Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.975615
| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review
June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

nonPareil is a ground breaking and LIFE CHANGING organization that is working with adults with Asperger’s in order to help them build technologies to support them in the future. WhiIe working for them as the AD, I see on a daily basis the impact and overwhelming change a little affirmation and love can do for those that have been discarded by the traditional system of education and work that neurotypical adults face with general ease. We are cutting edge with our technology, which few other nonprofits can match. Our crew members are making the apps, and on every level they are responding to our challenges and are growing and maturing from them. This is how to change the world. We are doing it one crew member at a time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 26, 2012

My son is a high functioning autistic young man in his 20's. After graduating with a Bachelors degree in Computer Science last spring, he had overwhelming anxiety related to actually putting into prac... more

June 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My high functioning autistic son attends nonpareil. He has a BS in computer science but was paralyzed with the idea of finding a job. In the year that he has been at nonpareil my son has had a boost of self confidence that has made an enormous difference in his life. Chris is living his dream of programming games and couldn't be happier. He fits in regardless of the fact that he is not very social. The acceptance and love expressed by the staff and crew is amazing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it available to more people on the spectrum

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012

My son is a high functioning autistic young man in his 20's. After graduating with a Bachelors degree in Computer Science last spring, he had overwhelming anxiety related to actually putting into practice what he had learned. The thought of applying for a job was incapacitating. After we heard about nonPareil, I scheduled an appointment with Gary to see what it was all about. What an amazing place! Gary and the crew made my son and I feel welcomed. It is a safe environment with great opportunities for anyone on the autistic spectrum. My son has gained confidence and has decreased anxiety overall. He now lives on his own in the Plano area and takes a bus to travel to nonPareil. The staff is outstanding! They have been incredibly helpful with any problems he has encountered and have been kind, nonjudgemental, and patient as well as being excellent communicators. The crew at nonPareil are free to be themselves to learn and produce products in a field that is a favorite pastime for most of them. It is an opportunity that I never thought would be available to my son.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 24, 2012

My son, Daniel, is nearly 21 years old. He was diagnosed with autism at the age of three. Daniel is smart, but his talents can't be realized in real-world work situations. NonPareil provides an opport... more

June 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My son attends nonPareil Institute. He has high functioning autism. nPI gives Daniel the opportunity to train in gaming app development. He would not be qualified to train elsewhere. nPI is flexible with Daniel's need for accommodations. He receives one-on-one attention from the exellent staff. Improvements need to be more staff, more space, more hardware, more donations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More donations in order to expand their exellent services!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 24, 2012

My son, Daniel, is nearly 21 years old. He was diagnosed with autism at the age of three. Daniel is smart, but his talents can't be realized in real-world work situations. NonPareil provides an opportunity for Daniel to be productive part of society and to learn new skills. Daniel is on the waiting list at nonPareil and he and his parents are very excited about this opportunity. NonPareil needs your support to reach more people on the autism spectrum. Please donate your time or money to increase the impact of nonPareil on the growing number of adults on the autism spectrum!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

Our daughter has been attending nonPareil for a year now and we could not be happier. Of course before we found nonPareil we were uncertain what the future held for her. We were confident she would find employment but knew that probably meant a lifetime of menial labor jobs and that was very upsetting to us. We really wanted her to be able to find work doing something she enjoyed. Thanks to nonPareil Institute she is on her way to doing just that.

The incredible bonus we've received with her attending nonPareil has been her social growth. She has absolutely blossomed in a year. Her fears of crowds and noisy rooms has decreased significantly and we can point to the environment of respect, love and attention that nonPareil Institute fosters as a prime factor in her change.

We look forward to her future with as much excitement as we do our other daughter who is a senior in college. Who knows she may develop the next Angry Birds and buy Mom & Dad their retirement island!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to raise a billion dollars so they could concentrate on the business side and not the fund raising side of their organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

I am a donor but my grandson is a student at nonPareil and I feel we are blessed to be a part of this wonderful opportunity. Eric because he has a future thanks to the hard work and dedication of the founders and staff. For my part I feel honored to contribute a small part to what I know will be the start of something wonderful for adults with autism. This concept is one that is long overdue and should lead to
changes in how training for young adults with limited capabilities is provided. The future of this country depends on creative ideas for those who do not fit into the main stream. They should be allowed to develop skills to enable them to be a productive part of our world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It needs to be expanded to allow more students. Another campus in Ft. Worth is needed along with living quarters.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

This organization is a tremendous help to my son and others with Autism. It teaches people on the autism spectrum how to work in real jobs and gives them a great sense of accomplishment.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

A truly amazing group of people passionate about making a better world for an under serviced group of adults.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more involved to help them with their mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

It has been an absolute privilege to be part of this much needed and very successful organization. The founders Dan and Gary made a leap of faith and commitment few would dare. The result is an organization that is helping hundreds and will soon be thousands of individuals, students and family members alike, providing skills training, a community like no other, and above all hope to those who have few options. The organization deserves the recognition and support to further that vision. The people working there provide selflessly of themselves for the single purpose of providing an opportunity to those who might not be afforded those chances in life we so easily accept for ourselves. And the students are instinctively drawn into the community and opportunity provided. The grand dream of expanding that vision to include housing, work training, life training and work opportunities will be a reality in time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Amazing is an understatement. My son Neal has flourished in this program. He began as a student and continues to learn but has progressed to teaching others as a paid position. The program simply works, it take the strengths of these young indivials and allows them show the world what the can do. It builds character and confidence.
This is only the beginning for this team as there is far more demand than they can currently serve. We are so lucky to live close enough to take advantage of what this program offers and I support the growth strategy and vision that Dan and Gary have as there are so many that need this program yet cannot take advantage until the program expands its reach.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand and grow into a campus where remote students could live while they learn.....

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

The nonPariel Institute in Plano, Texas is the only place like it in the whole world that works to train adults with autism how to develop their video game programing skills. I sought out this tremendous program 3 years prior to my son becoming a Crew member. This program has changed his life in many ways. He is so proud to have the opprotunuity to follow his lifelong passion for video games and learn to be a developer. The people that founded nonPariel and their staff have nothing but care and compassion for these Crew member's development. You can't help but smile when you are there. The nonPariel motto " Amor vincit Omnia. Auxillio ab alto" "Love conques all. With help from on high." is truly present. My son looks forward to a future of success and lifelong friendships and one day a place to call home. We are truly blessed by nonPariel, it is not a place it is a family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My dream would be for nonPariel to have it's own campus. A place for the Crew members to live, work and play in a safe environment for the rest of their lives. Currently, there is a need for more space, computers, monitors. computer licences, more employees for Crew technical training and personal development (speech pathologist, psycologist, counselors etc.) Since most Crew members do not drive, nonPariel would benefit greatly from a bus to transport the Crew members to offsite events.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers