Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.975615
Write A Review
June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

Our son with Asperger's went away to college for three years, but gave up 5 classes shy of an Associate's degree, came home, and threw in the towel. After 1-1/2 years at a 6-hour-a-week menial job, we felt lost, with no idea where to turn. it was then that divine intervention led us to Dan, Gary, and nonPareil. As he'd been away to college, drove "enough" to be self-sufficient, worked successfully, and showed passion on a Skype interview, we were offered a tour, and ultimately a three-month trial. Nine months later, Our 24-year-old son is living his dream of learning to build video games, and living INDEPENDENTLY! This opportunity has given him his life, the chance to live the dreams he's always had, and we are allowed to see him grow, mature, and build his OWN amazing life, yet be here when a little help is needed. I cannot even share this last year without a lump in my throat, a tear in my eye, and never-ending thanks to Gary and Dan for changing not only our son's life, but the future of our entire family. Our hearts will never stop overflowing with gratitude. :-) NonPareil is changing the world for these young adults. We are so blessed and honored to be a part of it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them unending funds to help many more who are waiting to join this amazing program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 8, 2014

more

June 8, 2014

Our son has become an independent, mature, self-assured adult with high hopes for his future. At nonPareil, those on the autism spectrum are supported so that they can meet the high expectations of being a crew member. We need this organization which sees autism as an opportunity, not a handicap.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

My daughter Chloe is on the Autism spectrum. After high school, she's tried community colleges and volunteerEd in different organizations. But it has always been about finding things for her to do just to fill her time, but we always thought she was either not being instructed the "right" way or she was simply not being challenged intellectually. I always believed Chloe can learn just about anything if she was taught the right way. But we never found any place that can be both warm, understanding, and intellectually challenging. Until we learnt about nonPareil and was lucky enough to be offered a place.

What NonPareil offers is nothing short of life changing. Chloe is thoroughly enjoying her time spent there so much that she wants to go there even on those days that she doesn't have a lesson--- just so she can work in the computer lab on her own! She loves the instructions and she loves the entire staff.

I believe nonpareil should be in every city and in every country. There are simply no enough places for these smart but different young adults to learn and grow. We considered ourselves extremely fortunate to be able to have Chloe in there. I am praying and hoping that nonPareil gets the recognitions it deserves, and I hope it can expand to many parts in the country and in the world. This organization is truly a blessing to all it's crew members and families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 5, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 19, 2013

My son is just finishing his 30 day evaluation period at nonPareil and from the moment we heard about nP we were incredibly impressed and excited to have this opportunity for our son and everything we... more

June 5, 2014

Knowing that our son was not ready for college, we were fortunate to hear about nonPareil Institute just before he graduated from high school, at a time when we were unsure of what the future held for him. He's been a crew member now for almost a year and I can say it's been one of the best things we could have hoped for him. He's very high functioning, but needed a way to channel the knowledge of the things he's passionate about (computers and video gaming) into a way to eventually make a living from it. nonPareil is giving him this instruction he needs to do this. He's always wanted to work in the video gaming industry, so hopefully the skills he's learning will allow him that opportunity one day. He loves that he's learning at his own pace, without the pressure that would be expected in college (as was his struggle all through elementary, middle and high school). I can honestly say that nonPareil has been a true Godsend for us and the vision that Gary and Dan have will ensure that those on the Autism Spectrum will be able to lead fulfilling lives and truly live up to the magnificent potential that is within each of them. I'm hoping to see all of nonPareil's expansion dreams come true. It would mean so much to so many more people. nonPareil Institute is one of the most OUTSTANDING organizations to come along in a very long time!! Thank you, Gary and Dan for being such visionaries!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 19, 2013

My son is just finishing his 30 day evaluation period at nonPareil and from the moment we heard about nP we were incredibly impressed and excited to have this opportunity for our son and everything we've seen firsthand has only impressed us that much more. The entire staff is committed to the success of each and every member. I hope and pray that Dan, Gary and everyone involved with nonPareil are able to see their vision for the future (their expansion plans) carried out. I am so very thankful that we found out about nonPareil and my son has the opportunity to be a part of this AMAZING program.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2014

more

June 5, 2014

nonPareil understands. nonPareil cares. nonPareil is hopeful. nonPareil is needed. What a concept! A win win! Help for those who are on the Autism Spectrum that have no other resource but mindless, no or low pay work. nonPareil is allowing these deserving individuals a chance to be productive. To have a purpose. To be creative. To put their talents to use. The concept of allowing individuals to learn and work at their pace with the goal of the Team producing a product that will support their company. nonPareil's Crew will, one day, produce "The App" everyone is talking about. And nonPareil plans to open up more possible careers for those that don't lean toward technology. It's very exciting!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nonPareil only needs the resources to expand. This would help their clients, the parents of the clients and the community at large.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 25, 2012

What will my child do when I'm gone? How will he support himself? These questions were answered at nPI. My son has been given the gift of respect, a chance to be himself. He is being taught the ski... more

September 21, 2013

Since finding out about nPI about a year ago, my Son has found acceptance in a workplace setting that truly encourages his uniqueness and God given talents. Thank you, thank you for unconditionally loving these young adults and inspiring them to greatness!!! nPI values my Son as much as I do -- who could ask for more? How blessed we are to have found nPI.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone it in every city!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What will my child do when I'm gone? How will he support himself? These questions were answered at nPI. My son has been given the gift of respect, a chance to be himself. He is being taught the skills that will enable him to have hope for a future of independence. His gifts and talents are welcomed and he is accepted at nPI. The staff members are friendly, kind and truly understand my son because he is a lot like their own. We feel blessed to have found nPI. What more could a parent ask?

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 24, 2012

I am a special educator that also has a son with Asperger's, age 20. We attended the Open House in Plano, Texas and are in the process of enrolling in nonPareil/Spring 2013. I have been searching fo... more

September 19, 2013

My son, Christian, attends this institute. We visited in Nov. 2012, then he was accepted in Feb. 2013. We are 100% committed to this group, as they are providing trainig for autistic individuals. Founded by men who have sons affected by ASD, training is hands on/computer generated. Need more like this, and they are looking to expand, so support them with funds so we can reach more people. The need is growing exponentially!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them with funding so they can add to the campus with dorm/living facilities!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 24, 2012

I am a special educator that also has a son with Asperger's, age 20. We attended the Open House in Plano, Texas and are in the process of enrolling in nonPareil/Spring 2013. I have been searching for a program that will provide training in the type of setting that will allow true learning (translate "hands-on"), versus "book learning" (written tests, chapter reading, etc.). The former will result in a person that can actually do something/hold a job, versus a piece of paper that indicates someone has completed courses, but still not able to actually perform work of any kind. This program is SO NEEDED, and will only become moreso as we see the number of Autism incidence change from 1 in 150 individuals, to present numbers of 1 in 88. Stay tuned for the next revision; if you don't know someone now with an Autistic child, you will soon.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My child struggled through school. He preferred to stay home. He did okay in school. He did not have many friends. He struggled with social interaction. Not much time for gossip or petty behavior. He loved lego's, k-nex, computer games and more computer games. College was more of a struggle. The freedom that so many of us enjoy, caused him great pain. A pretty girl, a confusing statement, unclear instructions, or anything that required more effort seemed to make my son withdraw and become very frustrated.
As a child he cleared his throat, he made bubble sounds when eating, he moaned when he got really mad and would not talk. As he got older he began to make hand gestures. The doctor wanted to slow his heart rate down. I refused.
Five years in college 3.8 gpa.....no degree....just so unhappy. Getting a job was impossible. It would take me 3 weeks to convince him he had to get a job. By the time he got the nerve to apply the job would be gone. He finally got a job at a car dealership in IT. The guy asked him if he had Aspergers up front. My son was so happy someone knew. Job went great the first 2 weeks. He was fixing computers, things that most of us don't know how to fix. Then suddenly he was told he had to work in the accountants office. He got immediate anxiety. Hephysically could not go in the door. His fear was so real. He quit and went home. He wanted to die....He came and told me life wasn't worth living!

I started looking on line for colleges for asperger's. I found schools that cost $50k to teach social skills in Florida. Then I found Non-pareil. I emailed a few questions, and this compassionate person called me back. I looked up their site, and their dream for the future. A city for asperger's where everyone can thrive and live. It seemed awesome.

I immediately booked a plane from Columbia, SC to Plano, Texas. We went. My son was hesitant at first, never being away from me much. We were showed around the school. My son saw other people like him, but all different. Another new student was introduced to him and they began to talk about Japanese art, and anemae(????) WAIT A MINUTE...MY SON IN TALKING TO SOMEONE???? A STRANGER??? HE IS SITTING ON FLOOR NOW HAVING A FLUID CONVERSATION WITHOUT FEAR? THIS WENT ON FOR OVER AN HOUR. I CRIED....first time I had ever seen him comfortably engaged with a stranger.
He looked at me and said, Mom I want to come here. You don't have to come. I can do it.

This November will be 2 years for him. My mom could not believe I would move him half way across the United States. I told her if this place was in Alaska, I would be buying him Eskimo boots.

Non-pareil has changed everyone's life from the parents to the adult. For the first time these gifted people feel productive, accepted and worth while. Asperger's people are honest, hard workers, dedicated to their tasks and glad to keep their minds challenged. They do not gossip and get lost in mainstream complaining. Great workers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ENCOURAGE DONORS TO MAKE OUR NON-PAREIL CITIES A REALITY! ENCOURAGE DONORS TO HELP US EXPAND TO TO SOUTH, NORTH, WEST AND EAST. When your family is touched by Autism, you suddenly know where your heart is. Help us help others...if you have money that you can donate, the staff has their hearts in the right place to make this a reality for those in need!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As an adult with Aspergers I am truly thankful to Dan Selec, Gary Moore, and the nonpareil Institute for accepting me 3 years ago to their wonderful program. I have benefited immeasurable amounts from the caring workplace and skills developed as a crew member. I Have become a viable programmer and have my Code in Market games such as Space Ape! (Space Ape is available for iPhone, google play, ziosk, and on the OUYA)
nonPareil has given me a purpose, helped me forged new friendships, and has enabled to have a career that I am truly passionate about!
All I know is the last 3 years would have been a bummer of ride without the nonpareil institute.
Thank G-d for the last 3 years and for my bright future with nonpareil!

p.s.

if you haven't downloaded Space Ape please download and show your support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get More Money to support!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

To offer hope to someone who has no future in a traditional educational setting because autism keeps him from functioning in a way that most people have difficulty dealing with has been nonPareil's greatest gift to my son. To offer practical skills in an area that my son loves in a setting that welcomes him is priceless.

Until we found nonPareil, I had doubts that there was any place for my son in this world beyond our home. But from our first visit to nonPareil, we knew Ash had found his other home. He fit in (which he never has anywhere), he felt productive (instead of frustrated and useless like he did in high school). Instead of the kick in the teeth he has been used to all his life, nonPareil is an embrace. It offers him skills that could not get in any "normal" setting. It offers him the chance to work as a team on projects that he is enthusiastic about. It offers him hope that he can have a productive life, that he IS a useful human being, that he is valued.

Will nonPareil create the next Angry Birds? Who knows. I hope so. They created Space Apes, one of my favorite games. I'd love to see their games take off in a big way so that they can expand and provide the same opportunities to legions of autisitic young adults.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire a Top Gun PR person with connections at the highest level who could wrangle a billion dollars or two from the Bill Gates and others in this world who have the means to help autistic people use their talents to become productive citizens.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers