this review helpful

ive been to the center an met the resident bears, ted, lucky an honey. ive also followed the research bears since the first den cam. its been a very educational an fun learning experience. i knew very little about black bears, even though i had contact with them near ely, minnesota. i have supported an will continue to support both the north american bear center an wildlife research institute in their bear education to the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

join the Bear Fun & Facts Team or become a Lily the Black Bear Facebook or Pond Chat Moderator Volunteer