Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.969235
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
February 15, 2014

more

February 15, 2014

This institute is fantastic! Their crew members are very happy there, and the staff is very involved and caring.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 25, 2012

What will my child do when I'm gone? How will he support himself? These questions were answered at nPI. My son has been given the gift of respect, a chance to be himself. He is being taught the ski... more

September 21, 2013

Since finding out about nPI about a year ago, my Son has found acceptance in a workplace setting that truly encourages his uniqueness and God given talents. Thank you, thank you for unconditionally loving these young adults and inspiring them to greatness!!! nPI values my Son as much as I do -- who could ask for more? How blessed we are to have found nPI.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone it in every city!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What will my child do when I'm gone? How will he support himself? These questions were answered at nPI. My son has been given the gift of respect, a chance to be himself. He is being taught the skills that will enable him to have hope for a future of independence. His gifts and talents are welcomed and he is accepted at nPI. The staff members are friendly, kind and truly understand my son because he is a lot like their own. We feel blessed to have found nPI. What more could a parent ask?

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 24, 2012

I am a special educator that also has a son with Asperger's, age 20. We attended the Open House in Plano, Texas and are in the process of enrolling in nonPareil/Spring 2013. I have been searching fo... more

September 19, 2013

My son, Christian, attends this institute. We visited in Nov. 2012, then he was accepted in Feb. 2013. We are 100% committed to this group, as they are providing trainig for autistic individuals. Founded by men who have sons affected by ASD, training is hands on/computer generated. Need more like this, and they are looking to expand, so support them with funds so we can reach more people. The need is growing exponentially!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them with funding so they can add to the campus with dorm/living facilities!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 24, 2012

I am a special educator that also has a son with Asperger's, age 20. We attended the Open House in Plano, Texas and are in the process of enrolling in nonPareil/Spring 2013. I have been searching for a program that will provide training in the type of setting that will allow true learning (translate "hands-on"), versus "book learning" (written tests, chapter reading, etc.). The former will result in a person that can actually do something/hold a job, versus a piece of paper that indicates someone has completed courses, but still not able to actually perform work of any kind. This program is SO NEEDED, and will only become moreso as we see the number of Autism incidence change from 1 in 150 individuals, to present numbers of 1 in 88. Stay tuned for the next revision; if you don't know someone now with an Autistic child, you will soon.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 29, 2012

After high school, our daughter who is affected by Asperger's on the Autism Spectrum, had an almost free fall with respect to schooling and employment. Although we sought help from the State employme... more

September 9, 2013

We are now in the second year of our daughter's association with nonPareil Institute, where she is a student and also a part time employee. In that first year, we were filled with gratitude as she quickly melded into a greater whole of individuals "on the Autism spectrum". As I volunteered I observed a culture in which new individuals could literally walk into the Social Room, observe a video game being played for a few minutes, and relax, cross-legged in the floor to exchange knowing observations about the game maker's strength's and weaknesses. Repeatedly, daily, I was able to observe persons who probably were, in other environments, ostracized for their peculiar attention to detail and focus on a single subject. These individuals needed to be able to express their opinions on those important subjects, and their peers listened, every one of them, as they enthusiastically discussed the minutia that supported their theories and beliefs. They could take whatever time was needed to let the speaker converse, and then give pertinent answers. Less self-assured individuals I observed felt comfortable enough to express frustrations with operating various games, and a few of their peers would flank them, making encouraging remarks, offering personal experiences, and assuring support. I volunteer random days, see different individuals, but this is the common experience at nonPareil within the "down time" of the Social Room.
As I have spoken to and become familiar with students at nP, I have learned how life-changing it was for most of them. Literally lives have changed from despair to hope and confidence. Emphasis by the carefully attentive staff not only on the worth of individuals, but also on the value of the collective whole of individuals attending and/or working at nP keeps focus on the motto, "All for one and one for all!" No one is expected to make it alone, and no one is left to his or her own devices.
So, it is like watching ducks getting into water. They belong. It was made for them.....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find someone who has the resources to set up a perpetuating fund in order for a nP facility to be set up in every city. Much as Carnagie saw the need for every city to have a library, in an age when Autism affects one in 50 individuals, every city needs to have a nonPareil center. Adults with autism should be able to train, work, and live in facilities designed for their needs. nonPareil needs permanent, perpetual funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After high school, our daughter who is affected by Asperger's on the Autism Spectrum, had an almost free fall with respect to schooling and employment. Although we sought help from the State employment agency, overall she was set up with a series of jobs far beneath her capabilities, and inappropriate for her bright mind. Finally we were fortunate enough to find nonPareil Institute. Since her enrollment in the training program, our daughter has learned to use Hammer software to build maps for computer game and apps, and expects to go on for further training in various aspects of video game and computer application construction. The environment is a near perfect lab for adults affected by ASD including personal training, Kabals with the production team, and social opportunities that foster respectful interaction with others on the ASD spectrum as well as with Neurotypical individuals. Instructors may include graduates of the program who are on the ASD spectrum, and computer software engineers from the SMU graduate program or from industry backgrounds. Our experience at nonPareil exceeds our hopes and expectations. We are committed to ensuring our daughter and others on the ASD spectrum are able to train and work there..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My child struggled through school. He preferred to stay home. He did okay in school. He did not have many friends. He struggled with social interaction. Not much time for gossip or petty behavior. He loved lego's, k-nex, computer games and more computer games. College was more of a struggle. The freedom that so many of us enjoy, caused him great pain. A pretty girl, a confusing statement, unclear instructions, or anything that required more effort seemed to make my son withdraw and become very frustrated.
As a child he cleared his throat, he made bubble sounds when eating, he moaned when he got really mad and would not talk. As he got older he began to make hand gestures. The doctor wanted to slow his heart rate down. I refused.
Five years in college 3.8 gpa.....no degree....just so unhappy. Getting a job was impossible. It would take me 3 weeks to convince him he had to get a job. By the time he got the nerve to apply the job would be gone. He finally got a job at a car dealership in IT. The guy asked him if he had Aspergers up front. My son was so happy someone knew. Job went great the first 2 weeks. He was fixing computers, things that most of us don't know how to fix. Then suddenly he was told he had to work in the accountants office. He got immediate anxiety. Hephysically could not go in the door. His fear was so real. He quit and went home. He wanted to die....He came and told me life wasn't worth living!

I started looking on line for colleges for asperger's. I found schools that cost $50k to teach social skills in Florida. Then I found Non-pareil. I emailed a few questions, and this compassionate person called me back. I looked up their site, and their dream for the future. A city for asperger's where everyone can thrive and live. It seemed awesome.

I immediately booked a plane from Columbia, SC to Plano, Texas. We went. My son was hesitant at first, never being away from me much. We were showed around the school. My son saw other people like him, but all different. Another new student was introduced to him and they began to talk about Japanese art, and anemae(????) WAIT A MINUTE...MY SON IN TALKING TO SOMEONE???? A STRANGER??? HE IS SITTING ON FLOOR NOW HAVING A FLUID CONVERSATION WITHOUT FEAR? THIS WENT ON FOR OVER AN HOUR. I CRIED....first time I had ever seen him comfortably engaged with a stranger.
He looked at me and said, Mom I want to come here. You don't have to come. I can do it.

This November will be 2 years for him. My mom could not believe I would move him half way across the United States. I told her if this place was in Alaska, I would be buying him Eskimo boots.

Non-pareil has changed everyone's life from the parents to the adult. For the first time these gifted people feel productive, accepted and worth while. Asperger's people are honest, hard workers, dedicated to their tasks and glad to keep their minds challenged. They do not gossip and get lost in mainstream complaining. Great workers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ENCOURAGE DONORS TO MAKE OUR NON-PAREIL CITIES A REALITY! ENCOURAGE DONORS TO HELP US EXPAND TO TO SOUTH, NORTH, WEST AND EAST. When your family is touched by Autism, you suddenly know where your heart is. Help us help others...if you have money that you can donate, the staff has their hearts in the right place to make this a reality for those in need!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

My son is just finishing his 30 day evaluation period at nonPareil and from the moment we heard about nP we were incredibly impressed and excited to have this opportunity for our son and everything we've seen firsthand has only impressed us that much more. The entire staff is committed to the success of each and every member. I hope and pray that Dan, Gary and everyone involved with nonPareil are able to see their vision for the future (their expansion plans) carried out. I am so very thankful that we found out about nonPareil and my son has the opportunity to be a part of this AMAZING program.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As an adult with Aspergers I am truly thankful to Dan Selec, Gary Moore, and the nonpareil Institute for accepting me 3 years ago to their wonderful program. I have benefited immeasurable amounts from the caring workplace and skills developed as a crew member. I Have become a viable programmer and have my Code in Market games such as Space Ape! (Space Ape is available for iPhone, google play, ziosk, and on the OUYA)
nonPareil has given me a purpose, helped me forged new friendships, and has enabled to have a career that I am truly passionate about!
All I know is the last 3 years would have been a bummer of ride without the nonpareil institute.
Thank G-d for the last 3 years and for my bright future with nonpareil!

p.s.

if you haven't downloaded Space Ape please download and show your support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get More Money to support!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When you have the opportunity to meet the founders of nPi,Gary W. Moore and Dan Selec, you meet men with vision, heart and true bravery. These men have built nPi to transform the life of an individual with a difference- autism, into a confident, competent, self-sustaining SUPER HERO for themselves and for their families. nPi will change the way the world views autism. You can see the success in the eyes of the gracious students and their parents and the hugs that are so readily shared by all. To help nPi be able to serve more students via more campuses, summer programs, camps, more equipment, more visibility is not only a noble thing, but a required step for us all. nPi is Programming Hope, Healing Lives, Lifting Spirits and making a difference in the world of autism...and in the world in general. Their belief and dedication to purpose inspires my soul and I am blessed to be part of their community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them reach more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

To offer hope to someone who has no future in a traditional educational setting because autism keeps him from functioning in a way that most people have difficulty dealing with has been nonPareil's greatest gift to my son. To offer practical skills in an area that my son loves in a setting that welcomes him is priceless.

Until we found nonPareil, I had doubts that there was any place for my son in this world beyond our home. But from our first visit to nonPareil, we knew Ash had found his other home. He fit in (which he never has anywhere), he felt productive (instead of frustrated and useless like he did in high school). Instead of the kick in the teeth he has been used to all his life, nonPareil is an embrace. It offers him skills that could not get in any "normal" setting. It offers him the chance to work as a team on projects that he is enthusiastic about. It offers him hope that he can have a productive life, that he IS a useful human being, that he is valued.

Will nonPareil create the next Angry Birds? Who knows. I hope so. They created Space Apes, one of my favorite games. I'd love to see their games take off in a big way so that they can expand and provide the same opportunities to legions of autisitic young adults.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire a Top Gun PR person with connections at the highest level who could wrangle a billion dollars or two from the Bill Gates and others in this world who have the means to help autistic people use their talents to become productive citizens.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I spent 3 years in depression after I was diagnosed with Asperger Syndrome. While I now (4 years later) take pride in being autistic, it was very crushing to me at the time. I normally have a very strong immune system, but the depression weakened it enough for me to contract mononucleosis (mono), which then turned into chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS). I was pretty much bedridden for those 3 years.

Even now, at 23, I still suffer from CFS. I sleep more than I'm awake, and I'm constantly told by my peers and father that I don't "pull my own weight". For the first time, I finally have a job, but it's 3 hours a week and my peers still don't count it. I feel like I truly have a valid reason to feel worthless.
If it weren't for my new friends and co-workers at nonPareil Institute, I don't know where I'd be. NonPareil Institute is non-profit corporation that trains adults with autism in game development. All the training is one-on-one, there are no tests, no grades, and no deadlines. I'm judged against myself, and not anyone else. It's amazing and so freeing. I now have the strength to brush off the negative comments from my neuro-typical peers.

Sure, I have a long way to go. But now I have a path to get there. :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would set up multiple offices across the world. nPI is a good thing that needs to be shared everywhere.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers