Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12.66667345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 3, 2013

more

July 3, 2013

I was a supporter of Horse plus humane for quite awhile. I started to notice some inconsistencies with their posts, posting pictures of the same horse , using a different name and begging for money to help pay for care of the horse. They advertise that they offer low cost gelding clinics to offer the service to people who could not otherwise afford it, showed pictures of the horses they helped the owners with gelding, then they post same picture of the horses asking for donations to pay for gelding??? They put down horses that are healthy young and just need time , patience and training, claiming they are dangerous. Most horses in a rescue situation are traumatized and require time and patience, they kill them. They have killed horses to make room for others coming in instead of saying we are full and working on placing the horses they have. The money they collect and their adoption rate does not match, most are put down after surrender fee is paid so where is the money going??? I started asking questions on their facebook page and my questions were ignored by Horse Plus but I did get nasty private messages from people affiliated with them. I finally tried calling them directly on the phone and each time I was told no one was there to answer my questions but promised a return call right away, after trying for two months I gave up with NO RESPONSE from Horse Plus but they did block me from their facebook page so my comments would not be seen by the people who fund this fraudulent so called rescue. I have watched them make personal attacks on peoples character for simply questioning them about where a horse ended up or how much money they raised. They make false claims about who they are and what they do, they recently were forced by I believe animal control to revise their website and remove the false claims. Someone needs to stop these people, they give all rescues a bad name . The truth is very ugly!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have them prosecuted and closed down.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 24, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 24, 2013

This is by far and above the best horse rescue in the whole world. I have been at several horse rescues, and NorCal, now Horse Plus, rescues the most horses, and provides cutting edge services to better the welfare of horses everywhere.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I visited Horse Plus Humane Society on Jan 3rd, 2013, I was amazed by the friendliness, knowledge and dedication of the staff. I was sad that I wasn't able to meet Tawnee, but understand that she is very busy. They answered all of my questions honestly and without using pre-written lines. Steve especially is a very down-to-earth kind of guy and is very nice.

The facility is immaculate, well cared for, and all of the horses had food and water. I would recommend adopting from this shelter to any of my friends!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The comments made in the December 2010 time frame were generated by the County seizing horses from a neighboring "rescue." The hearing is on You Tube with graphic details. NER, now known as Horse Plus Humane Society continues their above reproach work. I have adopted 2 mustang mares from them, and supported numerous projects and emergency rescues. Their facility has been recently moved to Bangor, CA. Horse Plus is dedicated to the welfare of all animals, particularly horses.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Horse plus kills 90% at least, of the horses that people pay to surrender or they have donations to get horses from auctions. They do not know how to train or properly care for horses and kill horses untrained calling them "dangerous". They are nothing but money greedy killers! they do nothing to rehabilitate to help the horse get a proper home. I watched them load up 9 horses crammed in a trailer and left the property for over an hour with the horses standing in the trailer without anyone on the property at all. it is likely they hauled them to the rendering service where they were all put down in the trailer. (which people have witnessed before) they are dangerous people. no horse is safe around them. God help the horses that get stuck in thier hands. Ive never seen such heartless people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This is an email I received 2 days ago. It broke my heart because these were good people who fell on hard times & were trying to do the best for their horses. I responded to his email because I would have taken Jazzy had he contacted me. She was a nice young mare with a lot of potential. Neither of these mares were dangerous. They were just young, wiggly youngsters who did well with patience & being shown what was expected of them. I worked under them with no problem. Such a tragedy. Just one more tragedy perpetrated by Horse+. " Hello Diana. This is Gary Vincent, you came out to my house in Bangor to trim my horses hooves back in the summer of 2011. You really liked my horse Jazzy. She was a Arab cross and you said that if I ever had to find her a home that you would take her. Recently because of economic hardship I was forced to return Jazzy and Bella to the Horse Plus Humane Society. I thought that I was doing right by them. After multiple e-mails to them going unreturned about Jazzy and Bella, I finally received a response from them about how Jazzy and Bella were doing. They responded with this " We were unable to place them into our adoptions program and decided to give them the Last Act of Kindness. Jazzy was almost impossible to catch, even in a small area with more than one person. Bella was bad on escaping pens and could have seriously injured herself, or even struck by a vehicle. We do apologize but it was for their best interest. "

Would you be willing to write an e-mail statement on the Jazzy's temperament and if you would have been willing to take her could you state that also. My daughter and I are both devastated by this. We never thought that they would euthanize two young adoptable horses. We were not under the impression that this would even be considered and we were never even notified that they had decided to do that. We had many, many people that would have taken those horses but we thought that it would be best to give them back to the rescue. If you could write a statement stating how you felt about Jazzy and how she and Bella behaved when you were trimming their hooves, I would greatly appreciate it. "

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Horse Plus Humane Society, formerly NorCal Equine Rescue, is by far and away THE BEST horse welfare organization in the world. They stay true to their mission statement (saving horses from abuse and slaughter) despite so many naysayers. Don't believe those that have a personal vendetta against Horse Plus. They do a great job, their facility is neat and clean, and the horses make amazing recovery while at their shelter. Yes they are open door, yes they euthanise and YES they are completely open about it. If you don't like that, don't donate, but if you are a real person living in a real world that is somewhat devoid of pixies and rainbow bridges with unicorns dancing across them, Horse Plus is the place for you to donate your hard earned money to make the most good.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

NorCal aka Horse Plus Humane accepted my STOLEN Saddlebred mare into their so called rescue. She was killed by Dr Death Weaver of Look Ahead Veterinary, Ororville, CA in a few days. They NEVER verify ownership of horses and/or try to locate legal owners of horses they take into their "rescue" They killed my horse!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They killed my STOLEN horse!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close it down!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Live near the "rescue"

December 21, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 21, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

These people are power mongers! They put horses down so readily that do not need to be! They bully people into turning thier horses into them then turn around a put it down cause its "ugly'. I found out that my horse was distroyed 2 days after I took it to them unknowingly of how they are. I would give anything to have my horse back and alive! he was better off with me than dead. a 6 year old broke trail horse that was not lame did not deserve this! I want to sue them for there cold hearted lying! they are Con Artists and need to be stopped. They sounded so sincere i believed them. They need to be euthanized!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

first hand! they killed my horse that i had for 4 years and loved but my lack of job and lost my home i had to turn him in. they killed him a few days later! he never had a chance with them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut them down, put Jason and tawny in jail for life! they are murderers!

December 6, 2010
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 6, 2010
3 people found this review helpful

I volunteered there they are horrible to the animals leaving them without food and water and filthy,put animals down because they are too lazy to make any effort to get them adopted out
They also pay themselves a great deal of money while claiming they are in it for the horses.
Fraud
city

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

they kill 40 or so a month for no reason

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

close it down and send them to jail for tax fraud , animal abuse and social security disability fraud

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers