Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.969235
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 29, 2012

After high school, our daughter who is affected by Asperger's on the Autism Spectrum, had an almost free fall with respect to schooling and employment. Although we sought help from the State employme... more

September 9, 2013

We are now in the second year of our daughter's association with nonPareil Institute, where she is a student and also a part time employee. In that first year, we were filled with gratitude as she quickly melded into a greater whole of individuals "on the Autism spectrum". As I volunteered I observed a culture in which new individuals could literally walk into the Social Room, observe a video game being played for a few minutes, and relax, cross-legged in the floor to exchange knowing observations about the game maker's strength's and weaknesses. Repeatedly, daily, I was able to observe persons who probably were, in other environments, ostracized for their peculiar attention to detail and focus on a single subject. These individuals needed to be able to express their opinions on those important subjects, and their peers listened, every one of them, as they enthusiastically discussed the minutia that supported their theories and beliefs. They could take whatever time was needed to let the speaker converse, and then give pertinent answers. Less self-assured individuals I observed felt comfortable enough to express frustrations with operating various games, and a few of their peers would flank them, making encouraging remarks, offering personal experiences, and assuring support. I volunteer random days, see different individuals, but this is the common experience at nonPareil within the "down time" of the Social Room.
As I have spoken to and become familiar with students at nP, I have learned how life-changing it was for most of them. Literally lives have changed from despair to hope and confidence. Emphasis by the carefully attentive staff not only on the worth of individuals, but also on the value of the collective whole of individuals attending and/or working at nP keeps focus on the motto, "All for one and one for all!" No one is expected to make it alone, and no one is left to his or her own devices.
So, it is like watching ducks getting into water. They belong. It was made for them.....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find someone who has the resources to set up a perpetuating fund in order for a nP facility to be set up in every city. Much as Carnagie saw the need for every city to have a library, in an age when Autism affects one in 50 individuals, every city needs to have a nonPareil center. Adults with autism should be able to train, work, and live in facilities designed for their needs. nonPareil needs permanent, perpetual funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After high school, our daughter who is affected by Asperger's on the Autism Spectrum, had an almost free fall with respect to schooling and employment. Although we sought help from the State employment agency, overall she was set up with a series of jobs far beneath her capabilities, and inappropriate for her bright mind. Finally we were fortunate enough to find nonPareil Institute. Since her enrollment in the training program, our daughter has learned to use Hammer software to build maps for computer game and apps, and expects to go on for further training in various aspects of video game and computer application construction. The environment is a near perfect lab for adults affected by ASD including personal training, Kabals with the production team, and social opportunities that foster respectful interaction with others on the ASD spectrum as well as with Neurotypical individuals. Instructors may include graduates of the program who are on the ASD spectrum, and computer software engineers from the SMU graduate program or from industry backgrounds. Our experience at nonPareil exceeds our hopes and expectations. We are committed to ensuring our daughter and others on the ASD spectrum are able to train and work there..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When you have the opportunity to meet the founders of nPi,Gary W. Moore and Dan Selec, you meet men with vision, heart and true bravery. These men have built nPi to transform the life of an individual with a difference- autism, into a confident, competent, self-sustaining SUPER HERO for themselves and for their families. nPi will change the way the world views autism. You can see the success in the eyes of the gracious students and their parents and the hugs that are so readily shared by all. To help nPi be able to serve more students via more campuses, summer programs, camps, more equipment, more visibility is not only a noble thing, but a required step for us all. nPi is Programming Hope, Healing Lives, Lifting Spirits and making a difference in the world of autism...and in the world in general. Their belief and dedication to purpose inspires my soul and I am blessed to be part of their community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them reach more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

The nonPariel Institute in Plano, Texas is the only place like it in the whole world that works to train adults with autism how to develop their video game programing skills. I sought out this tremendous program 3 years prior to my son becoming a Crew member. This program has changed his life in many ways. He is so proud to have the opprotunuity to follow his lifelong passion for video games and learn to be a developer. The people that founded nonPariel and their staff have nothing but care and compassion for these Crew member's development. You can't help but smile when you are there. The nonPariel motto " Amor vincit Omnia. Auxillio ab alto" "Love conques all. With help from on high." is truly present. My son looks forward to a future of success and lifelong friendships and one day a place to call home. We are truly blessed by nonPariel, it is not a place it is a family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My dream would be for nonPariel to have it's own campus. A place for the Crew members to live, work and play in a safe environment for the rest of their lives. Currently, there is a need for more space, computers, monitors. computer licences, more employees for Crew technical training and personal development (speech pathologist, psycologist, counselors etc.) Since most Crew members do not drive, nonPariel would benefit greatly from a bus to transport the Crew members to offsite events.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 24, 2012

Patrick's mom wrote: Discovering non-Pareil has been a gift for our family. My son, a 19 year old with Asperger's Syndrome, is thriving while learning super employable skills and developing life long ... more

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering at non-Pareil is the best part of my week. I have the privilege of spending time with brilliant, fun people while watching them grow both intellectually and socially. Kudos to Dan, Gary, and all of the staff at non-Pareil for creating such a nurturing learning environment for young adults on the spectrum.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 24, 2012

Patrick's mom wrote: Discovering non-Pareil has been a gift for our family. My son, a 19 year old with Asperger's Syndrome, is thriving while learning super employable skills and developing life long friendships. As a volunteer, I am finding the time I spend at non-Pareil invaluable. Watching these young people thrive and create fulfilling lives is so powerful. I feel very fortunate to be a part of such a nurturing environment, and look forward to being an observer to the exciting future ahead!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 2, 2012

more

December 2, 2012

Extraordinary group of dedicated individuals who are providing a future for young adults with autism.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

For her entire life, our daughter wanted to create and develop video games. Her uniquenesses due to autism severely limited her options for career training in this field. nonPareil Institute offers, not only the training necessary for her career choice, but also a community of like-minded individuals searching to find their place in this world. She has grown professionally and, more importantly, personally into a more confident person now living independently of family and flourishing because of the people surrounding her providing instruction and support. Thank you, nonPareil!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

My Asperger's kid struggled through middle-school and high school was not looking hopeful. When ninth grade hit, that big question mark that looms over the heads of all parents with Aspie kids hit my head, "After high-school, what ?". I read NonPareil in our local paper. I called that same day. The director himself spoke to me and I was so relieved. I had no explaining to do, because Mr. Moore new exactly what my concerns were and how to address each one. I have stayed in touch with NonPareil ever since then. My kid graduates next year... and my question mark has floated away.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 25, 2012

My son, Bobby is learning skills to work in a field that he is passionate about, in an environment that is disigned to take advantage of his unique talents. nonPareil is the only organization that un... more

June 25, 2013

nonPareil is hands-on! They are not just giving people job skills to people on the Autism spectrum, they are helping them work together in productive design teams by providing a specialized environment for learning and working on REAL products. Their students/employees are extremely talented but find it hard, if not impossible, to function in most workplaces. NonPareil, has given my son a fulfilling career path that takes advantage of his talent, skill, and focus. Without nonPareil, he would have been locked into minimum-wage, unskilled jobs. Now he can take pride in doing high quality work with highly skilled team members. He is on the path to being self sufficient.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them their own campus so that they can accept all of the talented Autistic adults that would benefit from their program. Fulfilling their dream of a residential campus would open up the world to their students and employees who can function at an extraordinary high level when they are in the right environment, and allow society to benefit from their contributions. Unfortunately, they now must put people who need them - and whom they need - on a waiting list that grows by the day.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 25, 2012

My son, Bobby is learning skills to work in a field that he is passionate about, in an environment that is disigned to take advantage of his unique talents. nonPareil is the only organization that understands and appreciates his creativity, and can channel it in a way that is building his self esteme, his skills, and his opportunity for an independent future. nonPareil's gaming and phone app products are highly competitive in the marketplace. Bobby is proud to be part of a growing company, one that happens to embrace his talents as an adult on the autism spectrum.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012

more

November 25, 2012

nonpareil is such a unique place and we love having our son be a part of it. It's more than just learning about computer coding and writing software. There is also social interaction between the members that we have seldom seen in our son previously with others of his own peer group. It is our hope that nonpareil will continue to grow and be able to fulfill the plans they have. They are impressive!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 24, 2012

more

November 24, 2012

I am a adult on the spectrum. I volunteer to. Share. My experience , strength, and hope to the students.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers