Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12.75345
Write A Review
December 23, 2014

more

December 23, 2014

In 2014, Horse Plus drove a very large stock trailer with partitions and another large, multi-horse trailer hundreds of miles on the incident I know of (I've been told about their traveling 1000,'s of miles to help out with other wild horse rescues). At the very difficult incident I'm familiar with, Horse Plus assisted another animal rescue/welfare nonprofit. Their expertise in corralling, loading, safely transporting over rough terrain, and carefully unloading extremely wild and unpredictable horses at the destination was both professional and compassionate. There were concerns for the safety of both the volunteers and the horses, but Horse Plus folks knew what they were doing. When I say "wild," I mean that in the fullest sense of the word. They volunteered their services and transported all the horses to safety. Horse Plus's integrity, expertise, and willingness to offer their services raised the bar for horse rescue groups. We fully support them and their wonderful work.
November 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is NOT a horse rescue, this is a scam and the animals pay the price. They are NOT a HUMANE Society, it is Just a name. People do not realize this, they are misleading and dishonest. Their mission is to keep horses from going to slaughter, BUT they have a HIGH Euth rate as they do not work with horses to get them re homed. They are suppose to have gelding clinics but they kill stallions so there is no more breeding. Sadly the name is misleading and people need to return their adoptive animals there to find out Tawnee is allowed to use certain words that will allow her to KILL Euthanize the horse. Words Like not adoptable, dangerous, is her common language for killing them. their mission is to keep horses from going to slaughter, BUT it is what this non profit does that is not what the general public knows of. sign over your horse along with MONEY,, and high risk of that horses dead in 30 days. It is sad a non profit uses the name humane society when they are not.. They do not answer questions, posting on the internet of going to an auction in Okla. yet no visual of being even in a parking lot of an auction. asking for donations yet not answering questions of the public is against IRS non profit regulations. NO name of the vet they allegedly used to put down 2 animals from this auction. how odd is that? Public is allowed to know this info. what is the big secret? the area of their rescue in NO. Calif has no welcome mat for this couple. Most rescues HELP the health and welfare of a horse. They are Wanna BEES. wanna be like HSUS, wear shirts like HSUS, want to bring in big bucks like REAL organizations that rescue and rehab animals. Horse Plus, has in the past posted their KILL count on New Years Eve each year. As if its a big milestone that those number of horses were SAVED from the Slaughter pipeline. But they were also not given a chance of rehab or being re homed. Please find a real horse rescue that cares. There is something wrong with an individual that finds glory in find excuse to kill a healthy horses without trying to rehab it. do your home work folks, too many lies can go on the internet, if you are not local to a " rescue" then find a local rescue to donate to. if the locals want nothing to do with people in an alleged rescue, there is a reason.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

prosecute them for misleading the public and being in this for themselves rather than for the horses. A REAL horse rescue helps rehab the horses and RARELY kills a horse that has not found a new home in 30 - 60 days. I would run a rescue to help the horses. They need to change their name, they are not a HUMANE society. On New Years I would list the horses that I had helped, NOT the horses I had killed. I would send Tawnee to a shrink, to figure out why she is so eager to kill.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Love this rescue ! They keep horses from making their way to the slaughter pipe line !

Check out their blog! http://horsehumane.org/blog/
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

They are wanting to move to Oklahoma. We don't want them here as they are known for sending horses to the kill buyers. They admit it as well as putting down healthy horses. They are certainly not affiliated with any form of humane society. They are bad knews.
July 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I was a supporter of Horse plus humane for quite awhile. I started to notice some inconsistencies with their posts, posting pictures of the same horse , using a different name and begging for money to help pay for care of the horse. They advertise that they offer low cost gelding clinics to offer the service to people who could not otherwise afford it, showed pictures of the horses they helped the owners with gelding, then they post same picture of the horses asking for donations to pay for gelding??? They put down horses that are healthy young and just need time , patience and training, claiming they are dangerous. Most horses in a rescue situation are traumatized and require time and patience, they kill them. They have killed horses to make room for others coming in instead of saying we are full and working on placing the horses they have. The money they collect and their adoption rate does not match, most are put down after surrender fee is paid so where is the money going??? I started asking questions on their facebook page and my questions were ignored by Horse Plus but I did get nasty private messages from people affiliated with them. I finally tried calling them directly on the phone and each time I was told no one was there to answer my questions but promised a return call right away, after trying for two months I gave up with NO RESPONSE from Horse Plus but they did block me from their facebook page so my comments would not be seen by the people who fund this fraudulent so called rescue. I have watched them make personal attacks on peoples character for simply questioning them about where a horse ended up or how much money they raised. They make false claims about who they are and what they do, they recently were forced by I believe animal control to revise their website and remove the false claims. Someone needs to stop these people, they give all rescues a bad name . The truth is very ugly!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have them prosecuted and closed down.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 24, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 24, 2013

This is by far and above the best horse rescue in the whole world. I have been at several horse rescues, and NorCal, now Horse Plus, rescues the most horses, and provides cutting edge services to better the welfare of horses everywhere.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I visited Horse Plus Humane Society on Jan 3rd, 2013, I was amazed by the friendliness, knowledge and dedication of the staff. I was sad that I wasn't able to meet Tawnee, but understand that she is very busy. They answered all of my questions honestly and without using pre-written lines. Steve especially is a very down-to-earth kind of guy and is very nice.

The facility is immaculate, well cared for, and all of the horses had food and water. I would recommend adopting from this shelter to any of my friends!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The comments made in the December 2010 time frame were generated by the County seizing horses from a neighboring "rescue." The hearing is on You Tube with graphic details. NER, now known as Horse Plus Humane Society continues their above reproach work. I have adopted 2 mustang mares from them, and supported numerous projects and emergency rescues. Their facility has been recently moved to Bangor, CA. Horse Plus is dedicated to the welfare of all animals, particularly horses.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Horse plus kills 90% at least, of the horses that people pay to surrender or they have donations to get horses from auctions. They do not know how to train or properly care for horses and kill horses untrained calling them "dangerous". They are nothing but money greedy killers! they do nothing to rehabilitate to help the horse get a proper home. I watched them load up 9 horses crammed in a trailer and left the property for over an hour with the horses standing in the trailer without anyone on the property at all. it is likely they hauled them to the rendering service where they were all put down in the trailer. (which people have witnessed before) they are dangerous people. no horse is safe around them. God help the horses that get stuck in thier hands. Ive never seen such heartless people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 2, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 2, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

This is an email I received 2 days ago. It broke my heart because these were good people who fell on hard times & were trying to do the best for their horses. I responded to his email because I would have taken Jazzy had he contacted me. She was a nice young mare with a lot of potential. Neither of these mares were dangerous. They were just young, wiggly youngsters who did well with patience & being shown what was expected of them. I worked under them with no problem. Such a tragedy. Just one more tragedy perpetrated by Horse+. " Hello Diana. This is Gary Vincent, you came out to my house in Bangor to trim my horses hooves back in the summer of 2011. You really liked my horse Jazzy. She was a Arab cross and you said that if I ever had to find her a home that you would take her. Recently because of economic hardship I was forced to return Jazzy and Bella to the Horse Plus Humane Society. I thought that I was doing right by them. After multiple e-mails to them going unreturned about Jazzy and Bella, I finally received a response from them about how Jazzy and Bella were doing. They responded with this " We were unable to place them into our adoptions program and decided to give them the Last Act of Kindness. Jazzy was almost impossible to catch, even in a small area with more than one person. Bella was bad on escaping pens and could have seriously injured herself, or even struck by a vehicle. We do apologize but it was for their best interest. "

Would you be willing to write an e-mail statement on the Jazzy's temperament and if you would have been willing to take her could you state that also. My daughter and I are both devastated by this. We never thought that they would euthanize two young adoptable horses. We were not under the impression that this would even be considered and we were never even notified that they had decided to do that. We had many, many people that would have taken those horses but we thought that it would be best to give them back to the rescue. If you could write a statement stating how you felt about Jazzy and how she and Bella behaved when you were trimming their hooves, I would greatly appreciate it. "

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers