Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.969235
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 25, 2012

What will my child do when I'm gone? How will he support himself? These questions were answered at nPI. My son has been given the gift of respect, a chance to be himself. He is being taught the ski... more

September 21, 2013

Since finding out about nPI about a year ago, my Son has found acceptance in a workplace setting that truly encourages his uniqueness and God given talents. Thank you, thank you for unconditionally loving these young adults and inspiring them to greatness!!! nPI values my Son as much as I do -- who could ask for more? How blessed we are to have found nPI.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone it in every city!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What will my child do when I'm gone? How will he support himself? These questions were answered at nPI. My son has been given the gift of respect, a chance to be himself. He is being taught the skills that will enable him to have hope for a future of independence. His gifts and talents are welcomed and he is accepted at nPI. The staff members are friendly, kind and truly understand my son because he is a lot like their own. We feel blessed to have found nPI. What more could a parent ask?

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 24, 2012

I am a special educator that also has a son with Asperger's, age 20. We attended the Open House in Plano, Texas and are in the process of enrolling in nonPareil/Spring 2013. I have been searching fo... more

September 19, 2013

My son, Christian, attends this institute. We visited in Nov. 2012, then he was accepted in Feb. 2013. We are 100% committed to this group, as they are providing trainig for autistic individuals. Founded by men who have sons affected by ASD, training is hands on/computer generated. Need more like this, and they are looking to expand, so support them with funds so we can reach more people. The need is growing exponentially!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them with funding so they can add to the campus with dorm/living facilities!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 24, 2012

I am a special educator that also has a son with Asperger's, age 20. We attended the Open House in Plano, Texas and are in the process of enrolling in nonPareil/Spring 2013. I have been searching for a program that will provide training in the type of setting that will allow true learning (translate "hands-on"), versus "book learning" (written tests, chapter reading, etc.). The former will result in a person that can actually do something/hold a job, versus a piece of paper that indicates someone has completed courses, but still not able to actually perform work of any kind. This program is SO NEEDED, and will only become moreso as we see the number of Autism incidence change from 1 in 150 individuals, to present numbers of 1 in 88. Stay tuned for the next revision; if you don't know someone now with an Autistic child, you will soon.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My child struggled through school. He preferred to stay home. He did okay in school. He did not have many friends. He struggled with social interaction. Not much time for gossip or petty behavior. He loved lego's, k-nex, computer games and more computer games. College was more of a struggle. The freedom that so many of us enjoy, caused him great pain. A pretty girl, a confusing statement, unclear instructions, or anything that required more effort seemed to make my son withdraw and become very frustrated.
As a child he cleared his throat, he made bubble sounds when eating, he moaned when he got really mad and would not talk. As he got older he began to make hand gestures. The doctor wanted to slow his heart rate down. I refused.
Five years in college 3.8 gpa.....no degree....just so unhappy. Getting a job was impossible. It would take me 3 weeks to convince him he had to get a job. By the time he got the nerve to apply the job would be gone. He finally got a job at a car dealership in IT. The guy asked him if he had Aspergers up front. My son was so happy someone knew. Job went great the first 2 weeks. He was fixing computers, things that most of us don't know how to fix. Then suddenly he was told he had to work in the accountants office. He got immediate anxiety. Hephysically could not go in the door. His fear was so real. He quit and went home. He wanted to die....He came and told me life wasn't worth living!

I started looking on line for colleges for asperger's. I found schools that cost $50k to teach social skills in Florida. Then I found Non-pareil. I emailed a few questions, and this compassionate person called me back. I looked up their site, and their dream for the future. A city for asperger's where everyone can thrive and live. It seemed awesome.

I immediately booked a plane from Columbia, SC to Plano, Texas. We went. My son was hesitant at first, never being away from me much. We were showed around the school. My son saw other people like him, but all different. Another new student was introduced to him and they began to talk about Japanese art, and anemae(????) WAIT A MINUTE...MY SON IN TALKING TO SOMEONE???? A STRANGER??? HE IS SITTING ON FLOOR NOW HAVING A FLUID CONVERSATION WITHOUT FEAR? THIS WENT ON FOR OVER AN HOUR. I CRIED....first time I had ever seen him comfortably engaged with a stranger.
He looked at me and said, Mom I want to come here. You don't have to come. I can do it.

This November will be 2 years for him. My mom could not believe I would move him half way across the United States. I told her if this place was in Alaska, I would be buying him Eskimo boots.

Non-pareil has changed everyone's life from the parents to the adult. For the first time these gifted people feel productive, accepted and worth while. Asperger's people are honest, hard workers, dedicated to their tasks and glad to keep their minds challenged. They do not gossip and get lost in mainstream complaining. Great workers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ENCOURAGE DONORS TO MAKE OUR NON-PAREIL CITIES A REALITY! ENCOURAGE DONORS TO HELP US EXPAND TO TO SOUTH, NORTH, WEST AND EAST. When your family is touched by Autism, you suddenly know where your heart is. Help us help others...if you have money that you can donate, the staff has their hearts in the right place to make this a reality for those in need!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

My son is just finishing his 30 day evaluation period at nonPareil and from the moment we heard about nP we were incredibly impressed and excited to have this opportunity for our son and everything we've seen firsthand has only impressed us that much more. The entire staff is committed to the success of each and every member. I hope and pray that Dan, Gary and everyone involved with nonPareil are able to see their vision for the future (their expansion plans) carried out. I am so very thankful that we found out about nonPareil and my son has the opportunity to be a part of this AMAZING program.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As an adult with Aspergers I am truly thankful to Dan Selec, Gary Moore, and the nonpareil Institute for accepting me 3 years ago to their wonderful program. I have benefited immeasurable amounts from the caring workplace and skills developed as a crew member. I Have become a viable programmer and have my Code in Market games such as Space Ape! (Space Ape is available for iPhone, google play, ziosk, and on the OUYA)
nonPareil has given me a purpose, helped me forged new friendships, and has enabled to have a career that I am truly passionate about!
All I know is the last 3 years would have been a bummer of ride without the nonpareil institute.
Thank G-d for the last 3 years and for my bright future with nonpareil!

p.s.

if you haven't downloaded Space Ape please download and show your support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get More Money to support!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

To offer hope to someone who has no future in a traditional educational setting because autism keeps him from functioning in a way that most people have difficulty dealing with has been nonPareil's greatest gift to my son. To offer practical skills in an area that my son loves in a setting that welcomes him is priceless.

Until we found nonPareil, I had doubts that there was any place for my son in this world beyond our home. But from our first visit to nonPareil, we knew Ash had found his other home. He fit in (which he never has anywhere), he felt productive (instead of frustrated and useless like he did in high school). Instead of the kick in the teeth he has been used to all his life, nonPareil is an embrace. It offers him skills that could not get in any "normal" setting. It offers him the chance to work as a team on projects that he is enthusiastic about. It offers him hope that he can have a productive life, that he IS a useful human being, that he is valued.

Will nonPareil create the next Angry Birds? Who knows. I hope so. They created Space Apes, one of my favorite games. I'd love to see their games take off in a big way so that they can expand and provide the same opportunities to legions of autisitic young adults.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire a Top Gun PR person with connections at the highest level who could wrangle a billion dollars or two from the Bill Gates and others in this world who have the means to help autistic people use their talents to become productive citizens.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I spent 3 years in depression after I was diagnosed with Asperger Syndrome. While I now (4 years later) take pride in being autistic, it was very crushing to me at the time. I normally have a very strong immune system, but the depression weakened it enough for me to contract mononucleosis (mono), which then turned into chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS). I was pretty much bedridden for those 3 years.

Even now, at 23, I still suffer from CFS. I sleep more than I'm awake, and I'm constantly told by my peers and father that I don't "pull my own weight". For the first time, I finally have a job, but it's 3 hours a week and my peers still don't count it. I feel like I truly have a valid reason to feel worthless.
If it weren't for my new friends and co-workers at nonPareil Institute, I don't know where I'd be. NonPareil Institute is non-profit corporation that trains adults with autism in game development. All the training is one-on-one, there are no tests, no grades, and no deadlines. I'm judged against myself, and not anyone else. It's amazing and so freeing. I now have the strength to brush off the negative comments from my neuro-typical peers.

Sure, I have a long way to go. But now I have a path to get there. :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would set up multiple offices across the world. nPI is a good thing that needs to be shared everywhere.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 26, 2012

My high-functioning Asperger's daughter always struggled to find a place where she felt comfortable and could fit in. It is not an overstatement to say that nonPareil Institute has completely changed ... more

June 29, 2013

nonPareil Institute has completely changed my daughter's life. Her jr. high and high school experiences were filled with nothing but social failure and she struggled with the executive functioning necessary to complete and turn in assignments. She is now a happy and thriving young adult because of the environment that nonPareil provides. She has friends for the first time, a purpose in life, and success like she has never been able to experience before. I don't have enough positive adjectives in my vocabulary to adequately describe nonPareil Institute.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My high-functioning Asperger's daughter always struggled to find a place where she felt comfortable and could fit in. It is not an overstatement to say that nonPareil Institute has completely changed her life for the better. She has friends and a purpose for the first time in her life. I cannot imagine how empty her life would be if she were not able to attend nonPareil. Dan Selec and Gary Moore have an incredible vision for persons on the autism spectrum, and I am grateful beyond words that my daughter has the opportunity to participate in the program.There are not enough superlatives in my vocabulary to explain what nonPareil Institute means to our whole family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 27, 2012

nonPareil offers life opportunity for growth, learning, friendship, and careers for people on the autism spectrum. It has made an incredible difference in my son's life. I have already recommended it... more

June 27, 2013

My son didn't know what his future would be. He didn't have friends, didn't have places to go or things to do. That all changed when he started at nonPareil. At first he was a bit leery as it was all new -new place, doing new things, new people. Well, it didn't take long for him to feel accepted, comfortable and to love it. I could barely get the car in park before he was rushing to get in the door and get started. He was learning, he was making friends, he had a life. That might not sound like much to most parents of young adults but to parents of spectrum adults, it is huge. He is happy and confident. He enjoys what he doing. He has friends and makes plans to get together. For him, that is a monumental achievement. He is working on projects at his speed and he can share what he does with his peers. nonPareil has been a tremendous blessing to us!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

nonPareil offers life opportunity for growth, learning, friendship, and careers for people on the autism spectrum. It has made an incredible difference in my son's life. I have already recommended it to numerous families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 26, 2012

My son is a high functioning autistic young man in his 20's. After graduating with a Bachelors degree in Computer Science last spring, he had overwhelming anxiety related to actually putting into prac... more

June 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My high functioning autistic son attends nonpareil. He has a BS in computer science but was paralyzed with the idea of finding a job. In the year that he has been at nonpareil my son has had a boost of self confidence that has made an enormous difference in his life. Chris is living his dream of programming games and couldn't be happier. He fits in regardless of the fact that he is not very social. The acceptance and love expressed by the staff and crew is amazing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it available to more people on the spectrum

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012

My son is a high functioning autistic young man in his 20's. After graduating with a Bachelors degree in Computer Science last spring, he had overwhelming anxiety related to actually putting into practice what he had learned. The thought of applying for a job was incapacitating. After we heard about nonPareil, I scheduled an appointment with Gary to see what it was all about. What an amazing place! Gary and the crew made my son and I feel welcomed. It is a safe environment with great opportunities for anyone on the autistic spectrum. My son has gained confidence and has decreased anxiety overall. He now lives on his own in the Plano area and takes a bus to travel to nonPareil. The staff is outstanding! They have been incredibly helpful with any problems he has encountered and have been kind, nonjudgemental, and patient as well as being excellent communicators. The crew at nonPareil are free to be themselves to learn and produce products in a field that is a favorite pastime for most of them. It is an opportunity that I never thought would be available to my son.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers