Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.975615
Write A Review
September 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 29, 2012

After high school, our daughter who is affected by Asperger's on the Autism Spectrum, had an almost free fall with respect to schooling and employment. Although we sought help from the State employme... more

September 9, 2013

We are now in the second year of our daughter's association with nonPareil Institute, where she is a student and also a part time employee. In that first year, we were filled with gratitude as she quickly melded into a greater whole of individuals "on the Autism spectrum". As I volunteered I observed a culture in which new individuals could literally walk into the Social Room, observe a video game being played for a few minutes, and relax, cross-legged in the floor to exchange knowing observations about the game maker's strength's and weaknesses. Repeatedly, daily, I was able to observe persons who probably were, in other environments, ostracized for their peculiar attention to detail and focus on a single subject. These individuals needed to be able to express their opinions on those important subjects, and their peers listened, every one of them, as they enthusiastically discussed the minutia that supported their theories and beliefs. They could take whatever time was needed to let the speaker converse, and then give pertinent answers. Less self-assured individuals I observed felt comfortable enough to express frustrations with operating various games, and a few of their peers would flank them, making encouraging remarks, offering personal experiences, and assuring support. I volunteer random days, see different individuals, but this is the common experience at nonPareil within the "down time" of the Social Room.
As I have spoken to and become familiar with students at nP, I have learned how life-changing it was for most of them. Literally lives have changed from despair to hope and confidence. Emphasis by the carefully attentive staff not only on the worth of individuals, but also on the value of the collective whole of individuals attending and/or working at nP keeps focus on the motto, "All for one and one for all!" No one is expected to make it alone, and no one is left to his or her own devices.
So, it is like watching ducks getting into water. They belong. It was made for them.....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find someone who has the resources to set up a perpetuating fund in order for a nP facility to be set up in every city. Much as Carnagie saw the need for every city to have a library, in an age when Autism affects one in 50 individuals, every city needs to have a nonPareil center. Adults with autism should be able to train, work, and live in facilities designed for their needs. nonPareil needs permanent, perpetual funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After high school, our daughter who is affected by Asperger's on the Autism Spectrum, had an almost free fall with respect to schooling and employment. Although we sought help from the State employment agency, overall she was set up with a series of jobs far beneath her capabilities, and inappropriate for her bright mind. Finally we were fortunate enough to find nonPareil Institute. Since her enrollment in the training program, our daughter has learned to use Hammer software to build maps for computer game and apps, and expects to go on for further training in various aspects of video game and computer application construction. The environment is a near perfect lab for adults affected by ASD including personal training, Kabals with the production team, and social opportunities that foster respectful interaction with others on the ASD spectrum as well as with Neurotypical individuals. Instructors may include graduates of the program who are on the ASD spectrum, and computer software engineers from the SMU graduate program or from industry backgrounds. Our experience at nonPareil exceeds our hopes and expectations. We are committed to ensuring our daughter and others on the ASD spectrum are able to train and work there..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My child struggled through school. He preferred to stay home. He did okay in school. He did not have many friends. He struggled with social interaction. Not much time for gossip or petty behavior. He loved lego's, k-nex, computer games and more computer games. College was more of a struggle. The freedom that so many of us enjoy, caused him great pain. A pretty girl, a confusing statement, unclear instructions, or anything that required more effort seemed to make my son withdraw and become very frustrated.
As a child he cleared his throat, he made bubble sounds when eating, he moaned when he got really mad and would not talk. As he got older he began to make hand gestures. The doctor wanted to slow his heart rate down. I refused.
Five years in college 3.8 gpa.....no degree....just so unhappy. Getting a job was impossible. It would take me 3 weeks to convince him he had to get a job. By the time he got the nerve to apply the job would be gone. He finally got a job at a car dealership in IT. The guy asked him if he had Aspergers up front. My son was so happy someone knew. Job went great the first 2 weeks. He was fixing computers, things that most of us don't know how to fix. Then suddenly he was told he had to work in the accountants office. He got immediate anxiety. Hephysically could not go in the door. His fear was so real. He quit and went home. He wanted to die....He came and told me life wasn't worth living!

I started looking on line for colleges for asperger's. I found schools that cost $50k to teach social skills in Florida. Then I found Non-pareil. I emailed a few questions, and this compassionate person called me back. I looked up their site, and their dream for the future. A city for asperger's where everyone can thrive and live. It seemed awesome.

I immediately booked a plane from Columbia, SC to Plano, Texas. We went. My son was hesitant at first, never being away from me much. We were showed around the school. My son saw other people like him, but all different. Another new student was introduced to him and they began to talk about Japanese art, and anemae(????) WAIT A MINUTE...MY SON IN TALKING TO SOMEONE???? A STRANGER??? HE IS SITTING ON FLOOR NOW HAVING A FLUID CONVERSATION WITHOUT FEAR? THIS WENT ON FOR OVER AN HOUR. I CRIED....first time I had ever seen him comfortably engaged with a stranger.
He looked at me and said, Mom I want to come here. You don't have to come. I can do it.

This November will be 2 years for him. My mom could not believe I would move him half way across the United States. I told her if this place was in Alaska, I would be buying him Eskimo boots.

Non-pareil has changed everyone's life from the parents to the adult. For the first time these gifted people feel productive, accepted and worth while. Asperger's people are honest, hard workers, dedicated to their tasks and glad to keep their minds challenged. They do not gossip and get lost in mainstream complaining. Great workers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ENCOURAGE DONORS TO MAKE OUR NON-PAREIL CITIES A REALITY! ENCOURAGE DONORS TO HELP US EXPAND TO TO SOUTH, NORTH, WEST AND EAST. When your family is touched by Autism, you suddenly know where your heart is. Help us help others...if you have money that you can donate, the staff has their hearts in the right place to make this a reality for those in need!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As an adult with Aspergers I am truly thankful to Dan Selec, Gary Moore, and the nonpareil Institute for accepting me 3 years ago to their wonderful program. I have benefited immeasurable amounts from the caring workplace and skills developed as a crew member. I Have become a viable programmer and have my Code in Market games such as Space Ape! (Space Ape is available for iPhone, google play, ziosk, and on the OUYA)
nonPareil has given me a purpose, helped me forged new friendships, and has enabled to have a career that I am truly passionate about!
All I know is the last 3 years would have been a bummer of ride without the nonpareil institute.
Thank G-d for the last 3 years and for my bright future with nonpareil!

p.s.

if you haven't downloaded Space Ape please download and show your support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get More Money to support!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When you have the opportunity to meet the founders of nPi,Gary W. Moore and Dan Selec, you meet men with vision, heart and true bravery. These men have built nPi to transform the life of an individual with a difference- autism, into a confident, competent, self-sustaining SUPER HERO for themselves and for their families. nPi will change the way the world views autism. You can see the success in the eyes of the gracious students and their parents and the hugs that are so readily shared by all. To help nPi be able to serve more students via more campuses, summer programs, camps, more equipment, more visibility is not only a noble thing, but a required step for us all. nPi is Programming Hope, Healing Lives, Lifting Spirits and making a difference in the world of autism...and in the world in general. Their belief and dedication to purpose inspires my soul and I am blessed to be part of their community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them reach more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

To offer hope to someone who has no future in a traditional educational setting because autism keeps him from functioning in a way that most people have difficulty dealing with has been nonPareil's greatest gift to my son. To offer practical skills in an area that my son loves in a setting that welcomes him is priceless.

Until we found nonPareil, I had doubts that there was any place for my son in this world beyond our home. But from our first visit to nonPareil, we knew Ash had found his other home. He fit in (which he never has anywhere), he felt productive (instead of frustrated and useless like he did in high school). Instead of the kick in the teeth he has been used to all his life, nonPareil is an embrace. It offers him skills that could not get in any "normal" setting. It offers him the chance to work as a team on projects that he is enthusiastic about. It offers him hope that he can have a productive life, that he IS a useful human being, that he is valued.

Will nonPareil create the next Angry Birds? Who knows. I hope so. They created Space Apes, one of my favorite games. I'd love to see their games take off in a big way so that they can expand and provide the same opportunities to legions of autisitic young adults.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire a Top Gun PR person with connections at the highest level who could wrangle a billion dollars or two from the Bill Gates and others in this world who have the means to help autistic people use their talents to become productive citizens.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I spent 3 years in depression after I was diagnosed with Asperger Syndrome. While I now (4 years later) take pride in being autistic, it was very crushing to me at the time. I normally have a very strong immune system, but the depression weakened it enough for me to contract mononucleosis (mono), which then turned into chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS). I was pretty much bedridden for those 3 years.

Even now, at 23, I still suffer from CFS. I sleep more than I'm awake, and I'm constantly told by my peers and father that I don't "pull my own weight". For the first time, I finally have a job, but it's 3 hours a week and my peers still don't count it. I feel like I truly have a valid reason to feel worthless.
If it weren't for my new friends and co-workers at nonPareil Institute, I don't know where I'd be. NonPareil Institute is non-profit corporation that trains adults with autism in game development. All the training is one-on-one, there are no tests, no grades, and no deadlines. I'm judged against myself, and not anyone else. It's amazing and so freeing. I now have the strength to brush off the negative comments from my neuro-typical peers.

Sure, I have a long way to go. But now I have a path to get there. :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would set up multiple offices across the world. nPI is a good thing that needs to be shared everywhere.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 26, 2012

My high-functioning Asperger's daughter always struggled to find a place where she felt comfortable and could fit in. It is not an overstatement to say that nonPareil Institute has completely changed ... more

June 29, 2013

nonPareil Institute has completely changed my daughter's life. Her jr. high and high school experiences were filled with nothing but social failure and she struggled with the executive functioning necessary to complete and turn in assignments. She is now a happy and thriving young adult because of the environment that nonPareil provides. She has friends for the first time, a purpose in life, and success like she has never been able to experience before. I don't have enough positive adjectives in my vocabulary to adequately describe nonPareil Institute.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My high-functioning Asperger's daughter always struggled to find a place where she felt comfortable and could fit in. It is not an overstatement to say that nonPareil Institute has completely changed her life for the better. She has friends and a purpose for the first time in her life. I cannot imagine how empty her life would be if she were not able to attend nonPareil. Dan Selec and Gary Moore have an incredible vision for persons on the autism spectrum, and I am grateful beyond words that my daughter has the opportunity to participate in the program.There are not enough superlatives in my vocabulary to explain what nonPareil Institute means to our whole family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

"Thank you for changing my life." Those are the words of my son to the founders of nonPareil Institute. nonPareil truly changes lives. Up to 90% of adults with autism are unemployed or underemployed, ... more

June 28, 2013

nonPareil Institute is changing lives every day. It is much more than just a technology company. The adults with autism at nonPareil learn to work together. They learn to be supportive of one another. They learn a sense of community. And they carry that enhanced understanding with them into the world beyond nonPareil. It changes their relationships with their families, friends, neighbors, acquaintances, and strangers.

My son said about nonPareil, "Thank you for changing my life." That is exactly what it has done. I've heard many other families say the same. I can't wait until we have the level of game sales and donations support to take this program national. I am so proud to be a part of it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

With more donations, we can expand to other cities. That will create opportunities for more adults with autism and also increase brand awareness to sell the apps, e-books, and video games produced by these awesome adults!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

"Thank you for changing my life." Those are the words of my son to the founders of nonPareil Institute. nonPareil truly changes lives. Up to 90% of adults with autism are unemployed or underemployed, with no hope for a fulfilling life. nonPareil works with these adults in their sweet spot, technology. They become valued members of teams where they can contribute to software projects as well as help one another. A great organization that is making a true difference in this world. I'm passionate enough to be a full-time volunteer. I believe in this cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I learned about nonPariel while serving on the board of The Achievement Center of Texas, another excellent non-profit caring for mobility and other types of disabled individuals. My high functioning autistic 18 year old grandson Jonathan was interviewed by Gary Moore for the nP program; my husband and I were incredibly impressed by every aspect of their approach to the students, what they had to offer, and their life changing organization. We wanted Jonathan to attend; Jonathan was over the moon in love with the program and was eager to start immediately. Regrettably his parents live in Florida and did not want him living away from home so he has been unable to attend. We still think nP is the best place for Jonathan and keep trying to convince his parents to allow him to attend. Darlene S. Taylor-Thompson, M.D.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone Gary Moore and the nP organization to have them everywhere they are needed

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 27, 2012

nonPareil offers life opportunity for growth, learning, friendship, and careers for people on the autism spectrum. It has made an incredible difference in my son's life. I have already recommended it... more

June 27, 2013

My son didn't know what his future would be. He didn't have friends, didn't have places to go or things to do. That all changed when he started at nonPareil. At first he was a bit leery as it was all new -new place, doing new things, new people. Well, it didn't take long for him to feel accepted, comfortable and to love it. I could barely get the car in park before he was rushing to get in the door and get started. He was learning, he was making friends, he had a life. That might not sound like much to most parents of young adults but to parents of spectrum adults, it is huge. He is happy and confident. He enjoys what he doing. He has friends and makes plans to get together. For him, that is a monumental achievement. He is working on projects at his speed and he can share what he does with his peers. nonPareil has been a tremendous blessing to us!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

nonPareil offers life opportunity for growth, learning, friendship, and careers for people on the autism spectrum. It has made an incredible difference in my son's life. I have already recommended it to numerous families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers